We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST BBQ I've ever eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jim's Smokin' Que

Jim's Smokin' Que
Ranked #2 of 72 Restaurants in Blairsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mom & Pop restaurant...great pulled pork sandwiches & baby back ribs AND consistently GOOD!
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The BEST BBQ I've ever eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Jim's Smokin' Que is far and away the best barbecue I've ever eaten. I've had their ribs, pulled pork, BBQ chicken and a number of their sides and desserts. Everything is outstanding. Jim and Donna Guess have created a food magnet here in Blairsville, because the place is always packed. They are only open Thursday, Friday and Saturday so plan accordingly. I've never been there when there isn't a line waiting to sample their food, but the wait is never too long and you'll soon know all the people around you as they are all friendly. The portions are large, delicious and the price is amazingly small for what you get. Staff are personable and courteous. It's a must try if you're ever in the mountains of North Georgia.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTwoHerrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    75
    28
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murphy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

I am not much of a BBQ enthusiast but this place is hands down by far the best! Their food is always hot, fresh, and bursting with flavor. The staff is super friendly and goes to every measure to ensure a wonderful dining experience.

I have even used Jim's for catering which turned out to be the best idea ever. Everyone LOVED the food and I didn't have to cook for 20 people. That is always a bonus.

I HIGHLY recommend anyone wanting spectacular BBQ to give Jim's a try. You won't be sorry. I will warn you though...Jim's will ruin your BBQ taste buds...you won't want to eat at any other restaurant after this one and will drive hundreds of miles to eat there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenntchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

My wife and I are full-time RVrs and foodies as well. We have traveled from coast to coast searching out the best BBQ. Jim's has it covered in every type of barbecued meat. One of my favorites is their beef brisket. I've never had better, even in Texas! They prepare their meats dry rubbed, but if you like it wet, their home made sauces are the perfect complement. Don't miss this place on your way to the smokies this fall.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Go early.....excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Go early. Open only Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 11am-8pm. Such quality food! Great, friendly people! Best sauce I've ever had....take a bottle home. Generous servings. GO!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank PeggyS30024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge,
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best ribs and sauce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Ribs have nice crunch on outside and are tender and flavorful. They are thick with meat
There are three sauces regular, sweet and hot. All are excellent. Four miles out of town but we'll worth the nice drive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank drivestregis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim's Smokin' Que also viewed

 

Been to Jim's Smokin' Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing