We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Basil Thai & Sushi

Basil Thai & Sushi
Ranked #15 of 193 Restaurants in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tifton, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Basil's has delicious sushi and I highly reccomend it for dinner. We ate here twice during our visit and had great service and great food both times. Check it out for yourself!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank teure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    36
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We arrived in Brunswick on a Sunday morning when not much is open. Having researched restaurants we thought that Basis Thai and Sushi would be open for lunch and had planned to go there. What a surprise, though. The food and décor would do credit to a much larger metropolitan area. If you like Thai hot, though, request it because it's not generally served spicy according to the waitress. When we asked for the heat the food changed from good to very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinclair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Whole Ball of Wax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Everything you might want in a restaurant can be found here. Set in the heart of Brunswick, Georgia's struggling, but quaint city center, the Basil offers superb sashimi and an array of everyday specials which, quite frankly, made it difficult to choose. So, along with a sashimi appetizer, we ended up with an assortment of Thai delicacies that met the expectations we had upon entering the place. The interior is beautifully--make that elegantly--decorated, but not overdone so that the atmosphere is both warm and comfortable. Our server was knowledgeable, helpful, and, like the salespeople in London's Harrod's, magically appeared when the thought entered our mind that we might have a need or a question.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank entruster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
1 review
“Best Restaurant in Town...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

All ingredients are fresh,great atmosphere and an excellent staff.Best experience in Thai and Sushi you can have in GA.All the dishes are delicious,specially the Steak and Lobster and the Sizzling Duck.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank advocaretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dining diversity, at it's best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Basil is truly an unexpected dining experience in down town Brunswick. Fresh Thai and Sushi, made with quality ingredients in an atmosphere that is not only refined in the evening, but can be a casual business lunch as well. It is best considered a quiet evening destination for those who are travelling and need a change of taste. Good wine selection with an adequately stocked stairwell cellar and a martini list. Moderately priced.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1955MidnightRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Thai & Sushi also viewed

Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Basil Thai & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing