We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Good trip with cheerful guide

I did 4D3N with Ahmed. Good food, good tents, sleeping bag, pillows. Guides can speak sufficient... read more

Reviewed May 28, 2018
zakBKK
,
Bangkok, Thailand
via mobile
Great trek.

Positives::- - Fantastic guide (ketchup). Really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about... read more

Reviewed June 20, 2017
NinaLouiseMarshall
,
London
via mobile
Read all 30 reviews
  
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveler rating
18
8
0
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
18
8
0
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful trip base camp days nights tents pillows summit guide hiking rinjani support
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 30 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

I did 4D3N with Ahmed. Good food, good tents, sleeping bag, pillows. Guides can speak sufficient English. They took good care of customers. Overall I enjoy my trip with Ahmed and I made it to the summit!!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank zakBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile

Please don't book your trip to Rinjani with Ahmed. I spent a long time researching the best company to climb Rinjani with, and due to the fact that I was worried about paying a low price and getting a poor service me and my partner decided to go with Ahmed. He was very responsive on WhatsApp and was very nice to us when we met him on the first night. He ensured us that we would be climbing to the summit if Rinjani with his 'team' and that they were great. We were excited and felt like we were in safe hands.

7am the next day came and we were introduced to our guide and another couple who we would be climbing with. Everyone was lovely and we couldn't wait.

The guide wasn't very chatty and couldn't quite understand our English, but it was fine, he kept us fed and watered and we enjoyed the views and the first day of climbing.

On the second day though, everything went wrong. We began to climb early in the morning with the guide, only for him to soon leave us to climb alone. My partner felt a little dizzy and sick after a couple of hours and we had to seek medical attention from other guides on the mountain as ours was nowhere to be seen. Once she began to feel better, we continued our climb only to pass our guide who was sleeping! Many guides told is not to climb alone, but we had come so far already we wanted to reach the summit. As we neared the summit the terrain becomes very very dangerous and without a guide we decided not to continue. As we descended we passed our guide again. He told us it was now too late for us to go to the lake! What!? Why?! He struggled to explain to us in broken English which was really frustrating. When we returned to camp, I noticed on every item of camping equipment that they were all branded 'Bas Trekking'. It turns out Ahmed did not send us with his 'team' he sent us up the mountain with Bas Trekking who were truly awful! We ended up cutting the trip short otherwise we would have to sit at the crater rim for 18 hours until we could descend to Senaru. It was an absolute mess all caused because Ahmed lied to us. When we got back we asked for a refund. He was only happy to refund us the cost of the day that we missed, no compensation for the fact he sent us with another team that wasn't his. Don't trust him, you will regret it. Wholly unprofessional.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Y, Pemilik at Ahmed's Expedition, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2018

Dear Max G,
Thank you very much for your kindly feedback, Apreciated for your negative post, we are all Ahmed Expeditions and the whole team apologize for your bad experiences during your stay on your trekking tour,

It seams like our fault to allocated you into other company else on your tour, in fact on the result really disappointing you, but however it's out from our capabilities,

We do realized that nobody perfect, it could be happen to anyone sometime in our lives we do expect something good but we found something bad at the end,

Concerned to your trip, we really sorry with an other tour company services, difficult for us to searching you reliable of tour company which could serve you nice trip at that time since they only one have a group at the same time that you can share,
We also couldn't arrange and create you great trip since we have no one sign up to our company as the same time as you are, that's way we do allocated you to other company,

We realized that for sharing groups it's really difficult to get a perfect trip, a lot of things are in low condition,

An other side we are glad to refundable of your money to improve of our responsibility!!! Cause we know that our faults,

Finally, we are all thanks fully for your reviews and based on this we will try to fixed of our management services for better in the future,

Best regards
Ahmed Expeditions



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017

Very bad experience I would say, and I don't recommend you guys to choose this company anymore.

Actually his company just like agency, he not a tour-guide for the trekking. His business is grouping tourisms to the real trekking company, so basically he just provides first day pick up you from airport to his hostel, provide one night bed and a breakfast, then asks trekking company bring you to the start point of camp site for trekking, after you finish the trekking, bring you back to airport again.

Therefore the service he provided was easy, but I had very bad services experience from him that I join 2day 1 night trekking package. (Friday pick me from airport, Sunday leave Lombok) He charged me very expensive price, I paid him USD$180 for the 2days 1 night trekking fee as he said my taxi fee can't share with others, as needs to pick me exclusive in airport. Indeed it just USD$150 as I know. Due to I agree that I need exclusively use the car service, I merely accepted the offer. Meanwhile, I also remind him that I need back to airport Sunday on 7:00pm, he also says no problem for it, and he would arrange it properly.

After look back this tour, he just a typical business man, when you ask somethings, he must say Ok Sir! But when you faced any problem, he never proactive help you to solve it out and he always be unreachable!

In first day for trekking, he asks me wake up at 7:00am tomorrow, after finish the breakfast it would be around 7:30am, the car would pick me to the start point, however I wait until 9:00am, the real trekking company still not pick me to the camp, and I had called him 6 times in WhatsApp, he didn’t pickup any call from me! Lucky that another hostel owner saw this unfair situation, the nice guy brought me to his real hostel directly, so Ahmad just said sorry that company was skipped for me. What the shame for him, I paid him so much, but this minor thing he couldn’t arrange it better. Another matter made me mad was he didn't pick up my call, is it good for tourism? Then I wait another 15 mins more, he finally asked his colleague drove the motorbike with me and went to the trekking company to meet the group directly! Since I was started late 1hr and half, the tour guide walked and hiked very fast, I need to use same pace with him, this really bad for ppl trekking from 1000m to 2600m with 6 hours as I couldn't get enough rest!! I really feel exhausted that day! And I couldn't enjoy the atmosphere and environment for Rinjani Volcano!

On next day, due to I need catch 8:00pm flight, and I talked to ahmed many times that I need go to airport before 7:00pm for check-in. Same as bad experience with him again, I leave his hostel at 4:00pm, he says that he has booked a taxi for me, so that I can catch the flight. However this is another lie again, he actually booked share taxi for me!!!! The taxi share with 6 ppl in a tiny car!! And the first destination was Pier! At first, he said would exchange another taxi later. But when 5:15pm, I still in the pier and it really far away from the airport! Original the taxi driver was going to pick up other ppl go to another scenic first, until I shouted to him then he noticed I was extremely angry! What a poor service for this gang of ppl!!! Thus, I tried to call him again, same as usual, he not pick up my call again! So I typed message to him what's wrong for it, then he reluctant to ask the taxi driver brought me to airport directly. However it was 5:40pm already!!! Finally I arrive the airport was 7:35pm and of course I missed the flight check-in time, and airline company not allowed me to check-in. So I was wasted the ticket for this poor service company!

After read this article, I think you would understand why I feel angry and disappointed for this company! Personally I would suggest you find local tour which can provide cheaper price, you don't need to book this bad service on the Internet.

P.S. Don't trust this liar, he didn't kept his promise, he doesn't care you and your schedule, he just wants to earn money. And I have captured all what's app diagnoses for evidence!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Frederick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Y, Pemilik at Ahmed's Expedition, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2018

Dear Frederick
Thank you very much for your post, I have a challenge again by the SHARING GROUP PACKAGE, it is our risk to be perfect in the future,

We do understand to your concern of bad experience on your trip, we will put on my mind about it and really useful to solve it out of our company services condition in the future,

Following of your worst experience, here we do clarify bellow :

1) SHARING GROUP prices :

As we know it's could be various deals that the people can get, that's depending on your quantities condition, as solo travel of course it was not even big issue when you do spending bit more on deal to compare with when you are in a group of more than one, also the rate are going to be different based on the place where you would be picked up from, accommodations and etc,

We do charge you usd 180$ for your self due to pick up service be made from the airport only for your self without any share with anyone else, as we know for this situation, look at the transport costs, it would be same cost even for 1-5person at once, it could be same deals also for the accommodation either,

Regarding of your trekking tour, yes it our fault to allocated you guys to other company else, we do this since it doesn't make sense for our company do arrange of your tour alone due to your budget it doesn't support a lots, there for we do allocated you guys to OTHERS tours company else,

Concerning of your last day transfer, back to the point, the deals of SHARING GROUPS are accommodates in one rules of SHARING GROUPS packages it self, the whole items of services are arrange and schedule at once for everyone in the group that's also included of transfer services, everyone had different of transfer, of course its makes worst of the time to wait, but we have no choice, it is a kind of rules on the SHARING GROUP games,

Honestly this is the REALITY of SHARING GROUPS/ JOINTS TREK CONDITIONS, where every tour agency do corporates each other to collect of the clients to be one, any tour agency who have majority of the clients are the winners on the games who will do arrange of the tour, at this situation honestly dilematic for us putting any judgment and guaranteed that the tour organizers are good or bad,

After all of all let say if I could give some ideas and tips to avoid an error issues of SHARING GROUPS CONDITIONS !!!

Ps: Please minimize of SHARING GROUP PACKAGES /JOINT TREK choices if you have a limit time, it is difficult to predict at what time should be the group will do completed of the tour at ONCE on the last day of completion of the tour in the condition of the group that have different speed and also stamina problems,

You like it or not, the condition of SHARING GROUP /JOINT THE TREK where you will find of yourself will be SHARE with a group from any random different of agency, therefore it's challenge for us to control and distribute of a great services for you, it is complex of errors problems and main complaints are happening by the SHARING SERVICE PACKAGE,

HI RECOMMENDED if you guys could choose of PRIVATE PACKAGE tours with one of your reputable company choices, in order than you could got amazing tour with the best deals!!!


Thank you very much
Regards
Ahmed Expeditions






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017

Did the two day trip to the summit in late August 2016
Was really difficult to chose between all the guides as organizing everything from Europe; with no previous experience in the region (or trekking!)
Ahmed was very responsive by email and phone, arranged a tailored trek just for the two of us (including arranging private pick-up in a remote location on our way back from Gili Trawangan and then again, private transfer to Sengigi after the trek, at no extra cost)
We only had two days and wanted to do the climb to the summit (although usually recommended in at least three days). We had an incredible team of porters and guides with us, which seemed to genuinely care about us having a great time (vs. some of the other groups we bumped into on our way up), cooked great food, prepared a very comfortable camp for the night at the crater, care about the environment (you see so many people leaving garbage behind them, guides throwing stuff in the wild, but never with Ahmed)
By far the most exciting trek we have ever done, the sunrise from the summit is breath taking, specially when it's your birthday !

Go with Ahmed, you will not regret it

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank LaFergs90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

Ahmed is a highly professional and kind person. ahmed and his team made an absolutely wonderful trekking possible to the biggest volcano we have ever climbed!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank matz_matz_matz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews