We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our kind of Place”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Osaka Japanese Steak House
Ranked #73 of 206 Restaurants in Winter Haven
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Winter Haven
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not our kind of Place”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

It is a shame when you go somewhere and the people working there don't seem to understand English, nor do they honor free dessert on your birthday. When you first walk in the place smells moldy, mildewy. Won't go back

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
492 reviews
418 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Middle Of The Road”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

By Japanese Steak House standards, we've had better, and we've had a lot worse. Food and portions are good. What is it about poor table service at Japanese Steak Houses? This one follows the pattern - it would be nice to have someone check for drink refills a bit more often.
All in all, we'd go back - and have.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rkhawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not good and not bad somewhere in between.”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband and I found a coupon for the chicken,steak and shrimp hibachi grill speical for 4.00 off per person. So instead of 16.95 it was 12.95 for the meat and veggies from the grill and soup and salad. The salad was maybe an once in a very small bowl with ginger dressing, the soup was broth with a few green onion tops floating around and was tastless. There were 7 people sitting around the grill. My husband decided to order the shrimp and sallops for 16.95 instead of using the coupon. He was very disappointed because he only got 5 shrimp and 5 shallops ( small to medium size). My meal had 2 shrimp, 3 pieces of steak and a few pieces of chicken. The chef does not do any tricks and gets the meal done and served inless then 30 minutes. He (we think) gave some of my husband's shrimp to a little boy who's parents did not buy him a meal. He was maybe 3 or 4 and they were sharing their food with him. The chef smiled at the kid and there went the shrimp that should have been my husbands.

We noticed that the grill that had only 4 people seated had the same portion amounts on the grill that we had for 7 so that chef made a mound of food on eachof their plates and we had very little rice, veggies and meat.

Will we go back....not for dinner but if I find a coupon for the 7.95 lunch then we will try it and hope we get a grill area of only 4 people instead of 7.

We went to the new one that is Auburndale close to the Walmart store area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 072412c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Hamilton, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Slow but Sure”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We enjoyed a good meal, but we sat a long time with no drinks and when I looked for someone I was not able to find anyone.

Unlike most Japanese Steak House restaurant there was no flair from the chef he just came and cooked.

Overall the food was good but the atmosphere was lacking.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dinneratnine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad, typical”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

It was a nice place. The food was good, no complaints there. One huge suggestion, go at lunch time! You get the same portion, service and experience as you do at dinner but for a much more reasonable price!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akwareus24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Japanese Steak House also viewed

 
Winter Haven, Central Florida
Winter Haven, Central Florida
 

Been to Osaka Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing