We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for Winter Park, not for the meal.”
Review of Nelore Churrascaria - CLOSED

Nelore Churrascaria
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Nelore Steakhouse is a fine dining Authentic Brazilian Steak House, named after Brazils most famous breed of cattle. At nelore we believe the gaucho style of servign sets us apart from other steakhouse. "Gaucho" is the name given to Brazilian Cowboys who have been roasting meat over open flames for centuries. In traditional Brazilian style, our gauchos serve up to 15 cuts of the finest meat available; including steak, checken, lamb and more.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Go for Winter Park, not for the meal.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Like many I suspect there the night we went, we tried it because of the great Groupon deal. Having been to other Brazilian Steakhouses before, my expectations were high. Sadly, Nelore Churrascaria has a long way to go to reach the standard that most Brazilian Steakhouses have set. First off, Winter Park is a great destination for a date night and the atmosphere of Winter Park can make a date alone. The atmosphere of the restaurant was disappointing. There wasn't much decor or ambiance. Our server was very friendly and helpful. The meat variety was a little disappointing too. Only a few selections were very appealing to us. Several were wrapped in bacon and we wondered if that was more to help the flavor than provided an enhancement. The salad bar was fine, but much smaller than other Brazilian restaurants we had been too. All in all it was way to average for a Winter Park restaurant and for the price you would normally pay. The 18% gratuity added in (on the regular price without groupone) needs to be factored into your budget too. If wanting a Brazilian Steakhouse, make another selection. If wanting a nice Winter Park restaurant, make another selection. If wanting to give someone a Brazilian Steakhouse experience, may be worth it if you have a Groupon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank destinationheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    60
    33
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Avoid this place I wish I had”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Ok like most people that venture into Nelore Churrascaria I had purchased a groupon in my case, they sell vouchers with almost every vendor. Seemed like a great deal but then I started looking at the reviews and realized I probably made a mistake. Since the voucher wasn't refundable we went ahead and booked a reservation and had dinner last night.

What a mistake, when you show up the place looks great and I was like maybe the reviews were wrong. After the waiters hard sell on wine and othe drinks in the house we order 3 sodas. Once they brought the 8oz bottles of soda to our table I knew we were in for it. This place gets you in the door with the voucher charges an 18% gratiuty based in the normal menu price if course. Therefore they try to drive the bill up as much as they can like by selling you 8oz bottles of soda. Besides that they screwed our bill not once but twice. At the end of the day we had our groupon for the meal but between the gratuities and the 8oz sodas the bill was still over $60.

The meat was so so didn't seem as high quality as the other Braizlian steakhouse I had been to.


All in all just avoid this place, that's what the local winter park neighborhood had chosen to do.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfessorRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Things changed, we wont go back”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

On I Drive it was marvelous, in every way deserving of the cost, worthy of celebrating special occasions! Now in Winter Park I can no longer recommend it,nor even patronize it. Service was deplorable for our family group of 7. No response when I contacted with details online. Food quality also declined. Def not worth the prices!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BPJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have been to many Brazilian steakhouses in the past so we thought we knew what to expect. The restaurant claims 15 varieties of meets being served and while that may be true, the sirloins, sausages and chicken came around often. We had to continually request filet and lamb which seemed to put them out. Additionally, every cut we tried was dry and over cooked. White wine came warm, service was iffy because so many different people come by, you never really know who your server is. Was difficult to get mint jelly, never saw chimi churri and bread came at the end of the meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Fl.
2 reviews
“very disappointed”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Went on Sunday evening with friends from out of town. The salad bar was good, but the meat was horrible.We went to Nelore's in Winter Park, fl. for Dinner on the Groupon this past Sunday. The salad bar was very good , but the meat they served was absolutely horrible. Also, it was hard to get them to come to the table with skewers of meat, after coming around one time. All selections were disguised either in a sausage, wrapped in bacon and the meat was "medium raw"--bloody. They had no Medium and the lamb tasted like liver. Will never return here. Thank you

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelore Churrascaria also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing