We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“never again”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The pictures are deceiving! The room was disgusting; mold in the shower area and the towels were dingy. No coffee maker in the room and the refrigerator needed defrosting.

I would not recommend this establishment to anyone.

Room Tip: Check out the room in person before you book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumyum6854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinterHavenSuites1, Manager at Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
I am very sorry that you had an unsatisfying experience at Winter Haven Suites. I invite you to call me, so I can find out more information to investigate the problems you have described. I checked the guest complaint log and was unable to find any information about a moldy shower. I will definitely have my house inspector be on the look out for any such problem in the future. Once again you have my apologies and feel free to call about this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    47
    19
    18
    91
See reviews for
98
25
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel is a bargain but the quality is high. I shopped around Winter Have and the places that are cheaper, by a few buck are very small and undesirable for most travelers. This is a big hotel with hundreds of rooms, and plenty of amenities. They have a great pool garden, restaurant and location is great. You could pay more in Winter Haven and get way less.
Plus the service and atmosphere is so pleasant. I think of myself as a savvy traveler and I come through here every 3 months for my real estate business. I know a good deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinterHavenSuites1, Manager at Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Winter Haven Suites and Conference Center. We appreciate your kind review and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I don't thrive on giving negative reviews and I was reluctant to rate this poor because the staff is so friendly, but the hotel itself is not somewhere I plan on staying again regardless. Where to start..We couldn't close our bathroom door all the way, the shower just kind of dripped, the toilet almost seemed like it was going to overflow every time it was used, the floors were dirty (I mean stained, gross, don't let your kids play on the floor dirty), there were no bedspreads on the beds, no extra towels, no extra pillows, no coffeemaker in the room, our refrigerator wasn't cold and the freezer part was a huge block of ice, there was mold (which I'm allergic to) on the walls & ceiling in the bathroom. On the up side..some of the furnishings looked fairly new, the bed was pretty comfy and again, the staff was friendly. Yes, it is a cheap rate, but I think next time I'll pay an extra $10 or $20 for somewhere a little nicer.
We didn't eat at the restaurant. Decided to go next door to Manny's Chop House, which was awesome! Can't wait to go back there!
So, I guess if you're only passing through and/or are on a limited budget, don't need amenities or extras, you might consider this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnookRBiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinterHavenSuites1, Manager at Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We are very sorry to learn that you had an unsatisfying experience with one of our rooms. I invite you to call me personally. We certainly hope you will give us a try again. During the time of your stay, we were at capacity. When that happens it is possible for a non standard room to get in the mix. I checked the complaint log, and did not identify your room right off, but will look into it further.
We do know that all the rooms are super clean, but there are some stains in a few carpets. This is no excuse, however. The bottom line is that we don't settle just for clean, but that you be comfortable. If you and your family felt uncomfortable, that is enough for me. Please take a minute to give me follow up and let me know the room in question,so I can investigate it on my end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I got a 10% AAA discount on a $69 rate. The room was fabulous, really clean, and the bedding looked new. Why would anyone pay $100.+. in Winter Haven for a room. Heck with the savings. I walked across the parking lot to Manny’s Chop House and had a fantastic meal and enjoyed the buffet in the Cypress restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinterHavenSuites1, Manager at Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the winter Haven Suites and Conference Center. We pride our self on the value that we provide our customers, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I am staying here while waiting for my home to close. It is furnished, has a fridge and they will let you use a microwave. It is close to downtown and other place of interest. The rates are fantastic online. The from desk did not quote me the rate I got online.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FCalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2013

It was a pleasure staying at this hotel, especially for the price we paid.
The staff were mostly courteous and the environment was family friendly.
The restaurant was very inexpensive actually cheaper than anyone of the other establishments and the food was delicious.
Some of the outer roadways need upgrading but the place is clean..there is a nice little cozy bar and the prices were good..
We got our money's worth at this hotel...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunilna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I totally enjoyed my stay here, even if it was only for one night. Front desk staff was very friendly, helpful and organized! The room was immaculate, quiet and comfortable. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Haven hotels
2.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Winter Haven
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
#3 of 16 in Winter Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
#2 of 16 in Winter Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
#1 of 16 in Winter Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL
1.1 mi away
Budget Inn of Winter Haven
Budget Inn of Winter Haven
#5 of 16 in Winter Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center

Property: Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center
Address: 1150 3rd St SW, Winter Haven, FL 33880-3909 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Haven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center is a hotel located in Central Florida Polk County, between Orlando and Tampa. The Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center is the leading accommodation choice for cost conscious visitors to Central Florida and all its attractions such as LEGOLAND(R), Disney World, Sea World, Epcot Center and the Magic Kingdom. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Winter Haven
Winter Haven Clarion
Clarion Winter Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing