We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont bother”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Bainbridge South
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bainbridge
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dont bother”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

the first room had the toilet turned off at the wall... we quickly found out why when we turned it on.. it ran non stop. the desk attendant gave us another room that had a used tampon in the trash.. beyond disgusting. The whole place is in need of some TLC. The clerk on duty was as helpful as she could be and seemed embarrassed over the whole situation

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    18
    20
    27
See reviews for
39
14
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I don't know where to begin. Half of the hotel had been abandoned. Horrible rooms. This hotel was given to us by a client. They probably don't know what a dump it is. They will. My wife went out and bought bathroom cleaner and cleaned the place herself. Filthy old smelly dilapidated. I wouldn't put my dog in one of these rooms. Write this place off. The lazy stupid owner should be ashamed. But stupid is as stupid does. I will never stay here again. Even if someone else is paying for it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Critic53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort myers,florida,usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have been coming to this place for about twenty something years. It has went from good to unliveable. Big roaches, black spiders, trashy drawers, serious plumbing problems. Will not be coming back any more. They stated about new renovations all lies. Everything they advertised is a lie. Please read reviews before booking your rooms. Run for your life. They treat you nasty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p00kie239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

When we arrived, the person behind the desk was VERY rude. She refused to speak, even after saying hello twice. So I moved on to business, but honestly I wanted to just leave, but all the other hotels were booked. But that place needs MAJOR upgrades..the stay was quite uncomfortable. I wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pricethehotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The rooms were dirty and the bathrooms looked as if there was dirt on the walls. We learned that was how they'd been painted. We had to be moved because of the poor lighting. The room we moved to wasn't much better. We opened the fridge in one of the rooms and a live bug ran out. The staff there were friendly and helpful and the price was right but we'll never stay again until the owners clean it up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole Skinner J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I admit I have a soft spot for the older "motor lodge"-type hotels with large pools situated on wide grasy lawns (remember those?) Charter House Inn is such a place - originally built as a classic roadside Holiday Inn. It looked well kept and the check-in staff was friendly and helpful. But the room was dingy, worn out, and very beat up! Worst of all, the a/c unit was unacceptably loud. I could see into other rooms along the corridor which were nicely remodeled, but they were about $10 more. The clerk graciously moved me to a newer room (facing the courtyard ) without any additional charge.

Then night came, and it seemed everyone in town was in the hotel's bar. I found out the next morning that what I had witnessed was "wing night" (what does that tell you?) . All the smoking patrons hung out by the pool patio late onto the night/early morning; needless to say they were drunk and loud...and couldn't care less. I would have loved to have back that unacceptably loud a/c to drone out the noise! The new room's a/c didn't have a constant fan-only setting, so I had to keep the temperature blasting cold in order to keep the fan going to drown out the drunks. A very cold and noisy night. My advice: ask for a renovated room far away from the hot wings!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Bad service checking in and horrible checking out, shower doesn't have curtains, you can receive calls in the room, filthy rooms and to top it off there was a coffee maker but no coffee
Oh forgot the pice is NOT $48 it's actually $69 at least it was the special for the night.
This hotel was recommended by the locals while I was in town foe business just because it had a bar with $1 wings....hmmmmm it makes me wonder about those wings now.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bainbridge
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Bainbridge
Quality Inn Bainbridge
#4 of 7 in Bainbridge
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bainbridge
Hampton Inn Bainbridge
#1 of 7 in Bainbridge
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bainbridge
Days Inn Bainbridge
#5 of 7 in Bainbridge
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bainbridge
21.7 mi away
EconoLodge Donalsonville
EconoLodge Donalsonville
#1 of 2 in Donalsonville
15 reviews
23.3 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Bainbridge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Bainbridge South

Property: Howard Johnson Bainbridge South
Address: 1401 Tallahassee Hwy, Bainbridge, GA 31717 (Formerly Charter House Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Bainbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bainbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Bainbridge South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Bainbridge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing