We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Stay @ a B&B”
Review of Edgewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winter Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2008

It was our first time staying at a B&B. I've always had an issue with 'older buildings' but it was absolutely wonderful!
Just like sleeping in our own home.
Staff was superb & facility was amazing.
Would definitely recommend to others & will definitely be back.
Thank you for making our first time @ a B&B such a pleasureable one!
~Mr. & Mrs. Spencer

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mnmspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 577 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2008

Hi,
This is the best bed and breakfast ever. It was my first stay in a hotel like this one and it was great. The staff was very polite, and they whip up a mean hot breakfast. Every one should stay for a least one night. They leave the light on for you. And you know what? It was the week end of my birthday and they made a little cup cake for me with a candle. How special is that?

Stayed: June 2008
Thank miracleladie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

Edgewater is great as far as location and the staff....

My room was very sweet, traditional and old fashioned....but the bathroom toilet was a little too old and I think if the historic society will allow, they would benefit by replacing the fixtures...it kind of creeped me out with the stain around the seal in the floor....

Also, to use the shower and get hot water was a challenge, no hot water the first day until someone at the hotel told me the trick.
I couldn't watch the TV in my room from bed unless I moved my bed and the TV stand because the footboard was higher than the stand for the TV.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank maggie757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwildwebtv, President at Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2008

We are always happy to receive constructive criticism from our guests as it helps us to improve.

As soon as we read about the problem with the TV, we made an adjustment to the stand, which makes the TV viewable from the bed. As the beds are improved, we add new frames and styles to the rooms to provide our guests with as much of a historically authentic experience as possible. However, we never want to sacrifice our guests’ comfort, and we always invite our guests to let us know of any difficulties they may have with the room so we can correct them as soon as possible.

The hotel showers and baths feature a separate knob for hot and cold water. For best results, the guest should start the hot water running first and then add the cold to make the water as comfortable as he or she desires. If both the hot and cold water are started simultaneously, then the cold water can overpower the hot in some cases. It is our intention to inform the guests of this methodology upon their check-in, and if that was omitted, we do regret it.

Lastly, we did inspect the area where the toilet seals to the floor. Unfortunately over time the caulking that seals the toilet to the tile can become discolored. This is largely due to the cleansers and solutions used to clean the bathroom floor. To overcome this discoloration, the caulking needs to be repainted periodically. Indeed, the caulking did need a repainting, and we performed this task immediately upon discovery.

It is our goal to make our rooms as comfortable for the guests as possible, but if there is something that is an issue, we encourage our guests to let us know as soon as they can upon arrival. This will allow us to make any necessary corrections, which will ensure their stay is comfortable and enjoyable.

Thank you again for your stay and your comments. We value our customers’ opinions greatly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

What a nice break from spending the night in one of the major motel chains ! Service and facilities were great. The room was quiet and cozy. Breakfast was complimentary, made to order, and delicious.

You do have to call in to check in and out . . . but no big deal. All room appear to be on the second floor of the historic building in downtown Wintergarden, which has been beautifully restored and upgraded.

Highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank tjsiiifl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We stayed for an overnight after attending a play in Orlando. The staff is friendly, helpful, and willing to please. The hotel is as stated on the website. It is comfortable, clean and authentic for its time period. My only complaint for the room I stayed in was that the plumbing in the shower needed to be upgraded due to very low water pressure and inconsistent temperature. Also, we had a street side room which was noisy for us who like to retire before 11PM. The morning breakfast was down home cooking, simple but delicious. If the owners continue to proceed with their plans for the attached restaurants, that would be a pleasant addition. Might be a great place to stay for a group or family reunion.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaSusan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Went for a 4 day golf trip centered around Orange County National Golf facility (best practice range in the world and two great courses and home to Sean Foley one of the best golf instructors around). Wanted to avoid the Disney scene this time, although we have been there 7 times with the children over the years, and it is only a 20 minute drive away if one wanted to go. The Edgewater was welcoming, quaint in a good way, large clean rooms, and a great breakfast. The town itself is quiet, but a 10 minute drive can get you to every eating chain there is. The staff was ever so nice. Would go again anytime.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ConnecticutGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Edgewater Hotel.We located the hotel through Bed and Breakfast.com and found it surpassed our expectations.Located in the heart of a quaint historic town it was almost like going back in time.The hospitality of the hosts was warm and friendly and breakfast was delicious.
With shops,museums and a rails to trail going through the center of town there was no lack of things to do.
We look forward to staying there again on our next visit to Orlando.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjb1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Garden
13 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orlando at Flamingo Crossings/Western Entrance
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Orlando West - Ocoee
13 mi away
TownePlace Suites Orlando at Flamingo Crossings/Western Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Orange County National Golf Center and Lodge
11.5 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,530 reviews
6.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Orlando Clermont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel

Address: 99 W Plant St, Winter Garden, FL 34787-3139
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Garden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winter Garden
Price Range: $105 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Winter Garden
Edgewater Winter Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing