We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic indeed!”
Review of Cosy Under Canvas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cosy Under Canvas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at Cosy Under Canvas glampsite for two nights last week for my friend's hen do. It is in a private, secluded location, and idyllic is the perfect way to describe the beautiful surroundings and views of the rolling green hills. It is the perfect escapade from the hustle bustle of everyday city living.

The tipi tents and the geometric dome tents are so funky. The domes are really spacious and the beds are so comfy. The tipis are really cosy. All bedding provided was very clean and sufficient. However it is advisable that you take extra bedding and duvets as it can get really chilly at night, even in the summer. Theres lots of spare blankets and bean bags to chill out with. The compost toilets took some getting used to, but they are fine! The wood burning showers also do the job. There is also a wet room and proper toilet near the main house which is nice and convenient.

The kitchen and dining facilities were more than sufficient. However, the oven is a wood burning oven, which takes a while to cook food! The site is owned by a lovely family, and they were so helpful and welcoming. We made the mistake of bringing pizzas which would have taken us a while to cook in the ovens. So Emma kindly allowed us to use their own kitchen oven to cook the pizzas, which we thought was so sweet of them. They also surprised us one morning with home made cup cakes, which were lovely.

They stoked our own private hot tub which stayed hot for hours and was fab! The best part was that Emma organized two ladies to come to the site and arrange treatments for us all - manicures, pedicures, massages, facials - and they were amazing! We felt extra special as so much care and attention was paid to us all. If you want Emma to arrange the treatments, you must ask for this in advance. We also arranged horseriding which is really nearby and alot of fun. I would recommend going for one hour and not two like we did, it was quite tiring!

Although this is a glamping site, there is no electricity, so expect no lights or sockets. There are some candles and lanterns around but you should definitely bring torches. There are plug sockets available at the house which is about a 5 minute walk away. Although some wood, kindle and firestarters are provided to make your own fire, you will probably find you will need to buy some more during your stay. There is no network in the area at all, so you won't be able to use your mobile phones at all.

The coolboxes provided in the kitchen were fab, they kept all our drinks and food nice and cold. There are also storage boxes to store your food. All of these are conveniently labelled so that no one steals your food and they are well secure so no creepy crawlies get in. Speaking of which, there were not as many creepy crawlies as we thought there would be!

Will definitely be coming back again for the perfect surroundings, great facilities and fantastic service and hospitality offered by Emma and her family!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmatCosy, Owner at Cosy Under Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed yourself.
Thanks for your comments about the Rayburn in the Kitchen. We have now made it clear on the info that we send out prior to arrival that the Rayburn is only suitable for slow cooking and not for cooking pizzas, oven ready meals etc. Most guests like to cook on the open fire and there are also the three gas stoves of course.
We are so pleased that you were happy with the treatments and hot tub and took the opportunity to relax fully while you were here.
There is usually lots of wood provided during your stay so I wonder if you found the wood store on the side of your decks with some extra bags in? I do apologise if not.
We hope to see you again sometime. Thanks Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 133 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

I spent last weekend at Cozy under Canvas for my hen do and had a great time. We had a dome and two tipis, all of which were very well kitted out. The hot tub was lovely, I'd recommend lighting the fire in advance as it did take a couple of hours to get heated up (but we were advised of this). We had glorious weather but there are places to gather if you are not so lucky. There is no phone signal which I think is a positive as it means you can relax. We did raft building at Hay-on-Wye which was great fun. Would go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmatCosy, Owner at Cosy Under Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thanks so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your hen do and wish you good luck with the big day. Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights mid week in May 2013 and despite the very very wet weather we had a nice time. We stayed in a tipi as did the in laws and had the whole camp too ourselves which was good as we had 4 dogs with us.
We would recommend visiting the Sun Inn which just down the road, fantastic chips and very nice desserts and dog friendly too.
The only down side about the site is that the wood fired showers take along time too warm up and didn't last too long so if it was busy with lots of families I suspect the wet room would be in high demand. Also would advise taking an extra cool bag if you go as a family.
My feedback for the owners would be a drying room would be useful and also a communal undercover area that has a wood stove would be great as when its wet and cool in the evening you just have to sit in the tipi or go to the pub, which is a shame as the campsite is vey nice even in the wet weather.

Room Tip: If you can afford it pay the extra and get a dome, we could have done with the extra room and I thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmatCosy, Owner at Cosy Under Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thanks for your review and we are delighted that you had a good time despite the very wet weather.
Sorry that you didn't let us know about the shower while you were here, we have looked at it and made some adjustments so it is now in good working order.
We do usually find that guests are happy to light the fires in the tipis and domes in the evenings if it's chilly and keep warm and cosy that way. I guess that was a little tricky for you with the dogs and in fact we are looking at changing our dog policy in order to ensure the comfort and contentment of our guests.
A drying room or area is a great idea and we will be organising somewhere to site one over the coming weeks. Thanks again for your suggestions, we hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife, and our 2 year old son had a great weekend staying in the Beech Dome (a dome), with wood burning stove, double bed, sheepskins, seats the lot. We were provided with a travel cot and plenty of warm blankets. It was our first glamping experience and we loved it.
Cosy under Canvas is set in a woodland glade, near a wetland area, it's teeming with wildlife, and the bird song is beautiful. It's a really natural setting. The three tipis and 2 domes are nicely spaced out, with other facilities (communal camp kitchen, toilets and showers) plus cosy corner in easy reach. Each dome or tipi has a fire pit to cook over and our dome had a wood fired hot tub-which was awesome.
You can get eggs from the farm, and Hay is only 6 miles away but you are really in the middle of nowhere.
We would go again for sure.

Room Tip: Domes are spacious, lots of light and they have hot tubs, tipis do not have hot tubs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DalbeattieNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmatCosy, Owner at Cosy Under Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Hi there. Thanks for your review. We're delighted that you had a good time and do hope we see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just back from a fabulous hen weekend here. The site is amazing, every little thing taken into consideration. Can fully recommend the hot tubs and the home made stew. Thank you for having such a fab place and letting 20 girls make it their home for the weekend

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Gem W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmatCosy, Owner at Cosy Under Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thanks for the review Gemma. We were delighted to host your Hen Do and so pleased that you had a great time. Good luck with the wedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at cosy under canvas in a geo dome in april this year and had a fantastic time. we are not newcomers to glamping or eco sites having stayed in one in spain last year but this site was well thought out and had everything you needed for an eco stay. the geo domes were light and airy and more than big enough for 4 adults. we enjoyed the addition of the wood fired hot tub several times during our 5 night stay as well. the cosy lounge was a welcome place to chill out and have a drink under cover when it was just a bit too cold to sit around the campfire. the log burner kept us warm all night and the hand made bed with memory foam mattress was ultra comfortable. if you want a break from the land of the living ( no mobile signals at all) then go and try this site for peace and quiet. if you don't fancy the wood fired showers there is always the wet room up at the farm with electric sockets for those people like me who can't go away without their hair dryer. a thoroughly enjoyable experience. we can thoroughly recommend. the walk up hay bluff is well worth it for the views at the top!!!!!!!............. the mullin family

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmatCosy, Owner at Cosy Under Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thanks for the review. We are Delighted that you enjoyed yourselves and do hope we see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in a dome at Cosy Under Canvas for a long weekend in April 2013 and had a fantastic time. My husband is a very outdoorsie kind of person and loves camping, whilst I'm more inclined to stay in a nice warm hotel or b&b, but this gave us the best of both worlds. The dome had loads of space, but was very cosy with lots of thoughtful touches like the hanging chair with a view over the open fields, snuggly blankets, hot water bottles and warm sheepskin rugs to make it feel more homely. We had a great time exploring the site, cooking over the camp fire and trying out the brand new wood-fired hot tub, which was excellent fun. It took a while to warm up but was well worth the wait.
The setting is great, tucked away in the hillside amongst the trees. The wildlife literally comes to your door! We saw owls, woodpeckers, squirrels and many more...
There are 2 domes and 3 tipis (I think) on the site but they are well spaced so you don't feel crammed in. If you do want to be sociable with your fellow campers the camp kitchen or the "cosy corner" are great places to get together for a chat with the neighbours.
They also offer lots of ideas for places to go and activities to try. We had a great afternoon canoeing down the River Wye from Wye Valley Canoes at Glasbury into Hay on Wye. It took 1.5 hours of easy paddling and was a great way to see the area. Hay itself has lots of nice places to eat, like Tomatitos Tapas Bar and the Granary does a great breakfast if you can't be bothered to wait for the camp fire. There a lots of great walks and Hay has some quirky shops to explore too, so you should never be bored.
Overall, we had a great time and were made to feel really welcome by Emma and her family, especially by Lottie the dog. She has obvioulsy put a lot of effort into making your stay as comfortable as possible and we can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oak dome which was at the top of the site and had on of the most secluded spots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmatCosy, Owner at Cosy Under Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thanks for visiting and for recommending your friends. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cosy Under Canvas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosy Under Canvas

Address: Dolbedwyn | Kington, Newchurch, Hay-on-Wye HR5 3QQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye > Newchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Newchurch
Price Range: $60 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic and luxurious, award winning Glamping in a Welsh woodland Whether you're after sanctuary or adventure our Dome holidays are great for loved-up couples, family down-time or group gatherings. Satisfy your craving for the outdoors with no compromise on comfort. Think comfy beds, snug duvets, fluffy sheepskins and cosy rugs. We’re off-grid and eco-friendly with compost loos, wood-fired showers and solar lights - But stylish geodesic domes, personal toiletries, real coffee, private fire pits and steamy hot tubs mean you don't have to rough it. Just enjoy relaxing surroundings, beautiful scenery, and interesting things to do. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing