We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MUST DO FOR ADULTS AND KIDS!”

The Lilly Pad Village
Ranked #2 of 9 Fun & Games in Blue Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Looking for things to do in Blue Ridge? Fun activities for the entire family - come and spend an amazing day, gem mine, play mini golf, fish on our 1/3 acre pond or simply browse our gift shop or relax on our deck. Discount packages are available. We also offer guided hiking! Enjoy a custom designed hiking experience.Our Gem Mining Flumes are covered - gem mine away even when it is raining.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A MUST DO FOR ADULTS AND KIDS!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We found this place on trip advisor and decided to go our first day in Blue Ride. It is amazing! When you turn on Aska road to get there you go up 7.5 miles into the mountainside and you will see the sign. The owners are wonderful. Today is December 16th so the fish were lethargic the owner told us and it was a little to cold for mini golf but we did gem mining, two adults and two kids. It cost 5000 and change and we bought a gem map for the kids. They have a heater and warm water in the gem mining to keep you comfortable but your having so much fun, I forgot how cold I was. You can take as long as you want doing it. I had a 10 yr old and 7 yr old with us and both were able to do it by themselves. It does get messy so bring an extra shirt or jacket to wear after, especially for the kids. It is a gem itself tucked away in that mountain. We asked the owners cool places to go and up the road from there is a waterfall and restaurant. It is a great day to plan, spend the day at Lily Pad village, then drive up the road and hike 1/4 mile to see the waterfall (very easy hike, great for our kids) then stop at the restaurant on the river on the way back to town. Absolutely amazing day. We will come back in springtime and go again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Holli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gezacsuros, Manager at The Lilly Pad Village, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for the great review, and thank you for sharing part of your day with us. We only charge $5000 for gem mining in December, when it is cold - normally, it is much less :-) Just kidding about the 5000 - in the excitement the decimal point was left out. Although, if we could charge 5000, we could retire sooner :-) .....

Joking apart, thank you for visiting and thank you for giving us a raving review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    53
    19
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I adore the owners!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My son and I enjoyed a quiet hour or two here. I'm sure it's hopping busy during the warmer months but it was really quiet today. Nonetheless, we loved talking with the owners. We bought some amazingly well-priced amethyst and spoke with the male owner from Hungary. He gave my son a free piece of a mineral to polish. The female owner was just as amazing- we talked for a while and played some mini golf. The course is nothing to write home about but my 8-year-old loved it. The owner said we could play through several times if we wanted and I appreciated her down-to-earth and generous attitude.

If we had done the gem mining, I think we would have liked that, too. I wouldn't recommend coming just for the putt-putt. However, the gems are well worth it- the best prices I've ever seen.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank teachKTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gezacsuros, Owner at The Lilly Pad Village, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for the absolutely fabulous review! It was great having you here - if Gena and I did not love people we would not be in the "people business". We look forward to seeing you next year - and yes, we are re-building the mini golf course by next spring. It does need an update, after four years of use :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It was fun”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We played golf and mined for gems. It was fun. The golfing is only 9 holes and could use some upkeep. The kids loved mining for gems and the lady helping us was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. It is a little out of the way and a bit pricey but we enjoyed the experience.

Helpful?
Thank jsappington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gezacsuros, Owner at The Lilly Pad Village, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you so very much for the review and thank you for visiting us!

We are 7.5 miles out of Blue Ridge, but what a beautiful drive on your way to the best this City has to offer - the most picturesque hiking trails are just a few miles further south from us! In fact we are more central to a lot of fun things than downtown is. We apologise about the golf course - no matter how often we blow off the fallen leaves, in a few minutes they cover the greens again - but in a way that is the magic of it :-) Fall is perhaps the most beautiful season of them all, and colorful leaves on the ground are just a major part of it.

Thank you again for your visit and for the nice review - it was great having you share part of today with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Adventure for Kids”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We found this place on Trip Advisor and gave it a shot after seeing the reviews. It was great. The fishing was so much fun despite the cold weather. Our son caught his first fish on the first cast. He was captivated for hours! The gem mining was a lot of fun for us and our son. We found lots of great stuff for his 'treasure chest' at home. The putt putt was great for our son's first experience. There was no line and no wait so we just played as we wanted. He had a great time. The staff was so friendly and we loved chatting with them. We will definitely be going there again the next time we are in Ellijay/Blue Ridge.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank vzevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gezacsuros, Owner at The Lilly Pad Village, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We certainly look forward to having you guys here again at your next visit! Keep checking our website for more things to come next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It was OK”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The family really loved the gem minning. Although there is nothing much too it they had a great time. The people there are really nice. The golf is nice and shady. Although the day we went was pretty muddy. We did pay for the fishing which is $10 a person and they give you fishing poles. This is better than the $45 license and stamp to fish the rivers and lake. I just felt the amount of people that were fishing in the pond and the fact this is every day (catch and release) kind of made the pond a torture hole for the poor fish.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rrichardson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gezacsuros, Owner at The Lilly Pad Village, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for the great review and for taking the time to write about us. We are glad you enjoyed your time here at the Lilly Pad. So terribly sorry for not impressing you enough for a better rating - we do try our best! Please let us know if there is anything that we can do in the future to make your time here more enjoyable.

Just for the record - we have lots of happy fish! They are fed well and they do enjoy a 'safe zone' as you must have noticed while visiting. The fact that in spite the over 25,000 visitors annually, we only lost five fish this year - two to a red tail hawk nesting in the vicinity and one to a small bear. Only two catfish were lost due to fishing. We do not use any chemicals in our pond, keeping it an all natural ecosystem - a much lesser of a 'torture hole' as compared to what is being done to fish in our rivers, lakes and seas ... just my opinion :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lilly Pad Village also viewed

 

Been to The Lilly Pad Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing