We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contrived French Chateau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Elan Winery And Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Braselton
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Contrived French Chateau”
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Chateau Elan is exactly what's advertised--a French styled chateau, winery and spa. What we weren't expecting was the contrived ambiance that became readily apparent once there. It all sort of seemed like an expensive adult Disney French Epcot experience. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are certainly adequate, if not upper end. The food was absolutely mediocre; the spa overcrowded and noisy. We did enjoy the cooking demonstration. We left thinking, "checked that one off the list".

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMSColumbia_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    240
    76
    26
    18
See reviews for
192
703
43
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2011

My experience with Chateau Elan has always been pure joy to me.This would include being at the inn and our stay at the Spa. Next week will be my 20th visit, and with each and every visit it always exceeds my expectations. This would include the staff, Chiefs, and all of uper managements. What word can i use in the english language to describe this lovely place.It is the "Chateau" what else can i say
Sandra Rhodes & Judith a Rhodes Lee

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tazpooh60920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Chateau Elan for a little get away. We had the most fabulous time. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are wonderful. We had lunch at Paddy's Pub. It is a very cute little Irish Pub right outside the hotel. We then took a tour of the winery and took part in the wine tasting. The wines are good. Not great, but descent. We had dinner at the Cafe Elan. Fabulous!!! I had the lamb chop and my husband had the filet w/ brie. We then finished the night in the hotel lounge for one last drink. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlantaBirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I did have a problem with this hotel, but the management staff is exceptional. Great customer service.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ssmaharaj0225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

From the time we pulled in to check in, the staff were nice, courteous, and really did everything possible to make sure every moment there enjoyable. The winery had the best food. The French Onion Soup was to die for. It was similar to that served in Germany. The entire site is immaculate.

We enjoyed service and absolutely EVERYTHING was fresh, hot, and served in 30 minutes or less. All meals were made with fresh ingredients and made on site. The rooms were clean with fresh linens, and nothing out of place. I would travel there just to have lunch at the winery. I am sure I gained 5 pounds sampling the various dishes on all of the menus. A great place stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovingLife39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

I was wanting a weekend getaway so my husband and I choose Chateau Elan. We were able to get a good price I thought but then about a week before our trip, CE ran a MLK weekend special-I wish I would have waited to book to say the least. We arrived at CE...our check-in was easy and we were able to check-in a little early. The rooms looked recently updated, were of good size with a mini fridge and coffee maker, beds were comfy, flat screen TV and the bathroom had a tub and shower. Everyone was nice and accommodating at CE but everything was pricey. We showed up at breakfast and dinner on time and there were maybe 2 other couples eating. I made reservations for breakfast and dinner as the website said. Why did we have to make reservations? Being a guest at the hotel, you would think you get some type of perks...the only activity that is free is hiking...maybe the wine tour and tasting could be free or at least receive a discount but it was $10 a person. A glass of their own wine was at least $6 at any CE restaurant and a bottle of Scarlet was $20 when you purchase it from the winery but at Versailles its $40! Needless to say, buy a bottle of wine and enjoy it before or after dinner...not during dinner. Breakfast was average...but not worth the price. I have to say dinner at Versailles was very good...I recommend the Zucchini cakes as an appetizer. I did get to experience a facial at the spa, which was very nice and relaxing but then after the facial they advised me of some products I could use to clean and moisturize my face. I was not obligated to purchase anything but all I wanted to do was relax after my facial. Also...hot or warm water in the shower is impossible...they have it blocked where you can't turn it hot. So I had to get in the bath for warm or hot water, then get in the shower to wash and rinse off. To top off everything, we went to L'Auberge for appetizers and drinks Saturday night and to listen to the Melvin Banks..and the Atlanta game was on so he didn't start on time and then he hardly played. After the game went off...he was like a DJ...not a saxophone player. I would like to mention we received great service from Josh and Michael at L'Auberge, Graeme our winery tour guide, Alecia our waitress at Versailles, Linda at Fleur de Lis, and Sandra that did my facial. We have been to several resorts out of the U.S. and even one of the Premier Resorts but I think this one was average and very pricey. I was looking for a nice romantic weekend getaway...and it turned out to be an expensive disappointing weekend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ande070806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Hello, I am writing to let you know that my visit to the Chateau Elan was not a very good one. It was the first time my husband and I visited the Chateau and was expecting to be in awe with the experience, instead we received no turn down service or maid service and one night of no sleep(due to rowdy neighbors). When the front desk was informed, there were no apologies and we were asked on our last night if we would like to move to another room but by that time we were already in bed and it was very late at night. The maid service was corrected on the second night with clean towels.



My husband and I have travelled to several states in the US and stayed at very prestigious hotels including the Ritz Carlton at Washington, DC and I must say we were expecting the same service from the Chateau. I will say that we do not plan to visit any time in the future. We were very disappointed.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ssmaharaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braselton
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Braselton
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Braselton
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braselton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Buford/Mall of Georgia
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Flowery Branch
3.6 mi away
Best Western Braselton Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Winery And Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Winery And Resort

Property: Chateau Elan Winery And Resort
Address: 100 Rue Charlemagne Dr, Braselton, GA 30517-2435
Location: United States > Georgia > Braselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Braselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Winery And Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan is North Atlanta's premier meeting destination that offers championship golf, a full-production winery, European health spa, and world-class amenities. From the moment you drive through the gates of Château Élan until the moment you leave you will experience warm southern hospitality combined with the beauty of the French countryside. Within the sweeping panorama of the north Georgia foothills, just 40 minutes away from Atlanta, Chateau Elan began with the planting of vineyards in 1981. From these lush vines of Chardonnay, Merlot, Cabernet & Riesling grapes has grown a 3,500 acre conference and leisure destination where French provincial and Southern hospitality combine to produce exceptional wines and warm memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Otel, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau Elan Winery And Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Winery And Hotel Braselton
Chateau Elan Winery Resort
Chateau Elan Winery Hotel
Chateau Elan Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing