We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for adventure weekend with friends”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blairsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vogel State Park Campground
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location for adventure weekend with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in one of the cottages with friends for the weekend. We love to ride bikes and Vogel is in the midst of some challenging and beautiful cycling. Some nice places to hike nearby, as well. We stayed in a 2-bedroom cottage which had four beds and 2-1/2 baths. Plenty of space for four people. The cottage is dated but very clean with plenty of linens, dishes, etc. The grounds are very well kept. Cottage #28 had a fire pit we enjoyed.
Also nearby are some vineyards. We particularly enjoyed Frogtown Winery.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kellir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
193 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I'll do a separate review on the state park itself. This is specifically for the campground.

The campground is basically divided into two sections: the older "front" part, and the newer "back" or "uppoer" part. We stayed in the front part on this trip.

We have a 30' travel trailer, and had numerous issues in the front part of the park. Many of the intersections have extremely sharp turns, with trees in the corners. This makes it challenging to turn in several places. 5th wheels may not have as much of a problem. While several of the spots are picture perfect, most of them create problems.

For instance, spot #2, which is a pull-through, directly across from the bath house, is a picture perfect spot: level, good spacing, not too tight, entry and exit on a straight-away. There are a couple of these in the front part of the campground, but far too few. Others, like #14, have steep entry or exit paths, which cause scrubbing. Ours was #10. From the road (in the dark - more on this later), the spot looked very promising. It had a slight entry incline and steep exit decline, but nothing our truck could not handle. As I pulled into the spot, we found the problem: there was a tree "hidden" behind another one, which would keep me from being able to pull forward and through with the trailer. Unfortunately, we scrubbed pretty hard getting into the spot (on the asphalt roadway), and I couldn't easily back out, either. We stayed here, and the spot was nice, other than the entry and exit woes. It took us over an hour to negotiate backing out of the spot, because we had to build bridges from our levelers and boards provided by the camp host (he said this is common, and from the scars on the roadway, I can believe it). There was absolutely no way for me to pull forward.

Almost all of the campsites have the water and electric connections in the middle of the site, so make sure you can either park your rig where it'll reach (regarding hills, etc), or make sure you have a long enough electrical cable and water hose. Ours was just long enough without needing an extension, in both cases.

The front-most bath house is decent. We were there when it was very very cold, and the bath house was acceptably warm. The showers get very hot, and there are two of them in the mens' room, as well as two sinks (I don't think the sinks are hooked up for hot water, though), two toilets, and one urinal. It is cleaned regularly, and was not unpleasant at all.

We were camped near the ball field and playground, with a creek running right next to our campsite. It was beautiful and peaceful, even though our site was pretty close to another, back-in, behind us.

Although the campground says that basically all of it's sites are big enough for 40' rigs, take that with a serious grain of salt. Probably 25% of them are big enough for that size, with most being good for 20-25' rigs, and probably another 1/4 of them only big enough for pop-ups or tents. The campground map tries to point out some of this, but it is inadequate to the task. Add to this that, if you are unfamiliar with the roadways in the park, coming in at night was a mistake for us. We were immediately turned around in the dark, and finding a spot that would accommodate our modest rig was obviously a problem for us. If you show up during the day, you shouldn't have nearly as many issues as we did.

The dump station is straightforward and easy to use (and clean up after using it). The garbage cans are all bear-proof designs, with small openings. If you need to put a lot of garbage away, use the trailer next to the bath house, or make sure it's in several kitchen-sized garbage bags, so you can fit them into the opening.

Check-in and check-out were both a breeze, with friendly staff. The camp store is pretty well stocked, with both provisions, and touristy stuff (hiking medallions, t-shirts, hats, magnets, etc).

They have cabins for rent, as well. These are very nice, for the most part (friends of ours stayed in a cabin during our trip, so we visited them). Some are bigger than others, but all are well furnished, from what we are told, and seem to be cozy.

We really enjoyed the park, and while we were there camping, we had a really good time. Only setup and moving out were the problems, and we weren't the only ones with issues. We will stay here again, I'm sure, but we'll make sure to get here during the day, so we can pick out a better site for our rig than the one we had.

Room Tip: Find your spot during the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tfuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maitland, florida
Level Contributor
305 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This review encompasses 3 of my visits so you can get a feel for the different times of year and the different kinds of weather you can experience. These photo's will give you a great taste of what to expect. First off Cabin #35 is the best on the property. It is the ONLY direct Lake front private cabin in the park. I continue to go back to this park over and over. I continue to explore this park during every season of the year. It is so mind blowing how I have never had the same experience twice while visiting this park. The different seasons make the park even more exciting because you never know what the unpredictable weather on Blood Mountain will do that day. My favorite is when the fog descends upon the lake like some mystical movie set. I have hiked all of the trails they offer and you can get your exercise climbing to the top elevations. During the spring I absolutely promise you will not want to go back home. I am fortunate to travel mid-week so I rarely encounter crowds therefore making my experience that much more delightful. There are few places I will brag over and over about and this is one of them. Athe other is Providence Canyon in Lumkin Georgia, another rare find of mine.

Room Tip: Cabin #35 is the best in the park. Try to go mid-week it is always sold out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mpeacock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Bluff, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Rustic campsites, lake, cabins, store, waterfall, stream. We love "in the woods" camping and Vogel is one of the campgrounds we have found for this feature. Mountain setting and great leaf viewing in the fall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here with our Boy Scout troop on our way back to Florida from Summer camp in Virgnia. The camp ground was packed full and families were having a blast! The youth camp area was huge and we had a little bit of a hike, but it was OK. The have rv, tent, and cabins available. The park offers lots to do including hiking, boating, fishing, swiming, and more!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

This is my 3rd trip to Vogel. I usually travel to this area during cool/cold weather to avoid crowds but May was fine too. The cabins are a bit older but that's part of their charm. There is a mini golf course, CCC museum, huge lake, small waterfall and plenty of hiking trails. The staff is great. Of my 3 visits it has always been peaceful and quiet. Only the occasional sounds of a semi winding through the mountains. Already planning my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRoss25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Great place to camp. Lots of activities for the family. We stayed in site 30. Quiet private lot. Bathhouse was ok. There was at least hot water. Wolf Creek loop looks like the most popular loop for RV's, but you have to get to the campsite early to grab a site on that loop.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairsville
7.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Milton Inn
BEST WESTERN Milton Inn
#3 of 3 in Blairsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
11.6 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#2 of 18 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
15.4 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#1 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
16.2 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#3 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vogel State Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vogel State Park Campground

Property: Vogel State Park Campground
Address: 7485 Vogel State Park Road, Blairsville, GA 30512
Location: United States > Georgia > Blairsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Blairsville
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Vogel State Park Campground Hotel Blairsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing