We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Brunswick South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Brunswick South
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

After traveling all day and checking in, the clerk at the desk was very welcoming. When she began to tell me to immediately turn on the air in the room right upon entering, I was worried. She explained that it may take 1-2 hours to cool down. The temp outside that day reached over 95 and felt over 100 with heat index. She said they didn't keep the air
running.Really???? When expecting a guest, wouldn't you expect to find your room ready in that sense? Needless to say, I was upset to find a smoltering HOT room that I could barely stand to be in. My two kids have asthma and could hardly stand the stuffiness. We sweated through bedtime preparations and remained hot most all night. In the morning at breakfast, the attendant stayed busy cleaning and putting food out. My only complaint was the small area for breakfast. It was hot there too, and a small floor fan was set up on a chair as it ran in the eating area. I have never had any problems at previous Microtels, and thought this one would be a good choice for my family and me. However, the inside environment was cheap looking, but clean, and the rooms didn't match others I have stayed at. I will not be staying at this location again and would advise others to stay elsewhere, even if it means paying a bit more. I felt the hotel was cheap and doing things to cut back and save.....at the expense of guests.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerTeacherFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    34
    45
    42
    31
See reviews for
54
59
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our family stayed here for one night; 2 adults, 2 children in a queen suite room. We actually had reservations at the Holiday Inn Express on St Simons (in town for a wedding) but cancelled when I learned we could get a room here for 1/2 the price.

The day shift woman was very helpful; showed us a room before we decided, etc. She also graciously allowed us to check in several hours early to dress for the wedding.

The room was clean, quiet and nicely furnished (no flat screen TV). Plenty of room for the 4 of us. Pull out sofa was already made up with sheets for the kids. Fridge was clean and cold for our perishables.

Evening shift was another story. Our room only had 3 pillows, so I sent my kids down to get another. They were told no pillows available in the whole hotel (place was not full). My daughter ended up sleeping with her head on a stack of linens. We were too exhausted to argue. I'm sure had the day shift woman dealt with it, the result would have been different.

Breakfast was basic but filling and allowed us to get on the road without planning a breakfast stop.

I would stay here again, especially to save $75.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jit000, Manager at Motel 6 Brunswick South, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay. We are currently in the process of getting new televisions and bedding for our rooms, and I am glad that you were satisfied with the price you paid to stay at our hotel. We hope to see you soon during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I think it was clean, hard to tell since the room was dated and worn. They have old, unused furniture stored at the end of my floor hallway, and in the stairways! I booked online at the last minute, will check other options in area, or keep driving, next time.

Room Tip: try a different motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PC1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jit000, Manager at Motel 6 Brunswick South, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
I apologize for the negative experience you had during your stay with us. We are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, and sometimes we need a place to temporarily place the furniture that is coming out or going into our rooms. However, this is not a permanent storage area and the furniture has already been moved from the hallway. We hope this will not prevent you from staying with us again in the future when you visit Brunswick. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brunswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#15 of 36 in Brunswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Brunswick
Comfort Suites Brunswick
#9 of 36 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
6.7 mi away
M-Star Brunswick
M-Star Brunswick
#14 of 36 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Brunswick I-95
7.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Brunswick GA
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn I-95 North
Comfort Inn I-95 North
#21 of 36 in Brunswick
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Brunswick South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Brunswick South

Property: Motel 6 Brunswick South
Address: 325 Palisade Dr, Brunswick, GA 31523-8207 (Formerly Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick South)
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Brunswick South 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Brunswick South is located off of I-95. Emerland Express Casino and Summer Waves are within 10 miles. Kick back and relax in our sparkling outdoor pool. Enjoy Micro-fridge units and free Wi-Fi in all rooms. Truck parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Brunswick South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Microtel
Microtel Hotel Brunswick South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing