We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Inn Express Scam”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blairsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express Scam”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I used the on-line system for Holiday Inn to book a reservation for trip about 1week in advance. After making the reservation, there was a storm and a rock slide on the main road that we would be taking to the hotel. Since it was a pleasure trip and not urgent, we decided to cancel the trip the day after making the reservation. I called the hotel to cancel (giving them a 4 day notice), and they told me that I could cancel but that I would have to pay the entire amount of the room which was almost $250 for two nights. They would not cancel the charges off my credit card. They said that I had made the reservation using their "advance purchase" option when I made the reservations online. I had NO IDEA that i did this. In fact, the confirmation notification email that i received does have language to that effect, but also has language that indicates that you can cancel the reservation as well as an icon that shows modification/cancel options. In addition, i immediately checked my card and there was no 'hold' or charge or charge on my card. I talked to the manager there, and was treated rudely and still told that the charges would be taken from my credit card. I am in the midst of disputing the charges with my credit card company. I would not advise anyone to stay at this hotel nor any Holiday Inn Express because this is a complete scam. Google this problem and you will see the same complaints from as far back as 2008. All the complaints are exactly the same. This is a COMPLETE SCAM. Buyer beware.
This is completely a scam because they keep your money and then rebook to another customer, which they actually did in my case.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Steve G,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    81
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
58
58
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ocilla, Georgia
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I do normally like Hoiday Inn Express hotels but I I arrived at 9:30pm and was put in a room right across from the ice and snack machines. I was not told that my room would be so located. The room was clean but the noise right above the room was terrible. Someone was constantly running across the floor. At 12:03 am, I got up out of bed and went to the office to complain about the noise coming from upstairs. The desk attendant took care of the problem. The other problem was no light in the bathroom. Even though I am an AARP member, I got no discount on the room or reduced rate due to the problems I encountered. The breakfast was far from a buffet. I booked this room because of the reviews but I was very disappointed. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southgeorgiachef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear southgeorgiachef,

We would like to first thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise from other guests prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are pleased to see when it was brought to the Front Desk, they were able to address it for you. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your candid comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is what i would expect form a holiday inn express. the brekfast exceeded my expectations. It was awesome. Checkin was quick and easy and front desk cleark was very nice. She recommended a great local resturant for dinner. Pool was a little small but not not terrible. i have seen bigger pools but have seen smaller. My only complaint really is after i check out i saw that i was charged and extra 6 dollars on my card. When i called the hotel to inquire i was told that the charge was for a "bent Hanger" that they found in our room. When i got a little heated and explained that was a little excessive to charge for a bent hanger, she agreed and said she would refund my $6. I have yet to see that refund!! I believe it was just a ploy to get me off the phone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiebvlga, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Tommy G:

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the front desk clerk welcoming. I would, however, like to apologize for the experience over the hanger. I assure you that the matter will be looked into and brought to the general manager's attention.

On behalf of the hotel, we do hope to see you again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

True to its Nature, IHG hotels has once again dome a great job of situating their hotel in a very picturesque location. High in the mountains (on a great road SR19 & SR 129 is the route we took to get here) a nice hotel with friendly staff and great clean rooms with plenty of good choices for breakfast. we got to the complimentary hot and cold food breakfast late expecting to just snatch up some scraps, but were pleasantly surprised to find the foods we wanted and plenty of them. this hotel is clean quiet and very well situated for a visit to the town and or anything else you want to do in this area, we will definitely come back...but next time on our motorcycles...woohoo!!

Room Tip: in the morning you will see hazy fog clouding the mountain view it usually burns off and clears up b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rock R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice hotel with a decent free breakfast. A very nice public golf course is behind the hotel. No restaurant but a breakfast room with a decent free breakfast. Hotel is centrally located on route 515.

Room Tip: No real preference for location of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacnMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice big room, clean, good tv, bathroom clean, decent breakfast included.
Entry is right on the highway, small sign at the roadside, you can see the big sign sticking up, easy to miss the little sign.
And go round the back past the community building to see the golf course and a great view.

Nice place to visit too, but I would not be coming here in the winter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The place was fine. However, I booked it because I needed a place to stay the night and do a lot of work, which requires Internet. They couldn't get it working right, so I couldn't do any of my work. When I discussed it with the owner/manager the next morning, he blew me off and said he couldn't refund any money or discount anything because I bought it through Expedia. So, I left and called Expedia and they called the same owner/manager and they asked if he would give me a refund or a discount and he refused. By the way, I have never complained before to a hotel. I don't like to do this and the place was nice. But, if something goes wrong, like terrible Internet where you can't do work and that is why you booked the place, then they should compensate you somehow. I would stay there, but don't expect your complaints to be resolved, and the same goes for Expedia.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syrinxlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Syrinxlee,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairsville
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Milton Inn
BEST WESTERN Milton Inn
#3 of 3 in Blairsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
20.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blue Ridge
12.7 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#3 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#1 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
19.1 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 90 Fisher St, 333 Fisher Street(For Gps Only), Blairsville, GA 30512-3031 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Blairsville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Blairsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Blairsville Hotel is nestled in the beautiful North Georgia Mountains. We are located in downtown Blairsville and conveniently adjacent to Butternut Creek Golf Course which is one of the area's finest public golf courses featuring 6,536 yards of dramatic fairways. You'll find comfort and Southern hospitality while enjoying fresh air and amazing scenery at our hotel. Our hotel is in close proximity to Brasstown Bald, Helton Creek Falls, Lake Nottely, Lake Chatuge, the Appalachian Trail and the Chattahoochee National Forest. After a long day of work or play, unwind in our indoor heated swimming pool or in one of our king Jacuzzi suites. Our hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, free local calls, high-speed wireless Internet, refrigerator in all rooms, guest laundry and our luxurious comfortable bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Blairsville Hotel Blairsville
Holiday Inn Blairsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing