We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a walk in downtown Havana ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of FLACO'S CAFE - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
FLACO'S CAFE
Cuisines: American, Cuban, Caribbean, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: 5347 Gall Boulevard Zephyrhills, FL 33542 (813) 788-3585
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Like a walk in downtown Havana ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've been going to Flaco's since they opened...and have always enjoyed the place... The owners, Felix and his wife Becky always make you feel welcome and at home... Their food is authentic and quite good... Love thier breakfast special... and it can't be beat for $3.99 they will prepare your homefries any way you like.. and the Cuban toast is just right... the eggs always come out to "order".. and they use Navier Coffee... the oldest coffee roaster in the USA.. located here in Ybor City... I'm quite surprised to hear the negative reviews...maybe they were when they first opened and had to work out the bugs... of course you can not please all the people all the time... but in a "Small" town...like Zephyrhills... you have do do something right to say in business...for over six years... owning restaurants myself... I know what hard work it takes to keep people coming back.... and they are hitting the mark everyday... cause even during low season (summertime) the tables are always filled.... If you want a taste of old world "Cuba" then head over to Flaco's.... on US 301 in Z-Hills.. and thell them Larry "The Wizard" sent you.... you'll be glad you did... ;-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sad lunch story”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had lunch there today...the servers were actually running....media noche sandwich was dry, black beans obviously heated out of a can without any spices; and when clearing the finsihed plates the server spilled half the food onto my dining companion becuase he was in such a hurry. At the register a different server literally threw a ticket holder towards the stack near my arm and hit me instead and said "oops". Bad food, poor service, nothing to redeem itself.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dijah17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Local Cuban food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't go back. I have been twice and it failed both times. At breakfast they served an English muffin that was burned black but still served it. At lunch the Cuban bread was not fresh. Skip this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiane01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I'm not local, so I've only been there twice. I had their breakfast special. It's the best! Scramble eggs and Cuban bread are fantastic. Coffee is better than other breakfast restaurants. Service is good. Price is unbelievable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B0jangles4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Regulars to Flaco's Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We're local to Flaco's and eat their often. The service is awesome EVRY TIME. The staff is so friendly in a natural way. Food is equally as good as the service. The portions are large and well cooked. The Cuban dishes are authentic and delicious. The menu has a wide variety of Cuban & American items. Prices are very reasonable. They serve an awesome breakfast too. This is a tough town for eateries 'cause we're very small 6 months of the year and jam packed the other 6. Most folks are retired and watch their spending closely. Flaco's remains busy all year as they have established a year round following. Sounds simple, but it's not in Zephyrhills

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FLACO'S CAFE also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing