We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”

Cooks Country Kitchen
Ranked #17 of 73 Restaurants in Blairsville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pelzer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The food was good but a certain lady was not a good server. My husband and I needed a refill on coffee. I told our server that we would like more coffee. She got the pots and set them down on an empty table next to ours and took a plate of food to a regular customer - she started talking to them and after a while I finally got up and poured our coffee.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    38
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I'm from the south so I have high expectations of southern food. Right off its looks like a cafeteria but the food is really good! The prices are very reasonable and there was a lot of space for my family of 6. The bread pudding is to die for! If we come back to blairsville we will absolute come back to the cookie jar again!

Helpful?
Thank 1erikabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mixed...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

My experiences with food at Cooks have been mixed...have been there twice. First time, had a great burger...the next a not-so-great lunch buffet. The mashed potatoes had undercooked chunks of potato mixed in...green beans tasted straight out of the can...and squash casserole was bitter.
The service for us was not friendly, but the place was full of locals who the staff seem to know and provide better service. Our server waited on other booths and chatted with friends while we could not get refills or a package of mayo we'd asked for.
The prices are very good and you can get a decent lunch...but don't expect to feel at home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cynth901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad Service & Unfriendly Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

The staff here were not friendly at all. Upon entering the restaurant, we were not greeted so stood there and waited to be seated. In the mean time, a lady and man came in behind us. They knew we were there first but the server escorted them to the next available table. We were left standing there, when someone sitting at a table, yelled, :Sit anywhere you want." We finally found a seat and decided to eat from their buffet, which was a bad mistake, The girl serving the food acted like she was doing us a favor when we asked a question about an item, We didn't know what it was, so we asked. The food was just barely warm and not seasoned at all. The server never came back and asked if everything was ok nor did she refill our drinks. Once we were finished, we had to go to the register to get our check, because nobody brought it to us. We were made to feel like we weren't even there, Not a warm friendly atmosphere at all and the food wasn't good either. We won't be going back there to eat!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomNMary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy Christmas Eve breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

My family was vacationing in Union County during Christmas break and wanted to go out for breakfast one morning, instead of cooking. My mother-in-law wanted country ham especially. We picked the right place! The ham was good and salty and the pieces we got were huge. The biscuits were light and the hash browns very tasty. The coffee wasn't too strong and the waitress never let it get below a half a cup. The view from our table was fabulous! The mountains were covered with thick frost. Next time I'm in Blairsville, I'd go back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank suebg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooks Country Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Cooks Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing