We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blackstones Reef And Grill - CLOSED

Blackstones Reef And Grill
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Welcome to Blackstones Reef And Grill. Blackstones serves up Zephyrhills finest foods. At Blackstones every dish is created using only the freshest, finest ingredients. We serve only the choicest meats and seafood, freshest vegetables and our Bavarian Honey Wheat Mini Loaves of bread that are baked fresh daily. Our award winning menu and attention to detail, create a truly enjoyable dining experience.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Been back. Three times great service great meal every time.loved it will be back often. We miss the salad bar to but great service and great food more than makes up for it.

Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl M, Owner at Blackstones Reef And Grill, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
As you have visited recently, you have experienced the great items that our new chef (Jimmy) is creating every day. There are more wonderful things to come, as you will see with continuing visits.

Thank you for the kind words. We are all working very hard, front and back of house, to give our guests the most enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    41
    23
    11
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO HERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

The food is terrible at best. They have no idea how to cook or to properly season anything. This place needs to close ASAP.

Helpful?
1 Thank BDSHANK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl M, Owner at Blackstones Reef And Grill, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Your review states that you last : Visited June 2014 And your review was posted August 3rd.
As nearly two months have passed there have been many changes implemented since you were last here.

We have a new chef (Jimmy) that is creating wonderful daily features, both lunch and dinner.
We are coming out with a new menu that centers around "Fresh". Please check our website and Facebook for more information pertaining to the new menu and perhaps you will decide to try us again with a new outlook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible Fish and Chips”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We decided to give Blackstones another try a few weeks ago on a Friday night. We ordered fish and chips. I asked what kind of fish they were serving, and was told it was Alaskan white fish. Is that the same as pollack? It was the worst tasting fish I have ever had. It tasted old and freezer burnt. The breading was not well done, like raw dough inside. I couldn't eat it. The chips were big logs of hard, undercooked potato. I had to ask for lemon and vinegar. The vegetable of the day was broccoli. It was almost uncooked. Very hard and unseasoned. Even the drink special was terrible. It was a huge strawberry margarita. There couldn't have been any alcohol in it. It was like drinking an over sweet slurpy. It was sickning. The waitress was very nice, She replaced my drink with a regular margarita. The service was excellent, however we will not go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prutkoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl M, Owner at Blackstones Reef And Grill, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your insightful review. We have made changes and there will be more in the near future. We are working very hard to move this restaurant out of the 1980's and into the Twenty First Century. By the way, it is 2014.

Thanks for the kind words about the staff, atmosphere and food. I hope you choose to dine with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zephyrhills fl
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“NO MORE SALID BAR”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We loved going to dinner and enjoyed their Salid Bar. With the Re modeling they removed the Salid Bar....now you get a choice of soup /or salid.......My choice is to drive a little further and get a nice SALID bar. The food remains fair....same menus as the past 20years and many different owners. Ruby Tuesday and Sonny's will be our night out restaurant and the girls lunch spot now.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deecatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl M, Owner at Blackstones Reef And Grill, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Last May (2013) we refitted the salad bar with new refrigeration. I prayed long and hard before I spent $7000.00 to do it. When the salad bar was destroyed from water damage during the January fire I knew the Good Lord was telling me that the time had come to be done with it.

We are finding that guests are enjoying the fact that they do not have to get up and serve themselves. We are making our soups again and offer the choice of soup or salad. We also serve Bavarian Honey Wheat bread at the table.

Now that we have our full kitchen back, we are fine tuning the menu and our new chef is putting out some spectacular specials.

Wishing you a great dining experience, wherever you choose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
2 reviews
“New chef - better food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Went there for the first time since the fire June 12 - Service has always been (especially if you have Mindy as your waitress) but the food quality and taste has improved greatly --- not to say it wasn't good before -- just better. Better hold on to this chef!!!!!! We'll know the dfferrence.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank franpv2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl M, Owner at Blackstones Reef And Grill, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We all share in reading/hearing the reviews and one like yours always lifts the spirits of everyone here.

We do have a new chef with wonderful new ideas.
I hope you return soon to try another one of his great creations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackstones Reef And Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing