We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service with good food”

Black Bear Bier Garten
Ranked #48 of 97 Restaurants in Blue Ridge
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 26, 2018

The Black Bear is a quaint place which serves good German and polish food. The service is slow because they make everything fresh for you. It is worth it. The prices seem high until you realize that most of the food is imported. Prepare to have a totally non-American meal experience.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank L8129YMpamelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 173 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2018

Have actually visited a couple of times. German type food when we visitied a couple of yrs. ago. Husband and brother-in-law enjoyed beer while his sister and I wandered around Blue Ridge.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

We stop in each year for a German Beer and a Giant German Soft Pretzel. This year did not disappoint!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Sarah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

Our group of 6 walked into this restaurant which we normally frequent during our trips to Blue Ridge. This time, my group of 6 walked in on July 3td at 210pm only to be told they had to close the kitchen because they are short staffed. What? Sad state of affairs but representative of how difficult it is to get help these days. So, we walked across the street to Fighterstown and had a great meal, with staff, friendly at that.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank LiscomeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

I love the selection of sausages heer and the sauerkraut and German potato salad are very good. The large variety of beer on tap is also a plus.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Bier Garten also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Bier Garten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing