We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Sonny's”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #2 of 92 Restaurants in Zephyrhills
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Zephyrhills, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love Sonny's”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Pork BBQ is out of this world. Tender and jucy. The ribs are also the best around. Clean restaurant, great food and great service

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jokramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    62
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rip Off!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This Sonny's overcharged me on my order in the amount of $10.00 which I did not realize until after leaving the restaurant. For 3 months I have been trying to get them to refund the overcharge. They acknowledged the overcharge and blamed it on a new employee not knowing what she was doing - poor training I surmise. They said it would be too difficult for them to simply refund the difference to my credit card. I have been promised gift cards and refund checks and have received neither. I finally disputed the transaction with my financial institution and they told me today that Sonny's was giving them the same run around they had given me for months. My financial institution has decided it was not worth any more of their time and refunded the money themselves taking the loss to show good customer service - something Sonny's could learn a lesson about. Based on this horrible experience, I will never patronize this eatery again! In my book, they are thieves.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Guest Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
As an update to your review, Cheryl - we want to note that we looked into what happened and provided you with a $10 gift card. And then when hearing from you the gift card might have not been functioning properly, we sent you a check for $10. We're sorry to hear this happened to you, and assure you it is not company policy, or something that happens regularly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
637 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“A MUST GO IN ZEPHYRHILLS!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

When visiting family in the area we always make a special trip to visit Sonny's. Good atmosphere, friendly staff and good food. You won't walk away hungry here. I'm not a huge fan of BBQ, but there are enough alternative options on the menu. BBQ is very good and the portions are great. I had a Dixon Burger and it was cooked to perfection! Be warned, when you order a drink...they are HUGE! If your in the area, make sure to check out Sonny's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMC_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a Winner!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our local Sonny's Restaurant is a jewel in this little town. Food tastes great, is a great value and we've always had great waiters and waitresses-very personable. We visit often.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Barbecue Eatery”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The menu has only a few pages - but this is a good sign, as they can concentrate on fewer dishes but make them right. I will definitely go there again! Pulled pork is my choice!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oliver964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing