We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food in a great town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dixie Cream Cafe

Dixie Cream Cafe
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Windermere, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food in a great town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I just moved to Windermere from NYC a few months ago. We just took a chance for breakfast and happened to go to Dixie Cream. The food is excellent and its such a welcome change from the many Florida Chains! The menu is fresh and the sweets are forget-about-it good! The staff is very friendly and the Owner (Stephanie) is always there to greet you with a smile. Coming from the restaurant capital of the world, Dixie Cream is a can't miss!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marco m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    39
    8
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great to have In Windermere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

it is great to have the Cafe in Windermere. The food quality and atmosphere is great. The owner knows you and makes it a point to thank you for your business.We love to go for breakfast. A MUST visit along the Lakes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We love Dixie. The owner is always around and she's very attentive. The quality of the food here is way above average. I prefer it for breakfast. Better than any of the other breakfast restaurants in Dr Philips. The restaurant could use a bit of remodeling but they are doing the best they can with the space they have. Regardless, great food and excellent service. It puzzles me how most of Windermere residents have not yet "discovered" this gem. Once it does the problem will be the line...

Helpful?
1 Thank Flavio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice little neighborhood cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The food here is delicious and tastes homemade. The biscuits are light and fluffy, if you get them fresh and not after they've been sitting for a while. Pancakes are yummy, and the raspberry jam is amazing!

Our service was a little slow, but I'd rather have yummy food and a slow paced brunch than the alternative.

Coffee is delicious and fresh! They have local art for sale too!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank missarahbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food Good, Atmoshere OK, Service Bad, and High Decibel Level.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

This was my third trip to DCC. I had the Green Salad with Grilled Chicken. It was a very good dish. I was with 6 others and our ordersvaried from lunch to bfast dishes. The Food was all very good but the service was absolutely terrible. Not so bad that I wouldn't go back but bad enough that I will think hard about how much time I have before I commit. The server did not seem to have it
together. The
owner who came out a couple of times was very apologetic. This place has been open over 1 year and stil these same old problems. Another thing, Very loud- Tile
floors and hard walls make you think you are in a grade school cafeteria at lunch time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebob52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Cream Cafe also viewed

Windermere, Central Florida
Windermere, Central Florida
 
Windermere, Central Florida
Windermere, Central Florida
 
Windermere, Central Florida
Winter Garden, Central Florida
 

Been to Dixie Cream Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing