We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Southern Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Winter Park
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Southern Inn”
Reviewed November 21, 2005

We have family in Maitland and stay at the Park Plaza every chance we get. We love the rooms at the front of the hotel. They have a sitting area and balcony with lots of potted plants to provide privacy between the rooms. It is lovely to enjoy the complementary continental breakfast that is brought to your room on your balcony each morning. The rest of the day, your balcony affords views of all that is going by on Park Avenue. We are not early birds, so noise at night has never been an issue. I guess we're good sleepers too because, if the trains rouse us at all, we fall quickly back to sleep. The rooms have period beds and dressers and wicker furniture in the sitting area. Keep in mind that small inns don't provide the same encapsulated environment that chain hotels do, such as sound-proof rooms - and that is part of their charm.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lpj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    68
    42
    31
    34
See reviews for
49
119
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Championship City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2005

This is supposed to be a 'charming, romantic' hotel. Well, if you like living above a saloon with a bunch of foul-mouthed drunks screaming at the top of their lungs, this place is for you!

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Listenup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winter Park hotels

Petersburg, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2005

We just returned from a 6-day stay at the Park Plaza Hotel in Winter Park, Florida. On the positive side the hotel's location in Winter Park is great, lots of great shops and wonderful restaurants close at hand. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. However, we booked a standard room, which cost over $130. per night and the room was approximately 12 ft X 12 ft. The bathroom was only big enough for one person to fit in at a time. It had a very small sink, which had, separate faucets for hot and cold water. There are no hair dryers in the room. I went down to the desk each morning to borrow a hair dryer, which had to be returned after I used it so it was available for other guests. The worst part of our stay was the trains, which sounded like they were coming through the lobby 3- 4 times per night. Each time they came through they blew their whistles and shook the bed, which woke us up. Even though the location is great I will not return

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank travel111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2005

A Rollins alum so I'm biased... Love the old world charm and connecting balconies... An absolute must for reunion or homecoming... As long as you're there for little sleep and good times, it's perfect... not cheap... will go back again and again...

Helpful?
5 Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2005

A lovely boutique hotel on the inside with good balconies and charm BUT even if you have a room on the street side (ie not the rail side) you will be woken every one or two hours by trains blaring their horns as they pass through Winter Park. The rail track isn't fenced so each and every train has to use its horn as it passes through. Each train made our room shake - Sleep was impossible. Plus the restaurant opposite had noisy clients outside it until 2.30am. An expensive stay and no decor could make up for the way we felt next day!

Helpful?
20 Thank JT_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 17, 2003

A nice traditional hotel in the action near Rollins. Lots of upscale shops and restaurants. DO NOT get a room on the railroad track side. I did. It was reminiscent of the scene from "My Cousin Vinny" where the 4:30 AM rolled through, whistle blaring, and knocking me out of bed. It also happened at 12:40 AM, 2:15 AM and 3:30.

  • Stayed August 2000, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Park
The Alfond Inn
#1 of 2 in Winter Park
700 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Downtown
#158 of 337 in Orlando
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park

Property: Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park
Address: 307 S Park Ave, Winter Park, FL 32789-7010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Plaza Hotel, built in 1922, on the famous Park Avenue in the old downtown Winter Park, is a unique and intimate vintage boutique hotel. Personal service and genuine hospitality is the tradition of the 28 room Park Plaza Hotel. Stay in a cozy one-of-a-kind room full of antiques with an elegant balcony garden overflowing with ferns, potted plants and brightly colored flowers. Situated on the corner of Park Avenue and New England street and overlooking a Rose Garden in the Park, the location is home to some of the best shopping often described as "The Rodeo Drive of the East." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Winter
Park Plaza Winter Park
Winter Park Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing