We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty rooms, cigarette burns in all bkankets and surprise extra charges-stay away.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dirty rooms, cigarette burns in all bkankets and surprise extra charges-stay away.”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed recently with my wife and kids in a non-smoking room with two queen beds. The first night my daughter couldn't stop coughing once we put her to bed. Discovered all the bedding wreaked of cigarette smoke and even had cigarette burn holes all over the blankets. They mix the bedding between smoking and non smoking rooms obviously.

Right behind this motel there is a boarded up and abandoned motel attracting all manner of who knows what.

Our room had cobwebs on the ceilings, rips and stains on all the chairs and weird unidentifiable stains all over the hairdryer in the bathroom.

The free breakfast included cereal, mini bagels, milk, toast and english muffins. Your basic standard continental breakfast but lacking the typical waffle iron you would expect to find even in a La Quinta. My wife could not stomach the english muffin she tried, it was old or something.

On top of the lovely accomodations, we got hit with a surprise pet fee of $32 even when Travelocity specifically told me there was no pet fee and that's the sole reason we picked this motel.

Oh yeah one more thing the fire extinguisher near the lobby had a huge hole in the plastic cover. Not sure what other fire code violations they'd find.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanFromNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments concerning your recent stay with us.
Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay.
Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guest, like you. enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive
and welcome any opportunity to improve,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    81
    116
    67
    85
See reviews for
225
32
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

our stay was comfortable .room was nice, a good stay over-all would recommend to people that look for bargians

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for you review. I am glad your enjoyed our hotel. I hope to see you next time you are in our area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed three nights during spring break to go to legoland. Everynight was returned our room was cleaned very well, even the coffee maker was washed out :) we typically bring our own pillows and blankets to hotels because we dont like hotel ones. Every evening the beds were made using our pillows and blankets. Their blankets did look new and clean so we did use them along with ours. Hallways and stair case were clean and always very quiet. We stayed on the second floor facing the parking lot and the private balacony was nice for fresh air and listening to the rain storm we experienced one night, we left the sliding door open part way all night. We did walk to the pool but not swim due to the fact it was still kinda cool for swimming however the pool was clean as was the pool area. This place was nice and we will stay here again with our
next return to legoland. Staff was very friendly also. Only things that need improvement are: the phone on our room didnt work so when we needed front desk we had to walk down there (not really a problem but would be helpful if it worked). We washed clothes one evening and only one washer and one dryer were in working order (again not really a problem because they were empty at the time we wanted but we could have had to wait if the hotel was very crowded).
I am very glad that this hotel was so very quiet as some can be very noisy. Good job HoJo you get a goldstar in my book!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 5xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your thoughts about our hotel, It is wonderful to know that your overall
experience with us was good . I will pass on your comments to all our staff. I look forward to seeing you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Haven
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
#3 of 16 in Winter Haven
240 reviews
2.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Winter Haven
0.1 mi away
Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
#2 of 16 in Winter Haven
594 reviews
2.8 mi away
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
#1 of 16 in Winter Haven
850 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Auburndale Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL
Address: 1300 3rd St SW, Winter Haven, FL 33880-3913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Winter Haven is an older property that has been renovated. We offer smoking or non-smoking standard rooms with a 1 King/Queen bed or 2 Queen beds with a mini-fridge, coffe maker, flat screen TV, and free WIFI. The property also has an outdoor pool, complimentary continental breakfast, and a family restaurant located off the lobby area. Howard Johnson is only 3.5 miles away from Legoland, and only a short walk or drive to many shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven Hotel Winter Haven
Howard Johnson Winter Haven
Winter Haven Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing