We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful for Situation”
Review of Edgewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winter Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Spent 3 nights first week in December 2012. Great location, great staff. As an historical building, it brings with it it's own quirkyness, which translates into uniqueness. This is no cookie cutter accommodation. We stayed in room 213, overlooking Plant Street, the main thoroughfare for WG. There was some early morning street noise but nothing we couldn't handle. Stay in an internal-facing room for even more quietness. We had the chance to glance into a few other rooms, all of which we would stay in. There was WIFI and central air, the staff very attentive. We would definitely stay again and hope we can soon!

Room Tip: Corner room is bigger than 213. Some rooms face the inner roof and would be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 565 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a wonderful hotel/B&B. If you are older this place will rekindle memories of an earlier time, perhaps a honeymoon hotel. No swimming pools or saunas here but an elevator that requires an operator. If you are younger you will get a taste of what it was like to stay in a hotel many years ago. Oh there is Wi-Fi and A/C but also many reminders of years gone by. This is not a want-to-be but a true gem, a real-deal that is being restored with the respect it deserves. The breakfast is fantastic and the owners as nice as you will ever meet. The restaurants downstairs are award winners. I dined at the Thai restaurant and was very pleased. I would have dined at the others but scheduling didn't allow. What a wonderful opportunity this place provided for anyone looking for something a little different or a taste of a simpler time.

Room Tip: The hotel/B&B web site has images of the rooms. I fronted Boyd Street and had no issues with str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maverick523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife Cheryl & I spent a night with a group of our cycling friends. The Edgewater was a unique and wonderful place to stay. The staff was considerate. The breakfast was excellent, The rooms were clean and cosy. We will stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomasi1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had planned a bicycling vacation of around 50 mile to end up at the Edgewater. While the bicycling part did not go quite as planned (cut short at 40 miles due to a fall) the Edgewater was everything we hoped for and more. The hotel itself is beautifully restored to include a human operated elevator. Our room was a perfect size and the accommodation very comfortable. The most special element, however, was the staff. Everyone was kind, helpful, and made us feel like family. It was like going to a family reunion when only your favorite relatives show up. If you want a home away from home, this is it.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Cannot fault this place. Our first experience of a US B&B set the bar high. This is like walking back in time and being wrapped in grandma's arms. Saying that, all contemporary comforts are included yet you are surrounded by period furnishings. The renovations have obviously been accomplished with pride and passion. Don't be put off by the entrance, it looks deserted but all the action is upstairs. The cooked-to-order brekkie is great, beds comfy and staff very helpful,we would definitely stay again. Winter Garden is a lovely small town, eateries within walking distance and a bike hire shop right next door. You can cycle the trail which passes right out front.

Room Tip: The double beds are a little small so if you like your sleep space and don't want to fight for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandgirlcityboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was unsure what i was walking into, but was pleasantly surprised after meeting the staff and seeing how the hotel was ran. Our room was clean, our bed was comfortable, and the view of the street was very nice. The historic aspect of our stay is what i enjoyed the most. I would recommend Edgewater to everyone. We will definitley be back!

Room Tip: corner king is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Arriving on Thanksgiving night, we were invited to the staff Thanksgiving Dinner...it was just like home. Friendly smiling staff, not an act but true hospitality welcoming us into their home. Fresh cooked breakfast, clean facilities and a great little town. What more could you want? The West Orange Trail was a great excursion, we rented bikes from the Wheelworks (friendly helpful staff too) and rode the Trail. It was a great trip and we will return to Winter Garden in the not too distant future and we will stay at the Edgewater any time we are in the Orlando area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeH1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Garden
13 mi away
TownePlace Suites Orlando at Flamingo Crossings/Western Entrance
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Orlando West - Ocoee
8.9 mi away
Orange County National Golf Center and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orlando at Flamingo Crossings/Western Entrance
11.5 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 342 in Orlando
1,503 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando Ocoee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel

Address: 99 W Plant St, Winter Garden, FL 34787-3139
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Garden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winter Garden
Price Range: $108 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Winter Garden
Edgewater Winter Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing