We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stuff”

Indigo Coastal Shanty
Ranked #1 of 198 Restaurants in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Chef/Owner is former Chef/Owner of Cargo Portside in Brunswick
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We just happened to be in Brunswick,
And when to Trpadviser looking for a local joint,
When we saw eclectic on the description that was right up our alley,
The service was super friendly and the food was local with great flavors.
I would definitely recommend the place.
It was a little cool, when we went, so we didn't sit outside,
But it is available.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dmarch333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    83
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in the Golden Isles”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A great neighborhood restaurant; relaxed atmosphere and the food is fantastic. We always order whatever is on the specials board and it is always outstanding and plentiful! Go on a warm night and sit under the large oak on the back deck. A "Don't Miss" on your visit!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durand, IL
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't judge this place by its cover”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

When we came upon the Indigo, we wondered what we were in for. The location, outside appearance and parking lot are not inviting -- but do go in. Inside it is quaint and not a lot of seating, but remember, you're there for the food.

Indigo has lunch hours and dinner hours only on the weekend, which we did not know. We got there about 4:40 p.m. on a Saturday after driving from Ft. Lauderdale. The restaurant did not open until 5 p.m. Since we still had a drive of a couple of hours we debated waiting. As we walked to our car, someone came out from the back of the restaurant and invited us in.

As soon as we sat down a very friendly waitress came up and told us about the day's specials. We had the chicken flautas with mole (mexican) sauce and more including delicious rice and beans, and the house cole slaw. Absolutely great!

The other special of the day, the soup and dessert also sounded great. Wish we could have had them, but we could not eat that much. There were other menu choices which sounded unique. If all of them tasted as well as our meal, you can't miss with this restaurant.

A gentleman from the kitchen came to talk with us and gave us his suggestions on places to eat in two other towns to which we were traveling.

If Indigo, with its great food and staff, were within driving distance from where we live, we would be frequent customers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank free8864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unique and Delicious a diamond in the rough in Coastal Georgia”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

You will be impressed by the warm, friendly greeting in this very unassuming looking and small eatery off the main road in the small coastal town of Brunswick GA., but that isn't the only wonderful thing about the Indigo. My wife and I loved the delicious, fresh and creative dishes that we were served by our smiling waitress Katie who made a sincere effort to make us feel welcome and comfortable as well as to help us to understand how the food was prepared and crafted to satisfy our taste buds. The owner, proprietor, a jovial and engaging woman enticed us with her descriptions of the Specials of the Night, Sesame Crusted Catfish and Fish Tostadas with fresh locally caught shrimp....perfectly grilled and seasoned with a pineapple salsa that was superb.
When passing through Brunswick, stop to enjoy this very casual, very laid back, very friendly, funky (as the owner described it) in a really cool way, little restaurant. You will have a great meal, and it will feel like it was prepared and served by friends or family.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank larrydebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Small but great!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Wow, what a find. Terriffic food, interesting menu, fresh and delicious. Friendliness is A-one!
Can't wait to go back and try other things on the menu. I had the Asian Noodle Bowl, husband had blackened fish sandwich. One of the best meals we've ever had. In addition, reasonable prices, what a combination!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mlounc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigo Coastal Shanty also viewed

Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Indigo Coastal Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing