We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orlandos Secret B&B”
Review of Edgewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winter Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I highly recommend this B&B!!! There's history to the building and a great story to the owners/investors who made it all happen. Several young couples have created a warm, charming place for all the guests (the men are all part of a band and the pianist plays in the lobby sometimes). The clientele are as friendly as the staff (owners) and the town is frozen in time. There is a large bike/jogging trail running right in front of the hotel for recreation. The town is all local business owners which seem to add to the historic feel.

The staff will go out of their way for all the clientele (including a ride/pick-up from Disney) and cook a fabulous breakfast. My room was well kept w/ wooden floors and clean sheets (I was actually comfortable walking around without shoes or socks on). The stand up showers where spacious; although water pressure was less than expected (it is original plumbing). The only negative I experienced was that there was a music from the local pub keeping me up till 11:30 at night (my wife and I are light sleepers); request a room on the other side and there'll be no problems. The common area was great for breakfast, a game of cards, or just to visit. The local restaurants are amazing! We ate at the Chef’s Table and a Thai restaurant; I highly recommend them both.

This is not a modern high rise so many of the modern amenities are left out to keep the historic and small town feel (I didn't look if we had wireless internet). Everything needed for a memorable experience is included. I will return, with out a doubt.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phrogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 557 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2009

Great service, extremely friendly staff. Loved the antiques and journals in the rooms. Breakfast was a full spread! Solid built old hotel with good restoration in progress. We loved it! Enjoy!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBNORTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

What a charming step back in history. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our one-night stay at the Edgewater. This is an early 1900's experience in a restored, comfortable and clean hotel, complete with its 1920s vintage Otis elevator...you are even allowed to use its car operating switch handle to help you arrive at your floor. The staff is very friendly and accommodative. We would stay there again without question.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickMarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

This is a bed and breakfast in a town out of time. No CVS downtown Winter Garden! The furniture and fixtures in the Edgewater are antique and the building restoration was very well done. Apparently the hotel was quite the place back in the day. The couples that run the place are very sweet. We were given one of their music CDs by "Adam's Road", they are great musicians, too! We enjoyed our stay, the room was clean and comfortable. Do ask about bed size including length. We knew it was a double width, but the length was only 6'. Good thing neither of us is tall!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trip059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast, so I have no knowledge of what to compare it to, so you may take my review with a grain of salt.

We stayed at Edgewater for one night. We are having a wedding in Orlando (we live in South Florida) so we needed a place to stay so we could do meetings the following day. This is a convenient hotel, right off turnpike, so it was quick and easy to get to, and even better affordable.

We arrived late at night, and the staff was nice in waiting around for us and helping us to our room. They told us a little bit about the history at the same time. For the room, as the title implies, it’s back to basics. Don't expect your typical hotel room, big TV, coffee maker in room, etc. - everything is historic, so imagine staying in a home in the 1920s. Hot water takes longer to get, for instance, a porcelain tub, some creakiness, but, if you like historical buildings and bed and breakfasts, this shouldn't bother you.

It is a real quaint place. The bed we stayed in was from the 1700s and the dresser was original from the 1927 hotel. If you like history, you'll really enjoy this place which has real antiques scattered throughout. It has character and the staff is fantastic, genuine people, really nice.

For the hotel amenities, there is a TV in the room, about 13 inches (I think). Tiny, but again, you may not be there to watch TV. The bed was comfortable, but not as great as some nicer hotels. It was comparable to a Best Western, maybe better. The pillows and linens were nice - they might want to add another comforter for the cold months. The bathroom was what you'd expect for an old house adorned with old knobs to turn the water on and a porcelain tub- all very cool. It did take a long time to get hot water, but again, it's an historical building, so to be expected. Shower was nice, needs more pressure, but definitely doable. The shower curtain had some mold on it, so they could clean that up, but if your choice is between a Days Inn and this hotel, I would say choose Edgewater.

This is a great place to enjoy the historic attributes. They have a cute ice cream shop on the first floor called Scoops. There are also lots of cute restaurants that are very affordable nearby. They serve breakfast, and they'll cook you just about anything. Coffee was good, and we enjoyed it - nice fluffy pancakes but if you're on a diet, you probably won't find diet food here, ie, lite syrup or egg beaters.

I'd have to say what made the stay memorable is the staff. One guy was kind enough to tell us all about the history of the area and building.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alibuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

The Edgewater sits in the quaint historic area of Winter Garden. We attempted to find a hotel close to our class near Universal and the rates were quite expensive. I then proceded to locate a B&B nearby and ran across the Edgewater. We really enjoyed the hotel and the history behind it. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast, which included a varitey of items, was excellent. If we are in the area again we will definately be back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hanahwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Simple, Clean, Neat and very different from going to the Marriott.
The service was delightful, the breakfast was homemade and the bed was very comfy. A great over night retreat with my 17 year old. The hotel has a common area where everyone can meet and enjoy a meal. Also, there is an outdoor rooftop area to hang out with your friends.Love walking through town talking to the friendly people. Went across the street for dinner and had a wonderful Italian meal. Very Historic and simple town with very friendly people!
If you want top of the line with all the bells and whistles then this Hotel is not for you. Remember, it is a Bed and Breakfast with a old fashion homemade flair. The experience was priceless!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RomoNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Garden
13.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Orlando at Flamingo Crossings/Western Entrance
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Orlando West - Ocoee
13.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orlando at Flamingo Crossings/Western Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Orange County National Golf Center and Lodge
11.5 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 341 in Orlando
1,488 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando Ocoee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel

Address: 99 W Plant St, Winter Garden, FL 34787-3139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Garden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winter Garden
Price Range: $107 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Winter Garden
Edgewater Winter Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing