We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Winter Park
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a very, very, very, very... old Hotel and it shows. We chose it for it's location and if it wasn't for that and being clean... we would have gone elsewhere. The staff are all extremely friendly and professional and it is run very well. The hotel has a bed and breakfast feel. The rooms are so very old and tired, but clean. The historic wood floors sag and creek, the bathroom is very tiny, the furniture is thrift store-like, the a/c mounted on the wall. The electrical outlet on the baseboards don't hold a plug. We could hear our neighbors every word and their alarm clock every morning. The noise from housekeeping's vacuums and the restaurant below was a bit much at times. Thank goodness for the Whitenoise App on our Iphone. The train behind the hotel also shakes the bed when it passes. The balconies are shared with the other units and have overgrown plants blocking the view and for privacy from the street. The shower water pressure was low and a tiny shelf for counter space. There was no blow dryer. There is very limited parking, but they do offer a valet-type service as long as no one parks in the street spot. I really want to like this hotel and rate it higher, but in all honesty... we will never stay there again. The hotel occupancy seems pretty high considering, but they do have an awesome location on Park Ave and walking distance to Rollins College.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5startraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 277 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

Hotel is in the center of the town, dated back to the 1920s original wood floors (creaky)bed not too comfy.
Train goes by behind the hotel.
Balcony has a New Orleans feel about it.
Lots of nice shops around the hotel.
It's better to stay here than in any of the commercial hotels on the busy highway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bilancia2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Between the noisy street front activity late into the night and the train that goes by just behind the hotel during the night, as well as the creaky floors and industrial flush toilets, there is just way too much noise for those seeking a quiet place to sleep. The beds are uncomfortable and the bathrooms need some new paint and tile (old and worn without the charm). I would only stay here if being downtown is the purpose of your stay and where you plan to spend your time. Otherwise I would stay somewhere else.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

great location. old school charms. super friendly staff. bathrooms tooo small and bed a tad too soft. really neat balcony with view of the "street action." very good restaurant attached to hotel.
highly recommend. cool area lots of shopping nearby. small town feeling.

Room Tip: request front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spidot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed three nights. The location is perfect, with high end shops and bars and cafes littered all around. But the hotel is old and dark. It goes for the wood and leather look, but it is not high end wood finish and looks tired and old... very dark. The rooms are nice enough, but the biggest downside overall is the walls are thinner than paper.. you can hear people breathing in the next room. But overall as pleasant stay. The restaurant looked great although I didn't eat there as there was so much competition from the surrounding area

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denirokeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Recently stayed here October 2012. This was one of the worst nights in a hotel that I have ever experienced. We checked in early evening then left to enjoy an evening out on the town. When we returned a little after midnight to finally get some sleep there was this loud buzzing sound aprox every 30sec. The front desk staff (obviously knew about it because) he said it was from our air conditioner, but when I turned off the air conditioner it did not stop. At that point frustrated and tired we decided to check out, that was now 2:30 almost 3am. The fact that at check in or even before that when we called to make the reservation a few days prior, the staff had plenty of time to warn us of this inconvenience noise which no one did. Also this hotel is right next to a train track, so not only was there the buzzing of something but also the train.
When we contacted the owner a few times to try and at least get compensated for the night, it took them a few days to get back to us and said there was nothing they could do. Obviously accommodating there guests is not a priority to them. Because they were not willing to work with us this is one hotel we will never go back to or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here recently on a business trip and the room was booked for me, so I don't even know how much it cost. I liked this hotel. It's old, very old. It's one of those old buildings that seems to have had many restorations over the years, so the floors seem uneven, the walls are off, nothing is built with precision, which adds to the charm. Lots of wood, brick and brass. My room (201) was small and had a full and queen bed (odd). I guess two queen beds would have been too big. Nice wooden floors. Room was clean. Bathroom is tiny but clean. I had a horrible view of the roof of the restaurant but I was there to sleep, not to look out the window. Bed was good enough. Some of my co-workers were raving about their rooms, so I'm guessing there are better rooms. The train does run right behind the hotel, but I guess I'm a heavy sleeper - didn't hear a thing after I feel asleep. The lobby is very charming, as are the hallways. Service was very good (check in and out took no time). Included breakfast was nothing more than a muffin, coffee and a small orange juice, but all were very good. There is a restaurant next to the lobby, which I didn't try, but looked very nice and smelled really good. I'd love to stay here again, maybe in a better room looking at the street, not the back.

Room Tip: If given a choice, try to take a look at the rooms before picking one. Rooms vary greatly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tatatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Park
The Alfond Inn
#1 of 2 in Winter Park
764 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Orlando North
#2 of 6 in Maitland
363 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Bohemian Hotel Orlando, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park

Address: 307 S Park Ave, Winter Park, FL 32789-7010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range: $159 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Plaza Hotel, built in 1922, on the famous Park Avenue in the old downtown Winter Park, is a unique and intimate vintage boutique hotel. Personal service and genuine hospitality is the tradition of the 28 room Park Plaza Hotel. Stay in a cozy one-of-a-kind room full of antiques with an elegant balcony garden overflowing with ferns, potted plants and brightly colored flowers. Situated on the corner of Park Avenue and New England street and overlooking a Rose Garden in the Park, the location is home to some of the best shopping often described as "The Rodeo Drive of the East." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Winter
Park Plaza Winter Park
Winter Park Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing