We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
52
48
73
50
127
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
52
48
73
50
127
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 350 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

This place got a lot of negative reviews. But it’s not that bad. If you’re expecting a 5 star hotel for $60 a night, you are being unrealistic. The staff is very nice and accommodating. We found 3 bugs in our room and I notified the front desk and without hesitation, they gave us another room. The 2nd room smelled better and had no bugs. It’s old and a bit run down but you can’t beat the location if you’re in town for LEGOLAND.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Ksmith9712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalimaM82, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Winter Haven East, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Hi Ksmith9712,

Thank you for your rating and review. We appreciate your honest feedback, and we use these types of comments to improve. Please note that we do conduct monthly extermination in our rooms. However, your comments are important to us and we will be discussing with our staff to monitor this issue. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

This hotel appears to be an old Best Western that needs serious updating. Our room was dark and dingy. The room next to ours had a missing door handle and looked like it was being used for storage. There was a bar or restaurant somewhere near the hotel that played LOUD music until 11 p.m. I called the manager to complained and he said unless it was coming from inside the hotel there wasn't anything he could do. When I asked if he could call the police to complain, he said maybe or I should call them. I did call the police but their response time was going to be maybe 45 minutes and that there was a noise ordinance at 11 p.m. The manager said he couldn't move us to another room as the hotel was full. I spoke with the manager at check out in the morning and suggested that the hotel needed to speak with its neighbors regarding loud music and respect for others.

Room tip: If you are looking for a cheap hotel and don't care about noise or updated amenities, this may be the hotel for you.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalimaM82, Guest Relations at Econo Lodge Winter Haven East, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2019

Hi DM,

Thank you for your comments and rating. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Please note that your comments are important to us and we will be discussing your concerns with our staff. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

The rebranding has not changed much as to the quality of this hotel. The room was dirty and I don’t think they changed the sheets from the previous guest. There was blood on the sheets which was totally disgusting. When I complained to the front desk, they just handed me some sheets to remake the bed myself. The pool was the only nice thing about this hotel. I will never make this mistake again.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MaxMcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalimaM82, Guest Relations at Econo Lodge Winter Haven East, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2019

Hi MaxMcq,

Thank you for your rating and review however our property does not have a pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2019 via mobile

I read other reviews and decided to give Econo Lodge a try and very satisfied with our decision. We live in Orlando so this was suppose to be a day trip to Winter Haven. We were spending the day with family that came from out of state to go to Legoland. We had so much fun at Legoland we decided to stay overnight. This was the closest hotel with a reasonable rate to just get a shower and sleep. It is located right in front of the Legoland Water Park and a 5 minute drive or less to parking for the park entrance. The hotel is old and the area is run down but we have had a couple hurricanes in FL the past few years. There is construction going on. The hotel staff was very accommodating and eager to please. We got in our room and it was simple standard 2 queen beds but the price was right since there was some ceiling repairs in progress and scuffing on the doors. The room and bathroom felt and looked clean. The beds and pillows were sufficiently comfortable. There was an unexpected small cold refrigerator for our snacks. Our showers were hot and we had sufficient towels, soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. I had no complaints except the tv wouldn’t turn off so we unplugged it. No sight or evidence of bugs. We had free continental breakfast with a variety of cereal, yogurt, breads, waffle makings, eggs, corned beef hash, juices, milk and coffee. A pleasant unexpected experience for an unexpected overnight stay at a great price for these days! Thank you Econo-Lodge Winter Haven!

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank boomersmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalimaM82, Guest Relations at Econo Lodge Winter Haven East, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Hi boomersmother,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed the space and the staff. We strive to provide a home away from home. We do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

Things we loved: non-smoking rooms, the large Olympic swimming pool, the T- Rex statue made out of metal, the free passes for the awesome Move gym across the street, walking distance to several very nice locally based (as in non-chain) restaurants, Walgreens and for some strange reason about five auto parts stores. Things we expect in a hotel and were satisfied with: clean room, nice white towels, friendly professional staff. Things we put up with because the price was right: bland hot breakfast like all hotels have now, WiFi that is spotty and slow, the infrastructure of a hotel built in the 60’s or maybe prior to and which they are trying to update but it’s a work in progress (ie, our A/C serenaded us every night with loud vibrations but at least didn’t drip condensation on the floor like the room we were in the first night.) Overall, if I’m gonna stay in a cheap hotel, at least it has old Florida charm and more deck chairs than a cruise ship

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Jak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalimaM82, Guest Relations at Econo Lodge Winter Haven East, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Hi Jak,

Thank you for your rating and review. We are so pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable and we will be sharing your comments with our staff. We do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews