We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To southern for me, everything is fried.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fred's Southern Kitchen Winter Haven
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating
Haines City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“To southern for me, everything is fried.”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I've been there a couple of times for breakfast and once for lunch. The food is cold and everything is fried and greasy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    16
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, FL
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not as good as it once was”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place, but last couple times there, I've seen the buffet get smaller. Less choices, some "hot" food cold, inconsistent, some dried out or greasy. Today they had the bacon for breakfast "kept fresh in the back". What does that mean? You had to ask for it. Prices have crept up too. It's county, comfort food and still OK, just not what it was. There was at one time hardly a parking spot to be found - not a problem parking anymore.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Day_Tripper_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Southern cooking at it's finest”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We drive from Orlando to Winter Haven (1-1/2 hours) to go to Fred's. The fresh vegetables are wonderful and would make a meal by themselves. All the food is fresh and the ribs are some of the best I have ever had. I have not been able to try the salads or the dessert because I am way too full after the vegies and meat. You will not be disappointed in any of the food, you will only be disappointed that you could not possibly try everything.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The food and service are good, however it can get expensive if you are not a big eater. The buffet has good southern food and plenty of it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DiverDC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best home cooked meal to be had!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The variety of vegetables is amazing. This comes from someone that loves meat too! The choices are unbeatable across the board. You won't leave hungry or disappointed. Stop reading and go...NOW!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred's Southern Kitchen Winter Haven also viewed

Winter Haven, Central Florida
Winter Haven, Central Florida
 
Winter Haven, Central Florida
 
Winter Haven, Central Florida
Winter Haven, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing