We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“In so many ways, a St. Simons gem....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brunswick Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brunswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brunswick Manor
Save
You added Brunswick Manor to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 3 Brunswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“In so many ways, a St. Simons gem....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

For the very practical, the location is a quick, scenic 15 minute ride to the island, the price is right, the rooms are large, and the breakfasts are delightful.....but that is only a small part of the magic of staying at Brunswick Manor.

First, there is Rusty! There is a reason why almost all of the other reviewers rave about our favorite all-time inn keeper. Not to diminish all of the things he did for us that made our stay so enjoyable, but per my wife's description, Rusty is "a lovable, cuddly Southern gentleman". It started out with a glass of wine upon arrival and ended with Rusty's short cut back to Atlanta that eliminated at least half of the dreaded, boring Interstate 16. Rusty had shopping tips, dining suggestions (to include making reservations for us), and a ton of endearing stories.

Second is the Manor itself. Wow! Their websites photos are true to reality if not a bit understated. Its street presence is an eyeful, the interior a well-decorated historical statement, and the rooms and beds are comfortable, large, and.....just really nice! So nice that my wife and I both stood there grinning at the doorway to our room.

Finally, the breakfasts in the dining room! Again my wife's quote, "That was just right! I loved the coffee, enjoyed the quiche/biscuits and gravy/fresh fruit/whatever was the choice of the morning...but what I really liked was that Rusty joined us." The other guests at the table were as diverse as the choices for breakfast, another reason we enjoy the B&B experience.

For a true Southern experience, you would do well with spending time at the Brunswick Manor. Tell Rusty that it was John and Jeri's review that brought you to the Manor. He'll just grin! We loved his smile....and you will, too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandJeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
163
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Wanting to avoid the I-95 cookie cutter motels and the overpriced island hotels, we opted to spend a night here on a coastal Georgia trip. Brunswick is a pretty, sleepy little town close to St. Simons Island and Jekyll Island. Like many small towns in America, the downtown is losing business to the malls and big boxes located in the suburbs and off the freeway. However, it is still a pleasant small town with lovely restored homes from the 1800s. Brunswick Manor is one of those restored with attention to historical details and photos from the period.

We were the only guests and enjoyed sitting on the huge veranda sipping wine, listening to the birds and enjoying the attention of Meatball and Henry, the resident cats. The owners have an additional catering and meeting business, so hosting duties fall to Rusty, an experienced hospitality professional who also serves as breakfast chef. Rusty is gracious and informative about the community and the region. He also recommended Basil's for dinner, a surprisingly good choice for a small town.

We stayed in the Downing Suite which is a little on the dark side with dark wood furnishings and almost cluttered with memoriablia and historical odds and ends. If we were to return, we would opt for the Sea Island Suite or the Cumberland Suite, also on the second floor, but much brighter, lighter and airier and not so much "stuff" in the rooms.

All in all, would definitely recommend a stay here if you enjoy B&Bs with a historical flavor.

Room Tip: As noted, Sea Island and Cumberland appear to be brighter and lighter.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brooks42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I enjoyed staying here for a business trip. I had a lot of appointments in the county courthouse and city buildings and found this to be very close to both those and the downtown. Rusty was very helpful and friendly with good advice on places to eat out. It was nice to sit on the huge front porch and relax in the swing when work was done. The house itself is an architectural treasure that has been very well maintained and furnished with interesting period furniture.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndriaAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Brunswick Manor is a beautiful house filled with old world charm. It was perfect for a rest and relaxation weekend getaway. The host was very welcoming and made us feel comfortable for our stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

took the 2 room first floor suite... great furnishings, lovely wine to enjoy with other guests. Only problem we found was breakfast left much to be desired. couldn't eat the egg dish, tasted like it had pepperoni in it. would have enjoyed some toast with jam...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbkenMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here on the second last night of our trip up from from Florida with its boring modern hotel chains. So glad we stumbled on Brunswick Manor on the internet. A charming old house, faithfully restored and stocked absolutely full of top quality and very tasteful furnishings and memorabilia. Add to that an excellent breakfast served on gold edged china in the baronial dining room and the helpful attentions of Rusty, our very gracious host and it was certainly an experience to remember and to tell all our friends about. Thanks Rusty!. .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh,nc
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

After seeing this place on the Travel Channel under extreme Christmas, I knew we had to stay there to see all of the ornaments and the gorgeous decorations.
I was very very pleased that we were able to book a one night stay, because my husband and I are more of the hotel sort. The decorations at Christmas did not dissapoint and the manor was decorated beautifully. We met some other lovely couples spending the night and all sat around the Christmas tree just enjoying the ornaments and taking pictures and talking.
Our room was quite lovely. We didn't find our bed comfortable but then again I have never stayed at a B&B that had a comfortable bed.
The complementary breakfast the following morning in the gorgeous dining room was quite nice.
We left and were very pleased we had added this to our vacation plans.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we had a chance to peak into seemed absolutely lovely. I don't think you can go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pemeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
6.9 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
6.2 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Manor

Property: Brunswick Manor
Address: 825 Egmont St, Brunswick, GA 31520-7825
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located halfway between Savannah and Jacksonville, this historic bed and breakfast is in historic downtown Brunswick, the Gateway to the Golden Isles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brunswick Manor Hotel Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing