We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disgusting!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Dont know where you think you have made improvements David.( Hotel management) Where do I start...... 1. girl at front desk had NO clue what she was doing,charged my credit card double,then had to figure out how to credit it, half hr later she finally figured it out. 2. Gave me a key to a room someone was already in. 3. NO chairs, tables or lounge chairs around pool! Room was dirty,smelled, didnt even take my shoes off. 4. No clean towels, but dirty, wet towels in tub!!!! 5. Phone didnt work. Beds were very hard and sounded like they were about to break. 6. No coffee maker, no iron, no plastic laundry bag. It was midnight and had little choice but to stay but checked out the next morning,we were to stay 2 nights. When we named all this they had nothing to say! No "Im sorry" or " Can we move you to another room?" They werent even going to credit the second night until they saw me start getting upset. They should have credited me for BOTH!!! Disgusting place. Dont know how they call themselves a motel. We travel with a softball team and most all checked out immediately. Never again!!!! This place should me shut down!!! One team mate had SPIDERS in his bed!!!!!! HEALTH HAZARD!!!

Room Tip: No Rooms at this motel are worth a dime!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmheyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skatseek, Director of Sales at Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Ms. Heyman, we are extremely sorry your stay with us was so unsatisfactory. Looking at the previous experience you had prior to arriving at our Hotel, it sounded like nothing was going right. The information you received is correct. New Owners and New Management have been making strides in improvements. We have a 235 hotel property. In the less than two month period, 130 rooms have been renovated. Extermination and cleaning crews have been stepped up to help bring us back to our hey day. We give room placement priority to our reservations. The night you checked in well after midnight as walk ins, we also had 12 other teams in house. As well as our individual check ins. Frankly, we were strapped. Prior to check ins we have initiated a practice of double checking the rooms. The call was not put through to our 24 hour on call maintenance to do so prior to your room assignment. The front desk said there was an air of urgency to get to the rooms. These are not excuses. Just putting into perspective that 'perfect storm.' Fact is, we are a hospitality industry striving to exceed expectations and your needs were not properly met. You have my personal apology for that and , if a future circumstance arises, I assure you all needs will be met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    47
    19
    18
    93
See reviews for
102
26
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here last year when it was Days Inn. The rooms were really nice especially for the price, but there was always some problem, even getting towels. Now they have changed management, the new bar is amazing and it is obvious from the time you step in that it is better. Service is much improved and the restaruant on site is good.

Room Tip: pool side rooms are more convenient for the conference rooms, bar and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have never stayed at a Hotel so dirty and run down. I went with my husbands softball team and everyone in our group had a terrible experience. Everyone had a problem when their room. The first room that was assigned to me was shocking! The bed was bare! Just a mattress! The comforter and pillows were thrown on the floor. Then the next room assigned to us didnt have towels. The phone wasnt working to call the front desk so I had to use my cell phone to call them. They had a one of our team members bring us towels; not housekeeping.

The toilet had urine on it and all the towels had stains on them. The sheets had stains on them too.

The only good thing was that our A/C worked very well. Other people in our group had their A/C units in the middle of the room and obviously wasnt working.

Overall, NEVER staying here again! This place needs to be shut down!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StephCalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacc42, Guest Relations Manager at Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I do want to apologize for your inconvenience. We are as of now under new management and the hotel has already undergone extensive remodeling. All rooms are now verified by management before guest check-in. Our Bar is open full time now as is the diner. The price is also now lower. Please just give us a call we would be happy to meet all of your needs. No more Housekeeping or front desk issues will be tolerated. Thank you very much for your understanding and please have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Haven hotels
2.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Winter Haven
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
#3 of 16 in Winter Haven
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
#2 of 16 in Winter Haven
584 reviews
2.8 mi away
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
#1 of 16 in Winter Haven
809 reviews
1.1 mi away
Budget Inn of Winter Haven
Budget Inn of Winter Haven
#5 of 16 in Winter Haven
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center

Property: Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center
Address: 1150 3rd St SW, Winter Haven, FL 33880-3909 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Haven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center is a hotel located in Central Florida Polk County, between Orlando and Tampa. The Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center is the leading accommodation choice for cost conscious visitors to Central Florida and all its attractions such as LEGOLAND(R), Disney World, Sea World, Epcot Center and the Magic Kingdom. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Winter Haven
Winter Haven Clarion
Clarion Winter Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing