We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambiance and great food!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #89 of 196 Restaurants in Brunswick
Restaurant details
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance and great food!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

If you happen to be in Brunswick on a Friday, definitely check out this place! The drinks were good and generous, the heirloom tomato caprese salad was spectacular, and our entrees (the filet mignon and GA trout) were both well portioned and delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marseilles, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent dining”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

what a great place to relax and enjoy a fine dinner. Excellent atmosphere and food. great service too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank leslie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, New York
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My wife and I were almost dragged off the street during a First Friday Event on Newcastle St but in a very nice way. We were truly not too hungry as we had been snacking at venues up and down the street. Man, are we glad we went in. We both opted for items off the salad and starters menu. Both the Caprese and the House Toss salads were very tasty with subtle, flavorful dressings. But the highlight was the pair of Straton's Lump Crab Cakes with a chipotli lime aioli! We have eaten crab cakes up and down the east coast and NEVER have we had such well prepared, tasty cakes! My wife claims they were even better than those her grandfather used to make (using the recipe from an unnamed, nearby 5-Star resort at which he was employed)! The only drawback is that the restaurant is only open on Fridays (5:00 - 9:30) at this time, so plan accordingly. We will definitely go back the next time we come to the area. Keep up the good work folks. You are a credit to the community.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WesternNYTravelFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Mixed results washed down with a great martini”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

My overall rating is a little generous but a great evening and a honey of a server made up for her learning curve and our meals being a little off from what was ordered. And fantastic martinis! My shrimp and grits were enough for two hungry people but some of the shrimp were cold (but cooked). The seafood ceviche was excellent. The Caesar salad was grilled romaine, (not specified as such) and was requested to be dressed lightly but was drenched in dressing. The pork chop was over cooked. The main course was delayed, and the bill was brought, before requested, with the food cost split down the middle for the two couples, but with the wine placed only on one of the bills. No coffee or dessert was offered.

This could be a lovely restauraunt with better attention to detail and to the customer requests.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SVFirstEdition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Ambience”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Only opened on Friday nights,but worth the wait! About 20 tables with wooden chairs (would've liked pads on chairs). A small bar which got pretty lively and red exposed brick wall. The restaurant is on the bottom floor of a one hundred year old building. The food was excellent. We started with a Pinot noir and crab cake appetizer. My husband had the blackened salmon and I tried the shrimp and grits. The portions were plenty and the seasoning just right. We ended with key lime pie which was the best I've had. The wait staff was efficient and friendly (our waitress was Debra). The owner came over to ask if everything was all right. Just what you would expect at a good restaurant. I would definitely recommend this place and hope to return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SusanL938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tasting Room at Stratford Hall also viewed

Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to The Tasting Room at Stratford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing