We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful except for a couple of things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Wonderful except for a couple of things”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Beautiful motel. Looks like it's been renovated with very nice furnishings. Motel is in a "courtyard" type of area with a couple of other nice motels. Very quiet. Friendly service, quiet, very clean and our king room w/sitting area was very large and furnished nicely with a large flat screen, fridge, couch, micro., and nice desk and chair for computer. The hallways look very luxurious too. Just a couple of things that would have made it better. The blanket on the bed just had a sheet that barely made it to the head of the blanket, only about an inch over the blanket so you basically had to sleep without that sheet. Nowadays it's more the norm to have a sheet on both the top and bottom of the blanket and our Sleep Inn we were at the night before had a nice, feather comforter instead of the blanket. The sheet under the blanket was so thin that I could actually hold it up and watch TV through it!! Also the bathroom shower mat was very raggedy and they could use a more-modern shower head that had more pressure. But other than that the bathroom was very large with granite and a slate floor and lots of counter space.
The whole room could have used a good dusting but otherwise was very clean.
The breakfast was good but it was hard to access much of the food as they had it in a corner, which is where the toaster was situated. You had to wait until people were done toasting to get to the cereal etc.
Overall very nice, clean, large and nicely decorated. But because of the beddings we may try one of the places across the parking lot on our way through next year, even though we are Priority Club members.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northernite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Hi Northernite,
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, I really appreciate it.

We are glad you liked the way our hotel looks. We are a new hotel, new construction, and are currently 2 years old. We're also glad you liked the friendly service.

I will talk to housekeeping to see if we can make the beds a little differently so the sheet will come up more. We tuck the sheets under the foot of the bed and might be tucking too much of the sheet under.

I will also have maintenance check the shower heads to make sure they have the correct amount of pressure. I know how much I hate to have a shower head that isn't very forceful.
Soon I'm hoping to be able to rework the breakfast so the layout doesn't seem so congested.

Hope you change your mind and try us again! I'm sorry you didn't like everything about my hotel. We will work on it because we want all our guests to have the best experience possible because we want to be your home away from home while you are traveling!

Thanks,
Mark, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    86
    33
    13
    7
See reviews for
98
111
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Everything about this hotel is excellent. The lobby, the rooms and even the breakfast was wonderful. I wish I had been able to stay longer than one night. The location is right off the interstate and very easy to get to.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Hi Gimmaster,
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, we really appreciate your review and your business!
I'm so glad you enjoyed our hotel...maybe next time you will be able to stay a little longer; we'd love to have you!
Hope to see you again.
Thanks,
Mark, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed on Christmas Eve, and really enjoyed the stay. We didn't get to check in until 11pm, and received a warm welcome from the front desk staff wearing a santa hat. Obviously the housekeeping staff is superb, the room was immaculate. The beds were amazing.

Sorry, I wish I could find something negative to say. I will try to find something next time, because there is nowhere else I will stay while in the area.

Room Tip: Not sure that you can find a bad one????
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Well Bryan F, we are so glad that you couldn't find something negative to say. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome any time you are in the area. Thank you very much from Velma Meredith, Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

On our way to see friends in Oveido, Florida, my familiy and I stayed over night at the Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway on 2/26/11. I-95 was a parking lot coming from Virginia and what should have only taken us 9 hours to get here took 11!

Brenda greeted us at the registration desk with a warm smile that was desperately needed after a very exhausting drive. She immediately knew that we had endured a difficult drive as many other guests had explained to her the challenges of the day. Without hesitation, she pulled up our reservations, gave us our keys, and instructed us on the directions to the room and breakfast in the morning.

We made our way to the room and were amazed at how modern it looked and how similar it was to another hotel we've frequented in NJ (another hotel chain). The room was clean and the bathroom very nice. We had 2 queen beds so our daugther loved having so much bed to herself. These mattresses were extremely comfortable and the pillows very plush, so we were envious when we left the hotel and had to revert back to our flat old pillows.

The breakfast was a buffet of light and heavy foods (cereal, bagels, donuts, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, bacon) and was fairly fresh and plentiful, although by the time we got downstairs there wasn't much left. Oh, and on the way down to the breakfast we were greeted by housekeeping with a smile, and the food preparer smiled as well. The only thing I can suggest is that the chaffing dishes be kept a little hotter so the bacon and eggs stay nice and hot (they were luke warm).

So, if you happen to pass through Savannah heading south on I-95 and just can't make it any further that day, just scoot a little further south to Brunswick and skip the other 3 hotels in that square and head straight to the Comfort Suites. It's worth it!

Room Tip: There is absolutely NO ROAD NOISE at this hotel, so every room is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vwbeetle72jellybeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you so very much for your 5 star review. We are so glad that you feel it is worth the extra mile to stay with us. We look forward to your return on your next trip down south. The pillows are plump and ready. Thank you from Velma Meredith the Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is the best Comfort Suites I ever stayed in, everything was awesome! The staff, especially Brenda did an amazing job of making me welcome. Her warm smile made my day!! I look forward staying here again!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you, Rick, for your review! We really appreciate you taking the time and we’re so glad we’re living up to our end of the deal…providing great service. And I will certainly let Brenda know she’s doing a great job…she’s really a good team member.
Thanks, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsland, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Me and my family had a wonderful stay at this hotel, the rooms are great and the staff is top of the line, the front desk clerk Mrs. Edna Clark was the best she was very helpful in many ways she was real nice with my kids even though they were being kids. housekeeping was top of the line also, the .head of housekeeping mrs. Tiffany was also the best, my overall experenice at the vhotel was great i would recommend this hotel to president. The next time i'm in town this is were i will be staying!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Hi Warrick, Thanks for the review! I’m so glad you and your kids enjoyed your stay. I will let Tiffany and Edna know they’re doing a great job, and thanks for recommending our hotel! I’m sure the president would love it.  Hope you can come back and stay with us again!
Thanks, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I have been staying at this hotel almost 4 months straight. The staff is incredibly accommodating and courteous. The hotel is clean and quiet. The rooms are comfortable and housekeeping does a wonderful job. The only complaint is some of the equipment in the fitness room was down. The positives of this hotel definitely have made my stay away from home easier.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thanks, Carrie H., for taking the time to give us a review. We’re so glad we could be a little home away from home for you while you were here on business! I hope you can tell your colleagues about us and come back again if you’re in the area, we love having you!
Thanks, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brunswick hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brunswick I-95
8.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Brunswick
Comfort Suites Brunswick
#12 of 36 in Brunswick
327 reviews
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick

Property: Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick
Address: 220 Gateway Center Blvd, Brunswick, GA 31525-6700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for spacious and inviting accommodations near the Golden Isles of Georgia, then the Comfort Suites® Golden Isles Gateway hotel is perfect place to stay during your next family vacation or business trip. Popular island destinations like St. Simons Island, Little St. Simons Island, Sea Island and Jekyll Island are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Hotel Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing