We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Budget Inn of Winter Haven
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Budget Inn of Winter Haven
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at Budget Inn for Valentine's Day and had a great stay, they upgraded me to a king Suite at no extra cost. It was a great location big clean rooms, The Staff was friendly. Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine State of Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Budget Inn of Winter Haven is an inexpensive small motel that has with all the basics and comforts needed for a decent stay. It's clean, well-kept, but worn. It didn't smell bad. The hotel has an older Florida style that reminded me of my grandmother's home in South Florida when I was little. (My son called it boring. LOL.) It's located in a decent commercial area with good shopping and restaurants nearby. There's also a nice lake nearby and Legoland is only 5 miles away.

The room had a TV, a fridge, and a microwave. The bathroom was clean and was stocked with clean towels and wash cloths. The shower head needed de-scaling, that was the worst of it. The in wall A/C unit is a bit noisy, but being in the back of the room it wasn't so bad.

My room had one of those adjoining doors, but it was sealed shut with special hardware, so no security problems there. The door locks are old style lock and key, not special swipe cards or anything digital like that. There is no additional latch inside for extra security. (I did not like this.)

I could hear the TV being played in the neighboring room, this is above the noise coming from the A/C unit. For the most part it didn't bother us. We were too tired from our long day in Legoland to care.

What made my stay extra special was having the surprisingly great McDonald's nearby across the street within walking distance. Definitely one of the nicest, friendliest, cleanest McDonalds I've ever had the pleasure of visit.

Pool? Umm, I think there is one, but it's hard to see from ground level. I don't even think it was open during my visit there. Didn't take the time to find out.

Ah, and no roaches or any other bugs were found, inside or out, during my overnight visit.

The best way I can describe this Budget Inn; it's like staying in a guest room of a friend's home that is set up for visitors specifically. Nothing fancy, just practical necessities for a clean, comfortable stay without breaking the budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Raquel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I booked the hotel to get an early start @ Legoland. Budget Inn offered the best price in town. I was worried that I would get. I was happily suprised to find a clean room, with microwave and mini fridge, free wi-fi, hot water and comfortable beds. That was all I needed and all we got. No coffee maker, iron or alarm clock which all seem to be in most hotel rooms these days, although I was grateful for the fridge and the microwave. McDonalds is right next door, so my morning cup of coffee, was just a short walk away. I was not planning on spending much time at the hotel so the absence of a pool was not even noticed. The only thing I would really object to was the fact that the hotel roomed smelled like stale cigarette smoke and that there did not seem to be enough parking when the hotel is implement full. I am not a smoker, and honestly had not had smelled that in a hotel room before for me to think about that when booking. A friend was staying at another local "brand name" hotel and I wondered if I had made a mistake. Turns out she was disgusted by the clenliness of theroom at the other hotel, switched rooms, and was unhappy with the second room and left that hotel and came to our hotel which ended up having no vacancies.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kmk1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Close to "downtown" Winterhaven. Budget Inn motel is convenient, clean and quite inexpensive. The owners are excellent. Highly recommended. Three blocks south are some very nice bars and restaurants. Cypress Gardens is sort of defunct but LegoLand is reclaiming and expanding it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Larry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Haven hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
#3 of 16 in Winter Haven
240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Winter Haven
1.1 mi away
Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
#1 of 16 in Winter Haven
857 reviews
1.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
#2 of 16 in Winter Haven
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn of Winter Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn of Winter Haven

Property: Budget Inn of Winter Haven
Address: 401 6th Street NW Highway 17, Winter Haven, FL 33881
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Haven
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn of Winter Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Budget Inn of Winter Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing