We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food porn”
Review of The Ravenous Pig

The Ravenous Pig
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ravenous Pig is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 337 Restaurants in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $65
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Orlando 17-92
Matthews, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food porn”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I dined recently with 11 colleagues as we made the drive up from Disney because they had heard the place was that good. It did not disappoint. We ordered the Charcuterie, Veal Brisket, the Scallop & oats, and the tacos for starters and each were amazing. Dinner for me was the Pork Porterhouse which was an impressive cut and was delicious, aided by the sweet potato puree it sat upon.

Our service was excellent as they came around at the appropriate time without pestering us. For all of the food & drink we had at our table of 8, the final per-person price was rather reasonable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPC3481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    182
    72
    37
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“They do not deserve your business”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Refused to accommodate a larger party than our reservation was. Let us spend over $400 in bar over a hour then finally decided to seat us after many requests and tables available. Finally enough abuse and, decided to leave as they DID NOT DESERVE MY BUSINESS. Obviously the name Pig means that is how they respect their customers. There are too many restaurants that want my business. Stay away unless you like abuse!!! Nothing is worth this type of disrespect.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pbs4744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sometimes great food isn't enough”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I want to state first and foremost the food was very good. While visiting the Orlando area I googled "best new gourmet restaurant" and the Ravenous Pig came up. Billed as a gastro pub, I wish I had the chefs in my neighborhood. My wife and I had the flounder for an entree, for a starter she had the oysters and prawns and I had the scallops and oats. The flounder was a little over cooked to my liking but not so much that it in any way impacted my enjoyment of it. Sauces added to the complexity of flavors in all our dishes. I tried one of her raw oysters with a dollop of sorbet. Delicious.

Hopefully the service we experienced was an aberration because the flavor of the service we received left a bad taste in our mouths. So much so that instead of a pleasant night out with my wife for dinner while on vacation, the focus became how horrible we were being treated by our server.

When we arrived, right on time for our reservation, we were taken to our table immediately by the hostess and seated. About 5 minutes later our waiter arrived and we ordered cocktails, a dirty martini and a scotch and soda with a twist. What we got was a dirty martini and scotch and water with a twist. No big deal, I drink it either way. My wife urged me to send it back, but frankly I don't like complaining and let it slide. Our water glasses were filled.

Approximately 10 or 15 minutes later our waiter again appeared and took our order and then we waited, and waited, and waited as we watched people around us who had been seated after us being served their appetizers and meals, their waiter stopping by to check if they needed anything,etc., our waiter frequently passing our table and tending a larger party that was seated close by. 30 or so minutes passed before another server delivered our appetizers, literally quickly sliding our dishes in front of us and leaving without a word and no explanation as to the long delay. In fact, other than serving our drinks, giving us some biscuits my wife had to request to receive, and the coffee and dessert I ordered, that was all we saw of him and certainly never when we needed him.

As earlier stated, the appetizers were very good, but not of large quantity nor mean't to be and easily consumed within 5 minutes. And then we waited and waited and waited again for our meals which didn't arrive until at least 40 minutes later, again without explanation. In the interim, after about 20 minutes, our waiter passed by and we got his attention and asked if we could have some bread which we noticed other people had been served. He quickly explained that they had hot biscuits which were served within 5 minutes. They were very good, warm from the oven and accompanied by a soft whipped herbed butter. Too bad we had to ask for them, had we not we would not have received them. They helped fill in the time and put something in our stomachs while we waited for our entrees. Eventually another server delivered our entrees and scooted off. Wanting a glass of wine with my meal and never getting the chance to request it, I ate very slowly so that I could enjoy the fish with the wine when I got a chance to order it. I watched for our waiter and after about 5 minutes he passed by and again I caught his attention and ordered a glass of sancerre. By that time my wife had half finished her meal and my fish was losing its heat. After our meal was complete our waiter graciously poured our long empty glasses of water as he passed by to serve another table.

Dessert - I ordered the "cake" a chocolate confection with a dollop of homemade ice cream and a coffee. The cake was great as was the coffee. The only problem was I like to have my coffee at the same time as my cake. Its sort of like cookies with milk. You want the cookies with the milk, not the cookies and 10 minutes later the milk. They are mean't to be enjoyed together.

For the first time ever we left a tip less than 20%. (10% and only because the people that actually served our meals should receive something) My wife who never complains was livid at the treatment by our waiter. To be clear, we are not gourmands by any sense of the word and do not expect to have every whim catered to when we eat out. We are fairly well traveled both here and abroad and have experienced a wide range of different cuisines and dining experiences. This was one of the worse and totally unexpected. The service we received can best be described as slovenly. Would we eat there again when in the Orlando area? Maybe. But if I was assigned the same waiter I'd … run.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AttorneyJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontenac, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We attended a business dinner there are really enjoyed the evening. While pork is the premier offering, I found all the food to be fresh and delicious with a great presentation. They can accommodate larger groups if need be.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GBug38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very interesting cuisine and I'd go back”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

As indicated by others - it can get noisy. And it can be on the expensive side. We didn't get drinks but they were really unique and I will try some next time. We ha the pork porterhouse and the lasagna. The pork was very good but be prepared for a large cut - which makes the price a good value. The lasagna was excellent but prepared for a very small portion. It looked almost like a puff pastry but excellent. Appetizer was a combo of lamb slider, BLT and wings. All were excellent. Bottom line: somewhat limited menu with very unique items and unique drinks. We will go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ravenous Pig also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Been to The Ravenous Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing