We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My sons LOVED it”

The Lilly Pad Village
Ranked #2 of 9 Fun & Games in Blue Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Lilly Pad Village, located in the heart of the Aska Adventure Area, (just eight miles out of Blue Ridge, GA.) is designed around a beautiful mountain setting with picturesque views and sounds of nature. The Lilly Pad offers gem mining, mini golf and fishing for kids and adults alike. Imitated but never duplicated, the Lilly Pad Village offers precisely what you are looking for when visiting our beautiful mountains: A piece of Heaven, away from highways, parking lots, and traffic. It is a place of tranquility, restfulness, and positive energy. A destination for laughter and smiles where you can spend an hour or an entire day, leaving stress behind. Why chose the Lilly Pad? Because we are different! We offer our pristine property, our friendly staff, our quietude, our decks and picnic tables, our sociable pets, our flowers, and trees for the entire day if you wish. Free wi-fi if you need it (but why would you?)
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This place was so great! My kids had the best time mining for "jewels" as they called them. A week later they are still getting out their little bags of gems and checking them out. They actually wanted to go again the next day! The owners were very friendly, and June, our gem-mining helper, was awesome. We will definitely be back!

2  Thank melanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gezacsuros, Owner at The Lilly Pad Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for the great review and we hope you are enjoying the 'jewels'.
I shall let June know your comments - thanks again for visiting and for (hopefully) becoming one of our regulars. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Geza and Gena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 167 of 231 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

We found this place on trip advisor and decided to go our first day in Blue Ride. It is amazing! When you turn on Aska road to get there you go up 7.5 miles into the mountainside and you will see the sign. The owners are wonderful. Today is December 16th so the fish were lethargic the owner told us and it was a little to cold for mini golf but we did gem mining, two adults and two kids. It cost 5000 and change and we bought a gem map for the kids. They have a heater and warm water in the gem mining to keep you comfortable but your having so much fun, I forgot how cold I was. You can take as long as you want doing it. I had a 10 yr old and 7 yr old with us and both were able to do it by themselves. It does get messy so bring an extra shirt or jacket to wear after, especially for the kids. It is a gem itself tucked away in that mountain. We asked the owners cool places to go and up the road from there is a waterfall and restaurant. It is a great day to plan, spend the day at Lily Pad village, then drive up the road and hike 1/4 mile to see the waterfall (very easy hike, great for our kids) then stop at the restaurant on the river on the way back to town. Absolutely amazing day. We will come back in springtime and go again.

2  Thank Holli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gezacsuros, Manager at The Lilly Pad Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for the great review, and thank you for sharing part of your day with us. We only charge $5000 for gem mining in December, when it is cold - normally, it is much less :-) Just kidding about the 5000 - in the excitement the decimal point was left out. Although, if we could charge 5000, we could retire sooner :-) .....

Joking apart, thank you for visiting and thank you for giving us a raving review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My son and I enjoyed a quiet hour or two here. I'm sure it's hopping busy during the warmer months but it was really quiet today. Nonetheless, we loved talking with the owners. We bought some amazingly well-priced amethyst and spoke with the male owner from Hungary. He gave my son a free piece of a mineral to polish. The female owner was just as amazing- we talked for a while and played some mini golf. The course is nothing to write home about but my 8-year-old loved it. The owner said we could play through several times if we wanted and I appreciated her down-to-earth and generous attitude.

If we had done the gem mining, I think we would have liked that, too. I wouldn't recommend coming just for the putt-putt. However, the gems are well worth it- the best prices I've ever seen.

2  Thank teachKTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gezacsuros, Owner at The Lilly Pad Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for the absolutely fabulous review! It was great having you here - if Gena and I did not love people we would not be in the "people business". We look forward to seeing you next year - and yes, we are re-building the mini golf course by next spring. It does need an update, after four years of use :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We played golf and mined for gems. It was fun. The golfing is only 9 holes and could use some upkeep. The kids loved mining for gems and the lady helping us was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. It is a little out of the way and a bit pricey but we enjoyed the experience.

Thank jsappington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gezacsuros, Owner at The Lilly Pad Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you so very much for the review and thank you for visiting us!

We are 7.5 miles out of Blue Ridge, but what a beautiful drive on your way to the best this City has to offer - the most picturesque hiking trails are just a few miles further south from us! In fact we are more central to a lot of fun things than downtown is. We apologise about the golf course - no matter how often we blow off the fallen leaves, in a few minutes they cover the greens again - but in a way that is the magic of it :-) Fall is perhaps the most beautiful season of them all, and colorful leaves on the ground are just a major part of it.

Thank you again for your visit and for the nice review - it was great having you share part of today with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We found this place on Trip Advisor and gave it a shot after seeing the reviews. It was great. The fishing was so much fun despite the cold weather. Our son caught his first fish on the first cast. He was captivated for hours! The gem mining was a lot of fun for us and our son. We found lots of great stuff for his 'treasure chest' at home. The putt putt was great for our son's first experience. There was no line and no wait so we just played as we wanted. He had a great time. The staff was so friendly and we loved chatting with them. We will definitely be going there again the next time we are in Ellijay/Blue Ridge.

Thank vzevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gezacsuros, Owner at The Lilly Pad Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We certainly look forward to having you guys here again at your next visit! Keep checking our website for more things to come next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lilly Pad Village also viewed

 

Been to The Lilly Pad Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing