We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing getaway”
Review of Aska Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Ridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aska Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 Blue Ridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Longwood, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing getaway”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We recently went to Blue Ridge for our first visit to explore the area and see the Autumn leaves.
We have stayed at other B&Bs in the South East US and this spot is a jewel.
The new owners are doing a wonderful job to maintain their 5 star review rating. The friendliness and hospitality was superb as was the am breakfast. This place is secluded up in the mountains just 3 miles down the hill to the Blue Ridge shops and the train. This 2 story BB is quiet, has relaxing porches, a fire ring for outside gathering and a very comfortable large down stairs with a fireplace and snacks. A great room with lots of local maps and information to plan your local ventures and road trips. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesseimd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
243
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a wonderful stay! The sign above the door reads: "Enter as strangers, leave as friends". We most definitely said goodbye to friends! The innkeepers, Rick and Janet, are so good at what they do and make sure your stay is beyond wonderful. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. Going downstairs to breakfast was a real treat, everything was absolutely delicious! This B&B is wonderful, make your reservation, you will be so glad you did!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaga06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This a wonderful place to stay, in a very beautiful part of the world. Its a short drive away from the small town of Blue Ridge, which is a sleepy little town with a surprising number of shops and restaurants.
We were the only people staying at the Aska for two nights, and Mary Jo kindly upgraded us to the best room in the house, which is a beautiful room. The house is full of character, and the view from our balcony was stunning.Complimentary drinks and snacks are available at all times.
The owners Bob and Mary Jo made us feel very welcome, and we really enjoyed our morning chats with Bob over the fantastic breakfasts!, Thanks to both of you if you happen to read this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodsy1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife & I have stayed at the Aska Lodge B & B in Blue Ridge, Georgia 4 or 5 times now. Since the very first time, it has been like staying with family with Bob & Mary Jo & Abbe (dog), the proprietors. Scratch that.....it's better than staying with family! They all welcome everyone when you first arrive & orient you to the area and the B & B. You pretty much have full run of the house, with the exception of the owner's/proprietor's quarters. The whole place has a wonderfully warm feel to it. The downstairs area is great for sitting, watching TV, reading, working on one of the jigsaw puzzles, researching activities in the area or visiting with other guests. Mary Jo's breakfasts are to die for!! After 4 times there for at least 2 days at a time, we have never had the same thing yet. Don't forget to grab a cookie out of the cookie jar whenever you pass through the sitting area. There's a big jug of coffee in the morning, just grab a cup & tray (don't forget the cookie!) & take it back to your room or out to the huge porch & enjoy the mountain morning. We have only stayed in 2 of the rooms but the one with the large porch upstairs is our favorite, though small, comfortable & very nice, the porch makes up for the size. They have put so many little "niceties" in their B & B it's hard to remember them all; like, a combination nightlight/flashlight, ice bucket & glasses in the room, fans in the bathroom. We love sitting out on the porch at night, watching & listening to the wildlife, watching the stars, so quiet & peaceful! You can watch the birds & hummingbirds from the porches in the morning because they have numerous feeders enticing the birds to come up close.

We found out this trip that Bob & MaryJo are about to embark on their next adventure & we wish them well. They have sold the B & B to a couple of experienced proprietors. While we are really sad to see Bob & MaryJo leave, we are looking forward to the new owners & the new touches they will bring to what has become our absolutely favorite getaway place!

Room Tip: The smaller room on the upstairs corner with the extra large porch is our favorite, mostly because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayden B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Aska Lodge is a perfect and picturesque place to stay for anyone exploring the gorgeous Blue Ridge Mountains. We only had two nights here but we will be back. Clean, comfortable and supremely welcoming thanks to the efforts of innkeepers Bob and Mary Jo. They walk that fine line of being warm and friendly, yet letting us have our privacy and could not have been more helpful or accommodating. We stayed in the Jean Katherine, which has a lovely porch complete with swing, that looks out over the pretty garden and wild acreage beyond it. So many thoughtful touches, from binoculars on our porch to home-baked cookies on the well-stocked snack bar. We played board games in the evening and Bob built a lovely campfire. It's peaceful, secluded and yet very close to the village of Blue Ridge, which is a terrific little place with some good restaurants (Harvest on Main) and boutiques. Hiking trails are nearby as is the start of the Appalachian Trail. See you again, Bob and Mary Jo!

Room Tip: The Jean Katherine has the best porch for sitting but there's a lovely downstairs porch on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It was a vacation from our vacation as we snuck away for a couple of nights and left the kids with my parents (who live in the area). It was a lovely setting and MaryJo and Bob were very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the Jesssica Lynn and it was a spacious suite and well worth the extra money. As stated, no TVs in the room but we didn't miss it. Would have liked an iPod dock or similar so we could listen to our music but was not a big deal. The breakfasts were excellent and I really appreciated the "kitchenette" set up where you could serve yourself tea, sodas, snacks and of course, the homemade cookies at any time. The location is also ideal for day trips to the surrounding areas. We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEATHER6886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We can't say enough about Bob and Mary Jo's little bit of Heaven! We were totally at home and relaxed our two nights at Aska Lodge. We got to experience two different rooms due to our last minute reservations, but we didn't mind. They were both great! Very clean and inviting! Lots of snacks and refreshments. No tv's in the rooms but never missed it. There is one downstairs, but we enjoyed the serenity and quiet and listening to the birds! Mary Jo is an excellent cook and our breakfasts were sumptuous! We enjoyed Bob's stories and the enjoyment of the others staying in the lodge. We have gone to Blue Ridge for years and this was our first time staying here. I don't think it will be our last! We needed a getaway and this was perfect!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good. The Jean Katherine is the front right corner room with a great porch and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katnicHoover_Alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Ridge
2.3 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
291 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blue Ridge
1.6 mi away
Douglas Inn & Suites
Douglas Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Blue Ridge
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
20.1 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
344 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Mountain View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aska Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aska Lodge B&B

Property: Aska Lodge B&B
Address: 178 Calen Dr, Blue Ridge, GA 30513-4947
Location: United States > Georgia > Blue Ridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blue Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four unique bedrooms, each with private bath, plush robes, and premium sheets & towels. Two miles from town yet perched on a mountain ridge with incredible view. Full home cooked breakfast featuring such specialties as Pineapple French Toast or a Frittata. Gathering room with dartboard, games, fireplace, snack center with fesh baked cake or pie and free wireless Internet! Area activities: white water rafting, tubing, fishing, horseback riding, and plenty of shops and restaurants. Come...Let us spoil you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing