We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”
Review of Cask & Larder

Cask & Larder
Ranked #23 of 336 Restaurants in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Orange Avenue
Description: Cask & Larder, in Orlando-MCO Airport, offers southern-sourced seasonal dishes, craft beers brewed and fresh-shucked oysters from our oyster bar. We offer a wide range of cocktails, wines, and locally brewed craft beers.
Oviedo, Florida
1 review
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

First time visit at 4pm when the doors opened on a Saturday. Ordered drinks and was told only two out of the 10 plus appetizers were available until 5pm. Strike one. Waited until 445 to order the shrimp sausage. Strike 2. Tiny portions and lack of flavor. Tried a second appetizer the short rib tamale....ugh strike 3. Overall small portions, and not the quality expected for the high prices. Up note the wait staff was great and knowledgeable. That was our first and LAST time to visit. BIG disappointment.

PS Forgot we also tried the southern biscuits....forgot because they were not even as good as the canned biscuits you buy in the store.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    105
    43
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
2 reviews
“Food are good but customer services from the Bar is questionable.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The customer services I received was horrible and inconsistence last night. It was my first night in Cask and Larder. It is an unpleasant experience. The gentleman next to me received attentiveness while I didn't from the server in the bar. Unlike the service in Ravenous Pig, the services are consistent each time I went. I don't expect to receive five stars services, but I expect a decent and attentiveness service from Cask and Larder.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ylee168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Dare to Identify at Cask & Larder”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Many new restaurants are either revamping or trying to wow with foreign concepts or recycling old ideas, in Orlando. Cask and Larder dares to identify with simplistic regional cuisine. It is billed as a Southern Public House from acclaimed Ravenous Pig owners and chefs. In a town where it is hard pressed to find good ole Americana, it is refreshing to taste the good ole south.

The building exterior did not change. Apart from added outside benches and tables along Fairbanks Av. most remained the same. A limited menu of few items is served outside. However, the razzle dazzle happened all inside. You may expect the door closest to the parking lot is the main entrance but not so. You have to enter through the door on Fairbanks Av. Gracious entry with warm colors, dark toned wood, huge glass enclosures, muted floors, dated floor tile design and open beams immediately spreads southern hospitality. The light sea blue and white wall colors almost invokes southern plantation grandeur. Towards the end of the bar area are huge glass enclosed beer brewing equipment. A table in this enclosure suggest private dining or chef’s table. I can only image the experience of dining in there surrounded by all of that beer. Wonder if guest are allowed to sample from each batch? Hmmm.

The food is sourced from seasonally fresh ingredients, so it changes all the time. Interesting jams, pickles, meats, seafood, and food preparations entice the palate. Having an in house beer brewery makes for some very startling choices, citrus zest and fresh lemon? Not many places have a cocktail menu much less a whiskey list. There are great selections of Bourbon and Rye neat 3 oz pours ranging from teens to twenties. Dessert boast Southern staples such as apple pie and turtle cake. The wine list is very food forward from family owned smaller wineries and lesser know regions. With almost all of the wines by glass I am a little surprised that there is a “House Wine”. There is a late night menu that carries bar type food. Then there is that whole cookery menu. This is centered around a butchered cut with sides served family style. Reservations are required for Whole Cookery 72 hrs in advance with a minimum of 8 guests.

Beer Flight- 5 Brewer’s choice | 4oz. pours. From farthest to closest:

1. LONE PALM GOLDEN ALE crisp & refreshing blonde ale ABV: 4.9% IBU: 18 – very clean

2. OLDE SOUTHERN WIT Belgian-style wheat beer brewed with coriander, citrus zest & fresh lemon ABV: 4.8% IBU: 13 – exciting, refreshing, citrusy, clean, smooth

3. BERLINER ROGGEN Sour Berliner-style rye beer Served with (or without) Raspberry syrup
ABV: 3.2% IBU: 5 – I did not have a Raspberry syrup. Generously rounded

4. 5-POINTS HARVEST IPA Fresh-Centennial hopped ipa ABV: 7.2% IBU: 58 – Nutty mouthful

5. HOPPY PORTER Hoppy American porter With hints of chocolate ABV: 5.8% IBU: 35 – big, great throat coating, long finish, lingering chocolate.

Shucker’s Choice 6

Great Island… briny & mineral. Cape Cod Bay, MA
Nautilus… clean&savory. Bagaduce Falls, ME
Sunset beach… creamy& sweet. Lower Hood Canal, WA
Evening cove… crisp & melon. Baynes Sound, BC

Clean briny goodness.

Pork terrine pickled egg, cornichons, mustard. Amazing silkiness, an explosion of porkiness. A sinful treat.

Grilled Veal Rib sweet potato molasses, pears, asher blue cheese, walnuts. Firm texture with balanced sweetness.

Cornbread Dressing blackened rock shrimp & eggplant. One of the most stand out dishes. Amazing balance of flavors and textures. Cooked to proper slight crustiness. A marvel.

Fried Dough “wit” beer doughnuts, soft caramel pudding, citrus-caramel glaze. Dough was lightly chewy and sugary. Pudding was marvelously silky with sweetness.

Sorbet cranberry, fudgsicle, pear-bourbon – good consistency and flavors.

Service at this establishment is relaxed casual with great attention to detail. From the greeters, to server assistants, to servers, to managers, to just any staff, the level of acknowledgement and cordiality showcases high commitment to deliver genuine hospitality. The blurred line in sequence of service is impeccable. My table was a little too small for the amount of food ordered.

When a restaurant dares to push the envelope of doing something that the market has not seen it is always challenging. However, when a restaurant takes a calculated risk and it pays off there is success. I think Cask and Larder has hit that note. Thank you for challenging the industry and area to go against the norm.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FUN!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We went here during their opening weekend. Got a reservation a couple days before, although it was late the dinning room was still full. Our seats were at the Pastry bar by the front door. The best thing we ate were the waffle cut fries with Gravy, goat cheese and scallions. This place is yummy fun and has a great bar area. Parking is tight and I didnt love how spread out the dinning room felt. Definitely make sure you have a reservation if you want to eat around 7 on a weekend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReeseRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Brew Pub With Great Food”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is truly a upscale pub.If you expect the typical bar menu this is not your place.The menu changes on a regular basis.I had veal ribs and they where fantastic. My wife had trout and she loved it.
If you want to set in the restaurant part you better make a reservation.If you want to set in the bar you just try your luck.Both sides are very nice.
I sampled a few of there special brews and they where very good.
My wife and I both love the place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgorlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cask & Larder also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Been to Cask & Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing