We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The breakfast was a major bust! One of the things that makes the Comfort Suites a good value (at least to me), is the above average "free" breakfast that is usually included. For a family trip with 3 or 4 people, it is a great value when factoring in the breakfast, but, for this location, we were quite a bit disappointed ( as well as 25+ other folks that were at/near the breakfast counter).

Long review short, the check in was nice and quick, the room was clean and quiet, and the bed was decent.

The breakfast was moderate to poor, with part of the trouble being the crowd of people and not having enough staff or product to keep availability up. The small dishes of Eggs and Sausage ran out after every 2 or 3 people, and were not quickly replaced, the 2 waffle makers (the highlight of a comfort suites breakfast in my opinion) were unplugged and not available, with an explanation of "No batter" given (this had quite a few folks shaking heads and walking away). The fruit selection was the saddest display I've seen at a breakfast station yet, which had my daughter asking "what happened to the apples daddy?".

So, in short I guess the review would be a 3.5 if I could give it, but due to the disappointment of the breakfast and seeing the entire crowd disappointed as well, I rounded down to a 3.

Room Tip: 4th floor room we were in was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Hi Matt M.,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review online.

I'm sorry you did not have a good experience with us and did not enjoy the breakfast. I know when everyone comes down at once time the breakfast room does get very crowded.

We will try to work on making sure things are restocked faster. I know there was one morning when there was a problem with the waffle makers so I'm sorry nobody explained this to you and it was on the day you were here.

Again, I'm very sorry about your experience and hope you will give us another try.

Thanks,
Mark Daniel O'Quinn, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 304 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

We arrived in the evening after a day of travel. Access is very easy off the interstate. Bedding was comfortable . The room is nicely layed out and it is always great to have a small refrigerator in the room. The lady at the front desk was also very friendly. There is a very small pool but we did not use it. Breakfast was average hotel fare- nothing to get excited about. I am rating this average for the following reasons--- Toilet paper holder fell off the wall as soon as we touched it. The Bathroom sink stop did not work, we had to pull it completely out to drain the water..ugh!. Could not get the desk phone to work. The safe did not work. We were in for the night when we noticed these issues, and did not call the front desk at night. Most of these are minor fixes and I am surprised that they went unattended to, as they are obvious. It makes you wonder how many other things are slipping by. (Note when leaving the lady at the desk was appreciative that we mentioned the above.)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAT_AJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thanks, CAT_AJM, for taking the time to give us a review online.

I'm glad that you liked most things about tho hotel. I'm also very sorry you had the maintenance issues. I will speak with the maintenance and housekeeping teams so that we can hopefully avoid issues like this in the future!

I do hope you will stay with us again in the future but I'm very sorry everything didn't go better while you were here!

Thanks,
Mark Daniel O'Quinn, GM
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stay at Comfort Suite Hotels because they all have microwave ovens and refrigerators. This hotel is way above average because the rooms are large, clean and very comfortable. Because my stay was overnight I did not have much time to interact with the staff. However, I found the front desk personnel to be pleasant and polite.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Paul S: Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased that your stay with us was a great experience. Our staff is also outstanding and I hope that when you return to stay with us that you have an opportunity to interact with them. We do maintain our hotel to the highest of standards.
We do hope that you will come and stay with us again when traveling this way.

Cordially,
Cheryl Prosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I previously enjoyed staying overnight at this motel when traveling from FL to NC. This visit did not disappoint. Our king bed room was large and very clean. Our room and the entire property seemed well maintained. Check in/check out staff were pleasant. Being within a short walk to a Millhouse restaurant is a real plus. Complimentary breakfast offered hot and cold selections and some fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Eileen O: Thank you for your review of our hotel. We do strive for Excellence. We are very happy that your stay with us was everything you would have expected and more. On behalf of my staff and myself, thank you for staying with us, and we invite you to come and stay with us again in the future.

Cordially,
Cheryl Prosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Room, pool and hot breakfast were excellent. The staff ignored us. No customer consciousness whatsoever. No "good morning", "enjoy your stay?" or "good bye!" What could be more important in the front lobby than those making it allg possible.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank teacherbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hi teacherbev,

First, let me tell you that I am VERY SORRY you had this experience at my hotel!

I have sent you a private message on TripAdvisor because I would like to talk to you in more detail to find out a little more about your stay. I will certainly speak with my team about this because this is not a normal experience a guest of the Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway would have.

I am, however, glad that you liked the features of the hotel. I'm just really, really sorry the nice features of the hotel did not extend over to the team!

I do hope you will try staying with us again but I am very sorry for the experience you had!

Mark Daniel O'Quinn,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

No complaints. Clean and well kept rooms, friendly and professional staff at this Choice property conveniently located off 95.
Previous negative reviews frankly do not offer an accurate portrait.certainly not a resort property but worth the price and you'll find no issues.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank travelinman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hi travelinman47,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms to be friendly and the staff professional!

Please tell your family and friends about us if they will be traveling in our area. We would love to have them stay with us!

Again, thank you for your review and kind comments!

Thanks,
Mark Daniel O'Quinn,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

According to the very accomodating desk clerk, this comfort suites hotel is only a few years old. As a true road-warrior, I can see that the hotel is on the road to neglect. There are little dust pockets, "lint" (I hope!), all over the towels, beds, fabric sofas abd chairs. The halls and elevators should be vacuumed more frequently. The air conditioner in the gym is broken and the fitness equipment has not been cleaned in a long time.
To me, cleanliness and safety are the most important crteria, in this level of hotel. Usually, housekeeping issues can be solved by the employment of motivated workers. This is hard work! Nothing motivates more than financial incentive (a decent wage) and hands-on involvement and feedback by the bosses.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gingeete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Hi Gingeete,

First I want to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. Secondly, I would like to sincerely apologize for the fact that we did not live up to our standards, or yours! I am truly sorry for the experience you had and I personally promise you I, along with my team, will work hard to solve the problems!

Sincerely,
Mark Daniel O'Quinn
General Manager
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brunswick hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brunswick
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brunswick I-95
8.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Brunswick
Comfort Suites Brunswick
#10 of 36 in Brunswick
347 reviews
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick

Address: 220 Gateway Center Blvd, Brunswick, GA 31525-6700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range: $107 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for spacious and inviting accommodations near the Golden Isles of Georgia, then the Comfort Suites® Golden Isles Gateway hotel is perfect place to stay during your next family vacation or business trip. Popular island destinations like St. Simons Island, Little St. Simons Island, Sea Island and Jekyll Island are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Hotel Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing