We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The BEST....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Winter Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The BEST....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

"SHE WHO MUST BE OBEYED..." and I have stayed in B&Bs on both coasts and several in between... we really love The Edgewater... it's become our hole in the wall hideout... our Xanadu... that place we go to decompress and recover. Winter Garden is a wonderful spot and fortunate to have the Edgewater Hotel...
Thanx to the wonderful Hostesses, you make our visits special...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsalja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    129
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
95
221
39
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

We are a young couple that stayed in Winter Garden for a romantic, relaxing getaway. The hotel staff was all very friendly and I felt very at home in my room. Breakfast was great and we loved riding in the old elevator. There is a lot to do in this little town and it is completely pedestrian-friendly. But the great thing is, it feels like a world away from the busy Orlando area, yet everything is within minutes. The town has a lot of fun things and we took advantage of biking to the beautiful lake Apopka as well as dining at the Chef's Table (very good) and going to a local play. Because Orlando is so close, on our last day we decided to go to Universal's Harry Potter world, and it was only about 15-20 minutes away. We really enjoyed our stay and I look forward to staying again. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite and on the last night switched to a standard room. We would definitely want to stay in the Honeymoon suite again for comfort and a bigger bathroom with a better shower, but other than that, it was very cozy. Even with the live music and car show and liveliness of the town, everything gets very quiet fairly early and it's pretty nice. My husband and I already have been recommending this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riverchicken25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

The staff was very accommodating. The decor was interesting and very fitting. The breakfast was fast and delicious. Our room was in the front on the street and we could hear everything happening. Cyclists start very early on Saturday morning and the bike shop is next door. The downtown had a lot going on with a concert and lots of people enjoying the evening. An overall enjoyalbe stay and we would recomend it to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mepmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

Excellent service, wonderful ambiance & great location in the heart of charming downtown Winter Garden!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nekolips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

... who made me feel at home and welcome. If you like interesting experiences instead of cookie cutter hotels stay at the Edgewater in old downtown Winter Garden. This hotel was once Winter Garden's only hotel, built to serve the hundreds of sport fishermen who flocked to nearby Lake Apopka in the 20s. All the guest rooms are furnished with antiques, some of them one-of-a-kind. The bathrooms have been rebuilt and restored, a big plus. Gratis breakfast starts at 7AM in the cozy kitchen/sitting room. I mean real breakfast, cooked to order!

The Edgewater story is as good as it gets. After sitting empty for 40 years the building was bought and restored by the Adam's Road Band. The families worked on the restoration and now live there and run the bed-n-breakfast themselves. For a look at the hotel and the musical families who run the place watch the video at:
http://www.youtube.com/user/adamsroad6#p/u/3/I5ZB7B1O6cE

The only downside is if you use a chair or walker it would be slow to navigate. You have to call a staff member to operate the antique elevator. The guest rooms are on the 2nd floor; most guests simply use the stairs, unlocked with your room key.

Downtown Winter Garden has been restored and everyone I met on my walks was friendly. Be sure to drop in to Scoop's Ice Cream down in the lobby. The acclaimed Chef's Table restaurant is downstairs, too and the Thai Blossom restaurant is next door, both award winners. You will also find lots of interesting shops on the street outside. Bikes are available for rent on both sides of the street, and there are plenty of bike trails, plus a nice median park in front of the hotel and one on the lake about 5 blocks away. There's a cafe nearby and a pizza joint, a nice bar, and for groceries you can go out to the highway and find anything you need in just a few minutes.

I travel a lot on business and get tired of lifeless corporate boxes. The Edgewater is a perfect spot to settle in for a week or so which is just what my wife and I will do next time we get down to the Orlando area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Very comfortable and extrordinarily clean. First B&B for us and found it to be an ideal way to get away from it all. The restaurant, The Chef's Table was superior!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wenwalky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

If you are looking for a chain hotel with amenities (i.e pool), then do not go here. If you are looking for character, bed and breakfast and authentic then this place is it.

The hotel is very nice and represents the era at its best. The breakfast and the service is superb. The location is top notch as you are in the heart of the historic downtown. You can enjoy the beauty of the downtown and easily access, antique shops, bookstores, cafes, restaurants, etc. It is a perfect place to rest and unwind. Check in early in if you can so that you can take in more of the town.

Negative, you can hear traffic in the rooms as these are old windows and not double pane. The beautiful part is that you can hear the bell ring every hour too (not bothersome), as it adds to the character.

Winter Haven is a beautiful place and this hotel really has it made. Love the community aspect of sitting together with everyone and having breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeeyre101078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Garden
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 333 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel

Property: Edgewater Hotel
Address: 99 W Plant St, Winter Garden, FL 34787-3139
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Garden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Winter Garden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Winter Garden
Edgewater Winter Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing