We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual menu, nice atmosphere”
Review of Prato

Prato
Reserve with OpenTable
Prato is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 334 Restaurants in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Morse and Park Avenue
Description: Blending simplicity and inspiration, Prato celebrates cuisine from Italy's rich culinary landscape, seamlessly blending Italian classics with modern techniques and seasonal ingredients. Celebrated chef, Brandon McGlamery entices guests with dishes ranging from light primi and insalata choices to savory, handcrafted pastas and inventive Italian entrees. By offering a variety of Spanish and Italian varietals and blends, we help our guests to discover complex, unique and lesser known wines that excited and delight their palettes. With a long bar that runs through the center of the restaurant, dining at Prato offers a communal and social atmosphere.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
172 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Unusual menu, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've eaten here several times, on dates, with friends, for lunch and dinner. The menu is very unusual and creative and seems to change somewhat from time to time. You'll find things you don't see anywhere else, which I love. It has a really nice, big bar so it's nice to get there early and watch the scene before sitting or just to grab a drink. The outdoor seating is good if the weather cooperates. I've enjoyed everything I've eaten there, the servers are always very friendly and attentive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KingTheWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    184
    59
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
322 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Must order the meatballs.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My new favorite restaurant on Park Ave. The service, location and food are top notch. The meatball appetizer is a must have. They have a just enough flavor and kick to really please your taste buds. They are served over a mascarpone cheese polenta which is lick the plate yummy. We did not love the pizza but the fish and soup items have been good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lots of buzz, unique offerings, overpriced”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

From the location, to the decor, to the menu, Prato is trying. Trying hard to be a chic yet semi casual/also formal, sometimes al fresco, young/old money hot spot. We enjoyed it exactly for what it was. Apps and pizza were delicious, entrees were so overpriced for what was delivered (major example being chicken bambino). Our server was wonderful making us feel at home and assisting with the menu. Very happy to have experienced this restaurant, but so glad I knew a bit of what to expect first.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“park ave hot spot”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Prato is a must if you come within 10 miles of winter park great food anc excellent atmosphere doesnt matter if you go in on tuesday at 8;30 pm or saturday at 4:00 pm your going to wait for both excellent food and good service. the menu is designed where if tempted you can eat family style with the wide array of pasta's and pizza"s. Warning!!! you will find yourself eating something so amazing sharing will be diffcult. I love there meatballs a must, gnocchi or gnudi are excellent and if the veal belly or sweetbread are on the menu your a fool to not order them. Didnt drink to much wine but the selection i did recieve were well worth it. just go to you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Topchef3630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Boar(ing) Premium Park Avenue Pricing 4 meat & cheese lovers”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Every dish is made with meat or cheese. Vegans stay away. Looking for a healthy alternative to meat & cheese dishes, my waiter presented me with a pizza option sans cheese....oh, geez! Located in the heart of a progressive, health conscious college town, this diner was less than overjoyed at their lack of menu options for those who don't eat meat or cheese. The prices are very premium Park Avenue-ish....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prato also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Been to Prato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing