We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with great bedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Alfond Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alfond Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
tallahassee, fl
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with great bedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Alfond Inn Hotel is lovely. Prices are a bit high but you will have a resort feel with large rooms, great beds, 2nd floor pool ! Valet parking is $18 per night but some folks park on the street but discuss this with the hotel as you do not want to get towed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lscaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    97
    25
    10
    14
See reviews for
142
253
11
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

One of my friends was married at Rollins Women College this summer and this hotel was perfect for the occasion. The room was gorgeous, the amenities great and the location convenient to the wedding. I would highly recommend staying at this location!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PTTraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

A simply beautiful hotel. We stayed here for two nights celebrating our anniversary. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was nice size. The restaurant was amazing. We won't wait for our anniversary to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed two days at this property on our driving trip from Charleston and it was one of our favorite hotels of our trip. The property is only about 8 months old and is gorgeous. It's contemporary with beautiful touches of Spanish black wrought iron. It has a very unique collection of modern art scattered thru the hotel that was donated by the Alfond family, thus the name "The Alfond Inn". It is rather unique in that it is associated with the nearby Rollins college and was funded by a grant to build the hotel and in return all profits are to be used by the college for scholarships and grants. The breakfasts were eaten outside on the patio where it was a nice cool place to be before going out into the heat and humidity of the day. It's a small menu but was good. They also have a restaurant on site which we didn't try, doing other options in the city. This isn't a budget hotel by any means, but if you want a lovely, relaxing and beautiful place to lay your head, this is the place for you. It's also in walking distance of the lovely small town area, restaurants, the Morse museum and the Albin Polasek Museum of Sculpture. The Morse has wonderful Tiffany treasures and the Polasek has large mostly metal sculptures out in the garden and inside the house. We enjoyed them both and they are worth seeing. Also take the little hour long boat ride thru three of their small lakes, wear a hat if going in the summer!.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you get the chance, don't miss a night (or more) at The Alfond Inn! First rate hotel in all ways! And it's within walking distance of Park Avenue as well as another surprise: Hannibal Corner! And it's a good feeling to know that all profits benefit scholarships for students to attend Rollins College.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a very pretty hotel. I traveled there on business and the public spaces are wonderful. Very contemporary and beautifully done. I doubt you could find a more attractive hotel in the Winter Park area. And the location is terrific as it is just a few easy walking blocks from the very attractive town of Winter Park. Unfortunately, the service was very spotty. Some of the staff were great but others appeared to be college students who had not been properly trained or carefully selected: They could not answer basic questions (that I assume they had been asked before), did not smile at guests upon check in, and in some cases were a bit rude. It must be that the hotel manager has a hard time getting quality staff, which is a shame since this is such a pretty place. I am giving it 3 stars for the ambiance and also because there are some very good people who work here (though not as many as I would have liked).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We checked in and were pleased with the service, the hotel and everything about it.
We found the hotel convenient to be able to walk to everything without using the car.
The staff are amazing and so friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: They have balcony rooms as well as rooms without a balcony. Either one is comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willibarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Park
Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park
#2 of 2 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#29 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,061 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Bohemian Hotel Orlando, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alfond Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alfond Inn

Property: The Alfond Inn
Address: 300 E New England Ave, Winter Park, FL 32789-4426
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alfond Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfond Inn, voted the #1 hotel in Florida in the Conde Nast Traveler 2016 Reader's Choice Awards is a stylish boutique hotel in Winter Park. A Preferred Boutique HOtel that has a AAA Four Diamond Rating, The Alfond Inn features 112 guestrooms equipped with complimentary high speed wireless internet access, iPod docking stations and flat screen televisions, as well as oversized workstations. The Inn also offers 10,000 square feet of meeting space, roof top pool, fitness center and Hamilton's Kitchen, a full service restaurant with a Floridian-inspired menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alfond Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing