We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't let the outside fool you”
Review of Missy's Kitchen - CLOSED

Missy's Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't let the outside fool you”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

While the outside looks a bit suspicious and not all that inviting, we were intrigued by all the cars. A pleasant surprise. Sonya was warm and inviting and explained everything to us. When she found out that we liked watermelon, she went in the back to cut some up for us. $7.49 gets you eggs, cooked the way you want AND your choice of French toast or pancakes along with your drink and the breakfast buffet. I'm glad we stopped and we will put this on our list of Sunday brunch locations.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Saltlifegirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awsome-sauce”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

My compliments to the Missy Team. Breakfast became lunch as seamlessly as a Nascar pit crew. The country fried steak with country gravy was perfection.The squash casserole was a light cheesy bite of heaven. I gave up trying to recreate her mashed red potatoes so creamy you dont need gravy.The roasted chicken is seasoned just right, but save space for her fried chicken. There is a surprising ammount of country style goodness on that buffet bar along with assorted desserts and sweet tea.It is old fashioned country cooking at its best and a huge locals favorite.

Helpful?
Thank payless1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NOT a good experience”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I hate to write negative reviews because I don't think it's fair to criticize one's cooking, especially considering the fact that I didn't have to cook. However, this poor restaurant was not up to par during our visit. We arrived around 10am for breakfast. There are no menus but the nice waitress explained that we could help ourselves to the bar & that eggs, pancakes, & toast could be made to order. My daughter ordered French toast & scrambled eggs, while my husband ordered eggs over easy. When the French toast arrived it was placed on a saucer---only one slice of toast. My husbands eggs were COMPLETELY undercooked! In fact, the egg whites were still the consistency of a raw egg. There was no bacon left on the bar & no and to replenish. The worst part: our bill totaled $37!

Helpful?
3 Thank Keishashae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsland, Georgia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch buffet”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Kind of hidden spot just south of Yulee on 17. Went on the same Saturday as Shrimp Festival down the road in Fernandina. Was pretty crowded which was a good sign.

Not a tremendous selection on the buffet, but the quality is very, very good I think. They have some dang good bread pudding on there as well. Companion had chicken liver plate with frieds. Fries were fresh and very good. Chicken livers were piled very high and were great. Solid value for the money.

Service was nice and attentive.

I will definitely be back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 606zpx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulee, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have been to Missy's Kitchen 3 times. The first visit was about a year or so ago for breakfast. It was ok, nothing special. We decided to go back at a later date and try them for lunch. The food tasted like it was not fresh. The vegetables looked like they came from cans. We stayed away from Missy's Kitchen until 2 weeks ago. People have told us they were really good so we gave it one last shot. We went for breakfast. The servers knew we were waiting on a table and there were a few that needed to be cleared so customers could be seated. They stood around like they were in a daze. We waited a few minutes to see if any of them would clean a table, none of them moved, so we left. That was strike 3 for us. We won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Missy's Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing