We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the store very much!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blairsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store
New England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the store very much!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This review is for the store part of the property. We stopped in just on a whim. Had a nice chat with the proprietor and enjoyed petting the cats. I bought a few touristy items (magnet, postcards, etc). A lot of the store is dedicated to rocks/collecting. Not my particular cup of tea, but definitely worth a visit. Gorgeous views everywhere.

Also, ask the owner about the falls just down the road. They're visible after a very short trek off a country lane. Beautiful!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gala62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late Friday night on Fathers Day weekend, the key for the cabin was waiting for us near the store. The cabin was warm and clean, full fridge, oven, microwave. We hiked 21 miles of the AT 14 of them being on Sunday, the temperature at the start of our hike was 15 degrees. It was nice coming back to a nice warm shower and building a nice fire. We'll definitely be back and would recommend Blood Mountain Cabins to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jtobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hiking north on the AT, this was our first stop, and after sever days of rain, a hot shower and a dry bed was all we wanted. Instead, we also got a kitchen, and a cool mountain store stocked with pizza, hiker snacks, books, locally made food, and laundry service. All with warm, helpful hospitality. Split three ways, it was a $20 night. Wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I live in Atlanta and I bike up in the 6 gap region all the time so I had been wanting to stay at these cabins for some time. Everything, from the first call to the checkout was fantastic. The cabins are rustic but well put together and the views (depending on the cabin you choose) are fantastic. One of the best things for us was the fact that you can walk on a small trail strait to the AT, that was SO nice. No need to drive at all, just wander on over.

The cabins were well stocked with pots and pans and silverware and it was really nice to have a fireplace to build a fire in. One word of warning, the wood they have for the fires (if you want to do it) is in fair sized splits, so you'll likely want to bring a small hatchet to split off some kindling and tinder. Overall the experience was amazing, we stayed at a nice resort a bit further north the next night and definitely both wish we had just booked an extra night at the cabin instead. We're planning on coming back for weekend getaways a lot more often.

One word of warning, because the roads snake around and there are so many motorcycles who love to ride the area, if you're really sensitive about road noise you might want to pick one of the cabins down by the creek. You'll sacrifice the views but it might be quieter. It didn't bother us at all, but I can definitely see someone who was really sensitive about it being a bit put out.

If you're looking for something rustic and romantic, it's a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We just had a family reunion spanning the Beaver, Fox, Squirrel, and Raccoon cabins. We had a wonderful time! The cabins are roomy enough for a family of four (me, my wife, and our two children ages 3 and 6). The amenities are great, the cabins were tidy and well furnished and the scenery was beautiful. It was nice being able to cook a full meal using the range and provided grill in the back. We ate in for nearly every meal. George is a wonderful host, and extremely knowledgeable about the area. He was immensely helpful, even changing out our laundry for us while we were out.

Road Noise: I've read some comments about the road noise, so I'll address that. Yes, if you're there over the weekend, the local roads are part of what is called the "Six Gap", which is a destination spot for sports cars and motorcyclists (me being the latter) so you can expect some road noise. This usually occurs during daylight hours, but you may hear a bike or truck transiting the pass after dark every so often. If this bothers you, you can talk to George and he'll be happy to help you into a more secluded, quieter cabin. We were able to ignore it and it never really bothered us during the stay.

Creatures: We didn't see any mice in the cabin, but we had some hornets that George was kind enough to "handle" for us. We also had some baby birds in a nest that were fun to watch. I'd guess mice start to move in during the colder months (like they do everywhere else in the world) but it wasn't a problem for us. We had a black bear visit the area on our last night, but he seemed to just be passing through.

Location: The location is great since Blairsville (with a wonderfully well stocked Ingles grocery store) is a 20 minute drive. The Sunrise grocery store has great fresh produce and a highly detailed local map. They also sell ethanol-free gas if youre so inclined. There are tons of outdoor activities in the area, from tubing and cycling, to swimming in waterfalls and hiking the Appalachian trail. Talk to George and he'll tell you all of the best places to go! (Did we mention George was awesome?) there are also some great fishing holes nearby if you like catching Rainbow Trout.

In summary, we had a winderful time and we were depressed to leave. But we have plans to go back again next year, and we will all be counting the days until then!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed just one night at beaver and loved it! It is a more secluded cabin, so we weren't bothered by any road noise. The wonderful noise of the little stream that ran right by the cabin was all we heard when we ate dinner and breakfast on the back porch.
We didn't have any mice problems. Maybe the three cute cats that hang around have helped out with this issue! The orange one is especially friendly.

The owners are also wonderful. They gave useful tips about the best hikes to hit on our day trip. As we were leaving, our car was making funny noises, so we were nervous about driving the hour and a half back home. When we mentioned our concern to the woman working in the shop when we checked out, she got her husband, who is also an amateur mechanic, and he drove around with us listening for the noise to see if he could diagnose the problem. Of course, the car then stopped making the noise and the car seemed to be just fine, but we felt much better that the owner took the time to try to help us with an issue not at all related to our cabin rental. We will definitely stay there again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Amazing cabins, very clean and very modern ... after the first 30 miles hiking the A.T through rain and hail ... dry clothes, hot shower and a warm bed was just what the doctored ordered ... Country store was well stocked, sold alot of much needed hiker snacks and killer homeade jelly ... very cool items to buy and send home to kids or for yourself ... Owner's were very nice and i would highly recommend this place for a vacation base camp or hiker's thru hiking as their first stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairsville
18.2 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#3 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
10.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Milton Inn
BEST WESTERN Milton Inn
#3 of 3 in Blairsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
6.6 mi away
Paradise Hills Resort & Spa
Paradise Hills Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Blairsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Blairsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store

Property: Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store
Address: 12829 Gainesville Hwy, U.S. Hwy. 19 & 129, Neel's Gap, Blairsville, GA 30512-7635
Location: United States > Georgia > Blairsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Blairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cabins are at a 3,000 foot elevation and the temperature never gets over 81 in the summer. We are next to the Appalachian Trail and surrounded by waterfalls and beautiful drives. Some cabins are on secluded roads and one is on the river. Some have jacuzzi tubs for 2 people. The owners are available to help you find the activities you want such as: fishing, tubing, hiking,& swimming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blood Mountain Cabins And Country Store
Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store Hotel Blairsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing