We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all what I expected :(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not at all what I expected :(”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Based on the reviews here, I chose Comfort Suites out of several similarly-priced options in the same area. We were in room 201, a corner room with a king bed and pull-out sofabed, facing the parking lot. Plenty of space for just me and my teen daughter.

Pros:
--Bed was very comfortable. I loved the big fluffy pillows, but my daughter prefers flat pillows.
--The bath towels and washcloths were not an issue for us.
--Nor did we notice the elevator to be terribly slow.
--We didn't notice any musty smells. It smelled like a new hotel, sometimes quite strongly. Definitely not musty.

Cons:
--The curtains did not close, so we had no way of blocking light (either sunlight or parking lot lights) from streaming in our window. Also, the closet was right in front of the window, and we had to be careful to not be changing clothes there at night, as people in the parking lot could see that far into the room (we checked it ourselves).
--There were 2 long black hairs in the bathtub when we arrived. I guess left by the maid? We just rinsed them out and carried on. If we had not already unpacked completely, I would've requested a different room.
--Motorcycles were allowed to park in the portico out front, on both sides of the lane. Made for a tight fit for a medium-sized SUV to get through. And VERY loud right outside our window early the next morning when they left!
--There are only 2 handicapped parking spots, and they were always filled. This isn't just a problem at this hotel, but other parking lots also.
--The breakfast offerings were plentiful enough, but the scrambled eggs were hard (3 days in a row), the bacon was so crispy as to fall apart when touched, and the sausage was the greasiest I've ever seen. The orange juice tasted like it was reconstituted with too much water. The pastries tasted a couple of days old, every day. And the workers handling the food did NOT wear gloves.
--The Internet may have been free, but the connection was AWFUL. We tried it on our laptops and our phones, and never got a good signal, or even just a consistent signal.
--Smoking allowed outside the front doors by both guests and employees means that everyone who enters the building has to walk through the smoke. Unpleasant at best, and dangerous for those with breathing difficulties at worst.

I did speak to more than one front desk person about some of these issues. The curtains and hair problems were enough to make me want to change hotels, but we had already paid through hotels.com and didn't have that option.

I would not stay at this particular hotel again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms on the front side of the building get lots of noise from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrapsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Well we certainly didn’t live up to our expectation, or yours, and for that I am very, very sorry!
I will certainly speak to everyone about the curtains. They should all know, as we’ve had this question before, we have blackout curtains that are white and kind of hidden behind the shears that close. The log curtains that hang to the floor do not close, but the blackout curtains keep all the light from the outside…outside where the light belongs.
I have already brought this review up to our housekeeping manager and see has retrained the housekeeper we believe you had about the hair left behind. We also reminded all the cleaning team to make sure they look over their work before they finish a room! We certainly do not accept this kind of lax cleaning!
I will also look into the breakfast issue because we do not want to serve greasy sausage and hard eggs! Again, I am very sorry that you did not have a good experience. Normally this is not the case and I am very sorry!
I emailed you to find out more information, and I’d certainly like to speak with you. I am very sorry about this and DEFINITELY want to make sure we do a much better job next time!
Thanks,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    89
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
99
116
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Good location just off the Interstate. Easy to get to other places. Nice rooms. Spacious bathrooms (regular tub w/shower) but very large vanity. Quiet. Comfortable king bed. Typical Comfort Suites breakfast. Good price. No problem with WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhDNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Hi PhDNana,
Thank you for staying with us and thanks for the review! We enjoyed having you with us and hope you can come back again, soon!
Thanks,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The purpose of our trip was to attend a workshop retreat at St. Simons Island.
We opted to drive down a day early. Booked this Comfort Suites hotel based
on our experience at other hotels in this chain. The on-line rate was one of
the best in the area. Our room was ready on arrival and what a surprise. This
hotel was spotless. No odors. Spacious room, great tv, exellent wi-fi but the
best was the bed and pillows. I have stayed in some fancy hotels around
the US and Europe but this was the best yet. Free breakfast offered great
selections and coffee that would stand up against that big chain with a
star in its name. Staff was most helpful. Directed us to a local resturant
that was a short walk. If you are in the area we highly recommend this
Comfort Suites. Next year we will stay here and commute to the island
for the workshop.

Way to go Comfort Suites!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor over the front office
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Hi Drew43,
Thanks for the review, we loved having you! It's always nice to be able to leave a little early to check out the area when you're in town for business and we're very glad you did. Can't wait to see you next year!
Thanks,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We as a family have stayed at this location twice over the past week. Once on the way down and then once back from the Gulf Coast of Florida. We used this as a resting point between Myrtle Beach and Navarre Beach.
They were very accommodating to our family as we were traveling with an 8 month year old. The room was very large and clean; they even provided a roll away crib. The breakfast was great and the staff was excellent.
Without a doubt we will use this location in the future.

Room Tip: Great place as a stopping point to Florida
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Hi DavidandElise,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always love hearing your comments. And we're so glad you enjoyed our property and will be back to stay with us again! Thanks a Million!
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Spring, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The Hubby and I had a one night stop here on our way home from Fl. and loved it. Very clean. Nice breakfast. Great staff. Comfortable bed and very nice linens. Plus nice upgrades. Granite and bronze in the bathrooms. Plus I love the little frosted room divider. Very spacious room. But be aware. If you go there on a sunday the whole town seems to shut down real early. We did manage to get into a place to eat called Old Time Buffet and we highly recommend it. Yummy old fashioned cooking and great friendly staff. When leaving the hotel make a left at the light and the town is down less than a mile. Old Time Buffet is on the right at the first light in town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLOWifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
SLOWifey,
Thank you and "The Hubby" for staying with us! :) And thank you for noticing the upgrades, we appreciate that. You're right, Old Time BUffet is good...you always leave full! Next time try the Millhouse, that's also a favoriate. Hope you can come back and stay with us again, we look forward to having you!
Thanks,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We went there on july 2 to stay for a night in my trip from Miami to NY. is very close to I95. Friendly staff , clean and ample room with microwave and fridge, clean bathroom, comfortable beds, good maintenance all over the place.
the only problem was the free " high speed "internet that is more like an dial up internet
but the price is very good so was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisymiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Hi daisymiami, Glad you enjoyed the friendly staff and clean rooms! We're very glad you stayed with us and very glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you can come back, soon!
Thanks,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

New hotel, and they don't allow smoking, so it is very clean and fresh smelling. The beds were great, and spacious room. Good breakfast. Overall, great stay!

Room Tip: Do not choose a room near the elevator or pool. We stayed just across the pool and could hear people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
NicoleGer, thank you for reviewing us and staying with us. Glad you enjoyed the beds and breakfast. Can't wait to see you again!
Thanks, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brunswick hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brunswick I-95
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick
8.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Brunswick
Comfort Suites Brunswick
#8 of 36 in Brunswick
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick

Property: Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick
Address: 220 Gateway Center Blvd, Brunswick, GA 31525-6700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for spacious and inviting accommodations near the Golden Isles of Georgia, then the Comfort Suites® Golden Isles Gateway hotel is perfect place to stay during your next family vacation or business trip. Popular island destinations like St. Simons Island, Little St. Simons Island, Sea Island and Jekyll Island are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Hotel Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing