We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give Yourself an Afternoon of Pleasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gibbs Gardens

Gibbs Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 220 acres of artistically landscaped gardens surrounded by majestic forest, spring-fed ponds, streams, waterfalls and bridge crossings. Sixteen garden venues include four feature gardens including the Daffodil Gardens, 50 acres of daffodils with more than 20 million blooms, blooming from March to mid-April; the Manor House Gardens, designed to offer color in spring, summer and fall, with lush terraces, waterfalls, sweeping lawns and woodland; the Monet Waterlily Gardens, featuring 140 varieties of waterlilies blooming from late spring through fall; the Japanese Gardens spanning more than 40 acres with spring-fed ponds, islands, bridges, boulders, rocks and 40 handcrafted Japanese lanterns. A large collection of Japanese maples provide brilliant colors in autumn. We welcome you to visit the Gardens at least once every three weeks, from March through mid-December, to see its ever changing beauty. While you're here enjoy a bite to eat from our Arbor Cafe, ride our tram through the perimeter of the Gardens and don't leave us without stopping in The Seasons gift store to pick up a gift for a loved one or that special friend.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Give Yourself an Afternoon of Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Driving through the delightful horse farm country, Gibbs Gardens is just under an hour's drive from Roswell. Landscape Architect Jim Gibbs has spent thirty years developing 220 acres of sixteen well-planned gardens and woodlands that seem like they pop out naturally. The gardens are designed to bring visitors out all during the year (March-Nov.). We had no idea that this was the largest Japanese garden in the U.S with 2000 Japanese maples.. You can't go anywhere without the sounds of water--babbling brooks, waterfalls & meandering streams. It's truly beautiful with weeping willows that grace ponds with coy fish and colorful boulders. The trams now has two new trucks. However, they only go to two spots--the entrance to the Japanese Gardens and the Manor House. Paths are dirt/gravel so a scooter could go on them. Plan a trip by coming to 7 free concerts or cooking events and you'll really have a grand experience. Glad they put an ad in the local paper and had a special Japanese event to lure us out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AwesomeladyUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    76
    22
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Welcoming & Very Scenic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is was our first time to Gibbs Gardens - I hadn't heard of it until I saw an ad in the newspaper a few weeks ago. (Old school ads still work - who knew?!) It was a very easy drive from Smyrna - around 40 min I think. You're greeted by beautiful & abundant mixtures of planters/flowers as soon as you walk up to the welcome center. Plenty of friendly staff were there as well if you need them. ($20 per person but keep your ticket b/c later if you decide to buy a yr pass they will deduct that amt from the price. Nice.) The welcome center/gift shop are nice but seem too small on a crowded Saturday. The landscaping is fantastic - the whole property is very well maintained. But what I like most is the variety - there are so many trees - so glad they didn't get too happy w/ the chainsaw. It's like going on a hike - minus the steep inclines & wondering if you're going to get lost. The main house is on a hill but it's a very easy climb (though there is a tram for those who need it - $5 extra I think). The Japanese Garden seemed to be the heart of the attraction & where most people congregated & took photos - and for good reason: it's beautiful! The other features are various ponds, waterfalls, bridges & sculptures scattered throughout the property. Another great thing that might be taken for granted are benches - plenty of places to sit & take in the scenery. We were there for about 2 hrs but I love being outside & could have stayed another hour or two to be honest. And there is a cafe (with plenty of outdoor tables & chairs) but we didn't partake. Overall I would definitely recommend going because it is very welcoming & scenic. I have a feeling that they are going to keep growing & will one day be on the list of go to gardens that everyone knows about. But I hope they keep the welcoming feel & it doesn't become too overdone (ie: The Biltmore in Asheville NC).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Goochorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Georgia Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a relatively new attraction that opened in 2012. It is a superb addition to the experiences available to nearby and not so close communities. In our case, having heard about it on PBS, we had a 3 hour drive but it was well worthwhile.

Access is via GA400 or the I75/I575 system. One day admission is $20, $18 for seniors with an available discounted four season pass. Certainly, to see all the natural beauty of the shrubs and flowers, visits at different seasons are a must.

It is a 30 year in the making 220 acre landscaping masterpiece by Mr. Jim Gibbs, a now retired landscaping business owner from Atlanta. Very roughly, it divides into two sections, the Valley Gardens and the Manor house. Dotted throughout are spring fed pools and streams, some with water lilies including a re- creation of of Monet's bridge at Giverny.

Taking it all in involves lots of walking but the terrain is not terribly difficult even for seniors like us. We also paid extra to take the two available tram rides and recommend mixing the two methods. The tram of course is a boon for those with physical challenges.

Simple but delicious snacks are available at reasonable prices with the specialty breads used available for sale to take home.

We will be back

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mgriff41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The first time we visited the gardens, two years ago, we were so impressed, we bought the season pass. We have not regretted it., and purchased the pass again this year. Gibbs Gardens is very well kept, beautifully laid-out, and changes with the seasons. Besides the landscaping and flowers, Gibbs offers various events, such as strolling musicians, orchestras, and gardening seminars. So, one visit will definitely not be enough for garden enthusiasts.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SpiceOfLife60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A superb bit of landscaping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

These gardens are spectacular. They have been carefully integrated into their woodland setting and sit happily there not arguing with their backdrop but enhancing it beautifully.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank UJH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibbs Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Gibbs Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing