We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected better for this caliber of restaurant ...”

Mitchell's Fish Market
Reserve with OpenTable
Mitchell's Fish Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 337 Restaurants in Winter Park
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Gay Street/Main Street
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I expected better for this caliber of restaurant ...”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Winter Park Fish Company sits on prime real estate in Winter Park Village, with a corner lot and wrap around outside dining and outside lounge area. Boasting the freshest of seafood, we made a reservation here on Christmas Eve for our family group of 14.

Our reservation was for 9PM, following a church service, so we thought that we would avoid the dinner rush. There were other dining guests, but the restaurant was not busy. Upon arrival, we were ushered to our table which was set up in a back room with portable tables and the kind of chairs at hotels that stack. The main dining room has booths and mostly tables for 4. I didn't exactly notice, but it seems there could have been room for our large group in the main room if they put tables together instead of out-casting us to the outer room (seems like it might be a private room. The back room was also COLD.

Nevertheless, we were feeling merry and ordered our meals with great anticipation. Entree prices are between $21-29. Everything is a la carte. At that time of night, and with a large group, I expected impeccable service - it was not. The waiter was scarce and we certainly didn't feel pampered by great service. Everyone in our group ordered either wine or martinis (I think the martinis were like $14 each)...yet we were not asked if we wanted another round until the end of the dinner. And, again, because I was cold and not sitting in a fine dining surrounding, I just didn't feel like we were getting the dining experience we were paying for.

My husband and I returned to dine here a few weeks later, to use the gift cards we earned from our Christmas dinner purchase. I made a reservation, yet when we arrived we were seated in a humongous booth in the bar area! The restaurant allows smoking outside in their lounge area, but the problem is that the bar opens up to the lounge area, and so the cigarette smoke makes its way into the dining area! Once again, we were not seated in the main dining room. Not only that, but the booth we were seated at literally backed up to the kitchen doors. So EVERY time a waiter went in and out of the kitchen, it felt like they were walking into the back of our booth. The food was good and ample, but once again the atmosphere sucked. Our dinner was $80, for 2 glasses of wine and 2 entrees. For that kind of atmosphere, I could eat 4 such meals at Macaroni Grill....I expected much more from Winter Park Fish Company.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    67
    39
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
jacksonville florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Dinner”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We ate here for Thanksgiving. We ordered the traditional Thanksgiving meal. The turkey was OK, the dressing not so much. The best part of the meal was the Sharkfin pie. It was delicious! The sangria was the best I had ever had! The service was a bit slow. All-in-all it was a good place to eat but didn't have the WOW factor.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skeeterflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Mussels ever!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We ate here for a late lunch/early dinner on a weekday. This was our first time ever at one of this chain's restaurants and we wanted to try a variety of dishes.
It looks and is priced like an upscale restaurant, tho you could get half price apps in the bar. We ordered the mussels in white wine and garlic as well as the crab cake.
Crab cake was pretty standard, but the mussels were amazing! They were the largest we had had in our 3 week Florida tour, and we had ordered them at 4 other places. They were also in the tasiest broth we had ever had. We asked our waiter for another loaf of their crusty Italian bread just to dip up the broth. I would have been very happy just with this dish for a luncheon.
Then the entrees arrived, Chilean Sea Bass, Shanghai style and Lobster and Shrimp Stuffed Pacific Cod. Both of these dishes were delicious, but we took most of them home.
We were very pleased with this restaurant and wish we had one in St Louis.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spacecatstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nasty manager and terrible food”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Having eaten there on at least a half dozen occasions, tonight will probably be the last. We were a party of 8, celebrating a birthday. The manager was rude and condescending when we asked to configure the table differently as we wanted to share conversation and enjoy each others company. The filet steaks were undercooked and so tough and grizzly that it was hard to believe that they were actually filet. They did, however, take them off the bill. The seafood dishes were fine. Had it not been for the number of people we had in the party, we probably would have left and gone somewhere else to eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicetoeatout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Decent seafood, but rather pricey for what you get”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten at Mitchell's Fish Market in Winter Park several times over the past year, for dinner and lunch. We've found the food to be pretty good, but not excellent, and the service is spotty. I really like their calamari appetizer and enjoy the fish tacos for lunch. However, it's a crap shoot whenever we go there, not knowing how good the experience will be that particular time.

Helpful?
Thank eph3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Fish Market also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Been to Mitchell's Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing