We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bowling trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Reviewed June 17, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 403 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Good for the price. Perfect for going to Legoland. Beds were comfortable. A/C worked well, though a little loud. Staff was very attentive and desired to please. Continental breakfast was OK/fair -- just the basics (bagels, donuts, cereal, bananas), but they kept it stocked. Fred's Southern Kitchen restaurant about 400 feet down the street was excellent (went for both dinner and breakfast buffet -- awesome food and staff!). Fast food very close by.

Couldn't connect to wi-fi in the rooms (though could in the lobby). Others had the same problem. It showed the signal in the room, but just wouldn't connect -- probably was a temporary problem (staff seemed surprised that it didn't work). Bathroom could use some remodeling -- trim and door painting was very sloppily done which gives the first impression that it isn't clean (though it seemed clean otherwise). Shower large and clean. Don't expect much of a view out the window. We didn't use/see the pool since too tired after Legoland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S4D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad you found our price affordable and our beds comfortable. We are working to improve our breakfast choices. We don't usually have Wi-Fi
problems. I have called our internet provider to ask about this problem. I hope you will stay with us next time you visit Winter Haven/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Here for a pest control class, and stayed at the winter haven hojo. Walking into the building you can tell right away that this establishment is old and poorly maintained. Smells like that of the worst hotels ive been in. The place is as clean as I suppose it can be, its just in serious need of a facelift. Paint, new carpet and so on. Our room smelled musty. The sliding door to the balcany did not close all the way. If we need to return to winter haven, we will find other lodging. The only positive was the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad you liked our pool. Please be assured that your additional comments will be forwarded to the appropriate departments to consider future improvements needed. I apologize for any inconveniences you may have had during your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Haven
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
#3 of 16 in Winter Haven
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
#2 of 16 in Winter Haven
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Winter Haven
2.7 mi away
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
#1 of 16 in Winter Haven
895 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Auburndale Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL

Address: 1300 3rd St SW, Winter Haven, FL 33880-3913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Price Range: $70 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Winter Haven is an older property that has been renovated. We offer smoking or non-smoking standard rooms with a 1 King/Queen bed or 2 Queen beds with a mini-fridge, coffe maker, flat screen TV, and free WIFI. The property also has an outdoor pool, complimentary continental breakfast, and a family restaurant located off the lobby area. Howard Johnson is only 3.5 miles away from Legoland, and only a short walk or drive to many shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven Hotel Winter Haven
Howard Johnson Winter Haven
Winter Haven Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing