We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Odor - a little Fabreeze would go a long way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
South Amboy, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Pet Odor - a little Fabreeze would go a long way”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was our first time traveling from NJ to FL with our small dog so we were a little apprehensive. Our choices for lodgings were limited but had heard from a friend that LaQuinta's accommodated pets free so we gave it a try. The desk clerk named Pam was very pleasant and personable and made you feel very welcome after a long day of driving.
The hotel was a decent value and conveniently located on the I 95 corridor. Large room and comfortable bed. Within walking distance to a Cracker Barrell restaurant for a ggode meal. The breakfast, particularly the make it yourself waffles were good and allowed us to get a quick star in the morning
I read the reviews before booking and the major complaint was the the place "smelled Like Dog" and I have to say honestly the pet odor in the corridors was very noticeable. This was my wife's major objection and the reason we would probably not recommend staying there unless you are traveling with your pet and it is the only place available. although the hotel appeared to be reasonably clean the pet odor led you to believe it wasn't. As my wife suggested some "Fabreeze" or other odor counteractant would made our stay there much more pleasant. I
I would like to add that we stayed at another LaQuinta in Florida the following night and were pleasantly surprised. It was a newer facility but there were not pet odors whatsoever, but the staff were not nearly as friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank billmF3581ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    250
    117
    80
    50
See reviews for
336
234
76
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greer
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our way home from Florida. We are La Quinta "frequent flyers" and usually have good luck with this chain. I had requested a first floor room and got one. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the dog welcome. Despite being right on a major highway, the place was quiet. It is a little older (but aren't we all?) and maybe not quite as plush as some we have stayed at, but the price was inexpensive and all was good.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 111 which was situated right near the lobby (but far enough away to be quiet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleon, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Had reservation for 2adults and a small dog ( no extra charge). Pam was literally our welcoming committee. Told us where everything was, reminded us of breakfast hours and encouraged me to get some fresh coffee to take to room. I felt like I was staying at the home of a friend. Our room was on the first floor, very helpful with a dog There were several others in residence for the two nights we stayed. A side door gets you outside quickly to plenty of grass. Our room was perfect, queen size bed and very clean. Thanx Sherill !! We had room 103. On the front parking lot side. I mention this because I 95 is right near, but can not be heard from the room we were in. Hopefully the whole hotel is well soundproofed. Also has washer and dryer for a fee on second floor. Breakfast was usual fare from 6-9 weekdays and til 10 on weekend. Checkout not til noon
Another bonus: walk across the parking lot to Cracker Barrel

Room Tip: Odd number rooms are on side away from interstate. Room was quiet for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I really want to like La Quinta Inns. We used to use them regularly and were especially fond of the one by Houston Intercontinental Airport. But we now find that from inn to inn, the quality is not reliable. Sometimes you'll get a great one but more often than not, this inn is what you find.

First, the desk clerk was helpful and friendly. That was the good. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean--not sparkling, but clean.

There are no amenities at all in the room--not even kleenex. Most travelers generally rely on a small bottle of shampoo and perhaps a shower cap. Nothing here.

While free wifi in all rooms is advertised, the wife in the room was awful. Most of the time it was too slow to be useful; the rest of the time it was non-existent.

It is hard to mess up cereal, but the orange juice was undrinkable. When asked about it, the attendant said something like "too watery?"

We stopped here because on our I-95 itinerary, we got farther along that we thought we would and canceled a reservation at a hotel I had researched. I won't stop at this La Quinta again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stubtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQGS, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We've read your feedback regarding your recent stay at our La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick. We dropped the ball, and have some areas of training to review with our Housekeepers. Shampoo and Kleenex should have been in the room, and while shower caps are not something offered in the room, our Front Desks carry many items for our guests upon request. We're also working on an initiative to increase bandwidth at our hotels to improve the internet performance which we hope to have finished in stages throughout this year. And we'll definitely check the issues with the orange juice with our breakfast team. We're sorry for all of these experiences and hope you'll consider coming back to La Quinta Inns & Suites again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathews, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here overnight just traveling through to Florida. The staff was courteous and friendly. The room were clean and not very worn. Even though they allowed pets, you could not smell pet odor and there were some pets staying in other rooms. Overall, nice stay.

Room Tip: If traveling through, stop at a rest stop to pick up a hotel coupon book. Good rates that they honor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve6668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have stayed at La Quinta Inn every time we have come to Brunswick. Check in has always been very easy, front desk clerk very friendly, rooms excellent. I highly recommend that while traveling through Brunswick this is the place you would want to pick.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brunswick hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick
6.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Brunswick
Comfort Suites Brunswick
#8 of 36 in Brunswick
338 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brunswick I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick
Address: 165 Warren Mason Blvd, Brunswick, GA 31520-1219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Brunswick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#4 Family Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.Just 25 minutes from St. Simons Island and Jekyll Island, you will find plenty to do at the La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick. Take the whole family to historic Hofwyl-Broadfield Plantation, have fun in the sun at Summer Waves, or head on out to Okeefenokee Swamp Park. It is only 15 m...see moreinutes to the Emerald Princess Casino Cruise Ship. You will find great restaurants within walking distance, including one next door, and Colonial Mall and Magnolia Bluff Factory Outlet Store for shopping, just minutes away. If you are here for events at Jekyll Island Convention Center and Glynn County Stadium, book your room today. Grab a USA Today mornings in the lobby at the La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick and enjoy a Free Bright Side BreakfastTM complete with make-your-own waffles. All guest rooms have interior corridors and include free high-speed Internet access, pillow-top mattresses and down-lite pillows (King rooms feature additional amenities). We have a guest laundry facility and fax/copy services available at the front desk. Don't forget your swimsuit for our refreshing outdoor swimming pool! Conveniently located five miles northeast of downtown off I-95. Stay here when visiting Federal Law Enforcement Training Center, Southeast Georgia Regional Medical Center, Brunswick College, and Fort Stewart. Bus parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick Hotel Brunswick
La Quinta Inn And Suites Brunswick
La Quinta Hotel Brunswick
La Quinta Brunswick
Brunswick La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing