We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had an updated room and it was nice. It was quiet and I...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Reviewed April 8, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 426 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We just stayed here 3 nights during Spring Break with our main purpose as visiting Legoland. This hotel is only 10 minutes away from Legoland which was very convenient. It was also close to several restaurants and a Super Walmart.
The price was around $65, booked directly thru HJ site. The hotel had a strange layout, 2 story with interior hallways where room numbers were hard to figure out. No elevator which made things difficult for my elderly mother. The room was clean upon arrival, but our third day there we got back to our room at 4:30 and the room was not cleaned up yet. When we went to find the maid cart to get towels, we realized the cleaning staff was an elderly man & woman who moved pretty slowly. I'd suggest they get more staff to get the job done.
The pool was not heated and way too cold during our visit for the kids to enjoy it. However, the pool appears to be newly updated. There is an old run down mini-golf area, a basketball hoop with a small concrete pad to play and a large open grass area which could easily be used to play ball if you have one.
The continental breakfast was good for the price of stay. (Bagels, english muffins, donuts, cereal, milk, juice & coffee)
If you get a first floor room (which we didn't) they have sliding glass doors that open to the parking lot or pool area. This seemed odd.
Seems like a lot of constuction workers stay here due to all the trucks in the lot.
Overall, pleased for the price and location

Room Tip: First floor, facing pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

FYI, I was in room 125, next to the meachanical room. Low dull humming all night. May consider more insulation for sound proofing effect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

thank you for your review. i am sorry to hear about your stay. i will seak to our head of maintenance about your advise. thank you. this will help us improve our hotel. hope to see you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Charity A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very disappointed in room. It was old and run down, could have been cleaner. We were glad we were only staying one night. The bathroom was disgusting, we didn't even use the shower. Very noisie early in the morning with construction workers leaving for work with their pick-up trucks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

I am so sorry to hear about your recent stay with us. I will speak to house keeping about the
bath room and all other issues. We are in the process of upgrading these areas. your feed back will help us to improve i hope you will give us another change to right these issues in the future.
thank you linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Haven
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
#3 of 16 in Winter Haven
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
#2 of 16 in Winter Haven
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
#1 of 16 in Winter Haven
982 reviews
2.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Winter Haven
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL

Address: 1300 3rd St SW, Winter Haven, FL 33880-3913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Price Range: $73 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Winter Haven is an older property that has been renovated. We offer smoking or non-smoking standard rooms with a 1 King/Queen bed or 2 Queen beds with a mini-fridge, coffe maker, flat screen TV, and free WIFI. The property also has an outdoor pool, complimentary continental breakfast, and a family restaurant located off the lobby area. Howard Johnson is only 3.5 miles away from Legoland, and only a short walk or drive to many shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven Hotel Winter Haven
Howard Johnson Winter Haven
Winter Haven Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing