We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Golden Isle Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indigo Coastal Shanty

Indigo Coastal Shanty
Ranked #1 of 191 Restaurants in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chef/Owner is former Chef/Owner of Cargo Portside in Brunswick
Brunswick, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Golden Isle Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I have had the pleasure of living in Brunswick, GA for 7 years and am happily surprised by several family owned restaurants found in Brunswick and on St. Simon's Island, GA. "Indigo Coastal Shanty" is a wonderful little treasure that is well worth the effort to find it. Reasonably priced, all the dishes are "unique" and filling. For starters try the Fried Green Tomatoes with creamy herb cheese and warm red pepper coulis. Or the Mezze, a tasty hummus with eggplant relish, feta cheese and warm flat bread. For the main meal I have enjoyed the Fish Tostadas and the Bahamian Chicken Curry. The Fisherman's Bowl and Jerk Chicken are also very good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AFOSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    78
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fresh gourmet dishes at affordable prices in a quaint location under a huge live oak.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Delicious! Creative! Signature dishes and flavors you won't find anywhere else in the area.

When I travel I look for this kind of place. It has character and offers fresh foods at good prices.

Ask anybody that is local and they recommend this restaurant first.

Lunch Tues-Fri; Dinner Fri-Sat.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaTraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Experence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Don't let the outside of the building or location keep you from going inside. We just had a great meal and would recommed this place to everyone.The artichoke dip was the best i have ever had and the dessert of pineapple upside down cake was great. My cuban sandwich was only so-so, being from Florida I am used to some good ones, this one was only average. I suggest staying away from the sandwiches and go with the specials.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gatorman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Brunswick Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Indigo Shanty is a great little spot that our realtor told us about when we were moving to the area. The flavors tend toward the Carribean, and both price and quality are great. The plantain chips appetizer with avocado dip is SUPER, and the salad I got (forget what it was) wasn't just another ho-hum affair of greens with a meat, but was sprinkled with different flavors and textures to keep it interesting. The Cuban sandwich my wife had was also really excellent.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrandonSAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Terrific...every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Unique and wonderful menu, great service and always consistent. One of my favorites!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigo Coastal Shanty also viewed

Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Indigo Coastal Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing